ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 147 votes, 4.82 average. Display Modes
Old 06-19-2013, 06:51 PM   #8521
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Huh? does that mean you bought another Montana?
You've had yours longer than most of us, did they really replace it after what? Two years?

And tell us what happened in the FIRST 200 miles?
I destroyed my touchscreen. Garmin turn around a referb to me in 48hrs. This is actually my 3rd Montana. They replaced my first one due to the Calibration issue the early units.

As for the first 200mi, well...nothing of importance really. Just nice riding in the PNW Spring weather. I'll be racking up around 3000 miles for a couple of weeks in July so I should be giving the Montana a workout - again.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:58 PM   #8522
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I destroyed my touchscreen. Garmin turn around a referb to me in 48hrs. This is actually my 3rd Montana. They replaced my first one due to the Calibration issue the early units.

As for the first 200mi, well...nothing of importance really. Just nice riding in the PNW Spring weather. I'll be racking up around 3000 miles for a couple of weeks in July so I should be giving the Montana a workout - again.
How does one 'destroy a touch screen'?

I'm still on my first Montana. Going on two years soon.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:13 PM   #8523
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
How does one 'destroy a touch screen'?
By trying to remove a Zagg screen protector to try the Patronus one!!!

Am I right, Dan?
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:36 PM   #8524
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,302
Finally got my Patronus screen protector and have it on. My Montana is ready for duty. Can't wait to try it.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:43 PM   #8525
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 627
I need to put mine on. What did you use to clean it first?
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:44 PM   #8526
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 511
Install CNNA 2014.1

Sigh....I used to know how to do this.

It's time to update CNNA. I the past, I always downloaded it to the computer first, then used Partial Install to get just the Western US onto the Montana.

Now, the Garmin site wants to install Garmin Express in order to do this. I DON'T WANT EXPRESS, DAMN IT!!!! Everything I've heard says it's too buggy.

So how the hell do you update your CNNA with lifetime subscription WITHOUT using Express?
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:51 PM   #8527
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Sigh....I used to know how to do this.

It's time to update CNNA. I the past, I always downloaded it to the computer first, then used Partial Install to get just the Western US onto the Montana.

Now, the Garmin site wants to install Garmin Express in order to do this. I DON'T WANT EXPRESS, DAMN IT!!!! Everything I've heard says it's too buggy.

So how the hell do you update your CNNA with lifetime subscription WITHOUT using Express?
USAIR described it well here.

Garmin Express isn't Montana compliant yet. Even tech support told me that yesterday.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:21 PM   #8528
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,131
I think I figgered out what was happening with my mysterious route calculation error....

I've noticed that when I have two POI maps installed (e.g. CN and topo 24K) that even if only one is enabled, when I do a POI search I'll often find the POI coming up more than once and I can't figure out how to tell which map it's from. It sure would be nice if it would only look at the enabled map...especially 'cus it seems like the 24K ones are often way off.... oh well.

Anyway if I remove the other map (or make it go away by changing the .img extension) then if the recent find is from the removed mapset, that's when I get the route calculation error.... I'm not sure why.... with CN loaded it still ought to be able to route to the POI...
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:05 PM   #8529
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
By trying to remove a Zagg screen protector to try the Patronus one!!!

Am I right, Dan?

I've removed quite a few Zagg protectors from various GPS's all without a problem - including my first Montana. I barely got the corner of the protector up on my [oldest] Montana and I heard the Touchscreen snap. I think this [touchscreen] material get's a bit brittle over time. No problem pushing on the display since it has glass backing it. But, pull away from the glass and it has very little flex. Fair warning!
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 04:51 AM   #8530
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post

I've removed quite a few Zagg protectors from various GPS's all without a problem - including my first Montana. I barely got the corner of the protector up on my [oldest] Montana and I heard the Touchscreen snap. I think this [touchscreen] material get's a bit brittle over time. No problem pushing on the display since it has glass backing it. But, pull away from the glass and it has very little flex. Fair warning!
Wow, bad luck. I assume you paid the refurb price?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:03 AM   #8531
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,711
I added some information wrt the Montana, Garmin Express and Lifetime Map Updates in the Wisdom and FAQ thread. Hope it helps. Garmin isn't doing itself any favours by offering up a piece of software (Express) which thinks it can do it all, but is clearly not the solution if you have a Montana.

We have multiple Nuvis, two Montanas, the Oregon 550, 62S, Quest, Forerunner, etc so sometimes we need Express, but there are other times when Express needs to be stopped so that the legacy software can work properly.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:32 AM   #8532
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Wow, bad luck. I assume you paid the refurb price?
Of course...but they paid the expedited shipping! And I didn't even ask - I just told the Product Specialist that I was in a hurry so I wanted to do the "rapid turnaround". Very nice...
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:52 AM   #8533
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I added some information wrt the Montana, Garmin Express and Lifetime Map Updates in the Wisdom and FAQ thread. Hope it helps. Garmin isn't doing itself any favours by offering up a piece of software (Express) which thinks it can do it all, but is clearly not the solution if you have a Montana.
Good info...

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=22

Thanks for putting that together.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:32 AM   #8534
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,839
I don't know what exactly I did but after several tries, I did manage to update the maps in my computer and in the Montana.

It was way too much effort though.
__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:43 PM   #8535
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,131
It's been discussed that we can use basecamp with our maps by copying the .img files to a removable device (e.g. flash drive, SD...). I'd prefer to keep the files on a local hard drive or better yet, on a network hard drive... Actually one big goal would be to access them from a VM guest on a host drive). I think I've come up with a way to do that but does anyone know an "easy" way?
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014