ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 174 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #8551
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,390
How do you get the voice directions to work? I've got my Montana in the AMPS Rugged mount and I don't get any speech.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:40 PM   #8552
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
How do you get the voice directions to work? I've got my Montana in the AMPS Rugged mount and I don't get any speech.

You have to plug in headphones/helmet speakers/etc into the audio connection on the cable.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:45 PM   #8553
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
You have to plug in headphones/helmet speakers/etc into the audio connection on the cable.
AND, you have to hit the power button and slide the volume control up at least midway. If no volume control shows, the unit is not seeing speakers or headphones.

OR, you don't have an autorouting map enabled.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:53 PM   #8554
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
AND, you have to hit the power button and slide the volume control up at least midway. If no volume control shows, the unit is not seeing speakers or headphones.

OR, you don't have an autorouting map enabled.

That too!!
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 02:30 AM   #8555
dvmvm
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
That too!!
Yes, AND ALSO:
You have to set the tones output to Auto, otherwise you don't see any volume control and don't get spoken directions. In my opinion the tones output should work independently, but it doesn't.
dvmvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:44 AM   #8556
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,390
Good to know. Thanks guys.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:22 AM   #8557
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
WHOOOEEE! I gotta 10Mb hard drive on my $6,000 Compaq suitcase computer! It's really fast, like 0.5 seconds per MB. No more 5.25" floppies for me!
Those were the days.



But thankfully, they're gone now. Welcome to the future.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:44 AM   #8558
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,700
Did close to a 1K miles this last week riding the NWAT and had the Montana with me. I went ahead and loaded up the tracks rather then taking the time to create the routes since I was not going to be leading. Well, the last 2 days I ended up leading so there were quite a few missed turns those 2 days. Navigating by tracks sucks when you're leading.

All in all the Montana worked great. Never had an issue with lost sat reception or screwed up tracks since I left the map speed on normal. Did have an issue with Garmins jackass move of deleting small towns off the database. Seems WI is full of small towns.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:10 PM   #8559
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvmvm View Post
Try another voice. The voices with the larger file size speak out streetnames.
Thanks dvmvm, I should have tried that...just forget sometimes to try another voice file. Karen is now telling me where to go

Also did the 5.1 upgrade last night, so I see if there are any bugs in this one....
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:39 PM   #8560
种.
Ajaa kuin mummo
 
种.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by doxbike View Post
I could'n't find an answer on search, so here goes. Will the Montana accept maps on a direct transfer from Tyre?
Thanks
Not maps but routes work.
__________________
Pics and vids
种. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:23 AM   #8561
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Did have an issue with Garmins jackass move of deleting small towns off the database. Seems WI is full of small towns.
Is this off City Nav? You could run the old copy as well as the new one if you have the drive space, and still have the old file. This would be a good argument for not deleting old map img files when updated ones are downloaded to the unit.

If you do have two copies of City Nav on the gps, you just need to make sure they're not both enabled at the same time. Maybe a profile for each map would be a good plan, then you could switch from one version to the other really quickly to see the differences.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:41 AM   #8562
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,700
I used to have CN 2008 loaded up on my old 76CX, need to do that with the Montana.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:52 AM   #8563
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
I used to have CN 2008 loaded up on my old 76CX, need to do that with the Montana.
I have an old copy of City Nav on uSD which came bundled with a Legend Cx I bought a few years ago. Since that one can't be updated, it'll be interesting to refer to it, to see what changes were made since then...
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:09 AM   #8564
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
AND, you have to hit the power button and slide the volume control up at least midway. If no volume control shows, the unit is not seeing speakers or headphones.

OR, you don't have an autorouting map enabled.
Just wanted to add to this. Looks like the Montana also needs external power to give the option for voice directions as well. No power and even with the speakers attached it won't give the volume option under the power key menu.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:31 AM   #8565
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Just wanted to add to this. Looks like the Montana also needs external power to give the option for voice directions as well. No power and even with the speakers attached it won't give the volume option under the power key menu.
If you plug earbuds or a speaker directly into the gps, you get voice directions.

Here's proof.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 06-23-2013 at 06:46 AM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014