ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 200 votes, 4.87 average. Display Modes
Old 06-19-2013, 06:52 AM   #8491
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 892
Negatory. MapInstall has the 2013 version greyed out. I cannot uninistall using MapInstall.

Probably because I installed the 2013 version on the SD card and I now have the 2014 version on the Montana itself?????



Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
You can use MapInstall to do that.

One of the JaVaWa tools might also be able to just pull it off the unit.
johnpitts01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:04 AM   #8492
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpitts01 View Post
Only remaining problem (for the moment) is that I now have both CN 2014 and 2013 loaded on the Montana.

How do I delete the old CN from the Montana?
If you look at the Montana when it's connected to your computer, it should be easy to see the 2013 City Navigator file and remove it. It'll look something like this:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:42 AM   #8493
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
Hi.
I am on version 4.60
Map CN Aus & NZ NT 2012.20. The only other map in use is basemap and both are on main unit no SD cards I have no other maps to use here

I have accidentally done a master reset but not on purpose but that was while I was still overseas ;)

If I change the dashboard to small data fields then yes, I do get a distance. But, Recreational profile only gives me odometer and height ASL and I cannot seem to change these from the map screen options

Cheers
TS

I
I don't understand, it sounds like your Montana is working as designed. If you want to see D2D on the Map while you're navigating, change the Dashboard. These Profiles and Dashboards are there as "starting points" for the user. In this case the Rec Dashboard is not customizable but as you noted you have many options for customizing your desired Profile and save it as your "custom" Rec profile.

I would suggest updating to the current software version: v5.10.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:36 AM   #8494
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 892
Cleaning up old maps

I used JaVaWa to clean up the old maps.
Easy peasy.

now i need to get my topo maps installed.

Stay tuned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
If you look at the Montana when it's connected to your computer, it should be easy to see the 2013 City Navigator file and remove it. It'll look something like this:

johnpitts01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:07 PM   #8495
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpitts01 View Post
I used JaVaWa to clean up the old maps.
Easy peasy.

now i need to get my topo maps installed.

Stay tuned.


I have to got to try this JaVaWa...sounds like they got some good stuff.
About every other message here someone mentions JaVaWa .

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:17 PM   #8496
TravellingStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TravellingStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Rockhampton, Australia
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I don't understand, it sounds like your Montana is working as designed. If you want to see D2D on the Map while you're navigating, change the Dashboard. These Profiles and Dashboards are there as "starting points" for the user. In this case the Rec Dashboard is not customizable but as you noted you have many options for customizing your desired Profile and save it as your "custom" Rec profile.

I would suggest updating to the current software version: v5.10.
Hmmmm

Ok, well maybe I figured that the basic Recreational profile, by default, would give me D2D, as this is one of the basic principles if GPS navigation

So, if that is how Garmin has decided to do it, I guess I can live with that

Now that I am basically stationary, working, I will update and see what happens to it. At least if I brick it I am not list in a strange(to me) country :)

Thanks DRTBYK
__________________
www.travellingstrom.com
TravellingStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:38 PM   #8497
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I would suggest updating to the current software version: v5.10.
I've been on the fence about going past 4.7 because of the satellite loss issue on Fast. I want to be able to use Fast rather than Normal speed on the bike. All my profiles except Recreation are set to fast.

Have you experienced this issue on yours with 5.10?
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:38 PM   #8498
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
I've been on the fence about going past 4.7 because of the satellite loss issue on Fast. I want to be able to use Fast rather than Normal speed on the bike. All my profiles except Recreation are set to fast.

Have you experienced this issue on yours with 5.10?
I've had my "replacement" Montana for two days now and have not experienced the issue you refer to after about 200mi. I use the WAAS/EGNOS mode in addition to Fast Map but I can't correlate any connection between the two and the "lost sat" issue.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:29 PM   #8499
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,156
Does 5.1 have the issue where it doesn't show most of the street names? I reverted to 4.7 from 4.9 over this issue....
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:05 PM   #8500
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
Does 5.1 have the issue where it doesn't show most of the street names? I reverted to 4.7 from 4.9 over this issue....
Please post a screenshot of an area on CNNA that you think didn't show street names but does with your back level v4.70 and I'll compare.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:54 PM   #8501
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Please post a screenshot of an area on CNNA that you think didn't show street names but does with your back level v4.70 and I'll compare.
OK. I did an intersection search for 84th and Cholla in Arizona so we can compare the same neighborhood.

The map settings are:

CN and Worldwide DEM enabled - no others enabled (Topo 100K loaded)
map speed - fast
Detail - most
Street label - Medium

Oddly enough it's almost non-deterministic about which street labels it shows. It depends on where you start zooming... I started at about 120ft zoom and just stepped out. Here's a few of the screen shots...



In 4.9 it would show a whole lot fewer labels, although now that I understand that it shows them differently depending on where you are zooming from it would have been interesting to try that.
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:04 PM   #8502
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I've had my "replacement" Montana for two days now and have not experienced the issue you refer to after about 200mi.
Huh? does that mean you bought another Montana?
You've had yours longer than most of us, did they really replace it after what? Two years?

And tell us what happened in the FIRST 200 miles?
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:44 PM   #8503
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,100
Steve,

FYI...





Looks to me like they were listening...
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:45 PM   #8504
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,156
Nice.... thanks!
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:51 PM   #8505
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Huh? does that mean you bought another Montana?
You've had yours longer than most of us, did they really replace it after what? Two years?

And tell us what happened in the FIRST 200 miles?
I destroyed my touchscreen. Garmin turn around a referb to me in 48hrs. This is actually my 3rd Montana. They replaced my first one due to the Calibration issue the early units.

As for the first 200mi, well...nothing of importance really. Just nice riding in the PNW Spring weather. I'll be racking up around 3000 miles for a couple of weeks in July so I should be giving the Montana a workout - again.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014