ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 171 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 10:48 AM   #9286
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 665
Shaping points

Just loaded up 5.3 and after a couple master resets I got the speed limit back. (it disappeared after the initial upgrade)

Is anyone else having issues with shaping point still alerting after you mark them as "won't alert" in the routing properties? It's rather annoying.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 11:40 AM   #9287
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Just loaded up 5.3 and after a couple master resets I got the speed limit back. (it disappeared after the initial upgrade)

Is anyone else having issues with shaping point still alerting after you mark them as "won't alert" in the routing properties? It's rather annoying.
Only the zumo's support Shaping Points.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 12:25 PM   #9288
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 665
So I guess there is no good reason why they never announced prior to 5.2?
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 03:29 PM   #9289
achesley
Old Motorcyclist
 
achesley's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Jennings, Louisiana
Oddometer: 3,356
Hot Montana 600 quit working today. Was riding along in about 95F sunny skies and it started reverting to 20 ft read out. Then quit responding to attempts. Turned it off for a few miles then back on. Main screen came up and no response. Now cooling off in the garage. Anyone have had this problem.
__________________

A '00 KLR 650 37,000 miles, A '07 1250S 75,000 actual, A '03 5.3L Chevy Truck 75,000 + '43 style dude , Simper Fi ;-)
achesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:42 PM   #9290
BruceWA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by achesley View Post
Hot Montana 600 quit working today. Was riding along in about 95F sunny skies and it started reverting to 20 ft read out. Then quit responding to attempts. Turned it off for a few miles then back on. Main screen came up and no response. Now cooling off in the garage. Anyone have had this problem.
Could this be related to a screen protector??
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:45 PM   #9291
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,172
There has been a problem with the screen protector shrinking on expanding in the heat.
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:54 PM   #9292
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceWA View Post
Could this be related to a screen protector??
Sounds like that to me. An extreme case.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:44 PM   #9293
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by achesley View Post
Hot Montana 600 quit working today. Was riding along in about 95F sunny skies and it started reverting to 20 ft read out. Then quit responding to attempts. Turned it off for a few miles then back on. Main screen came up and no response. Now cooling off in the garage. Anyone have had this problem.
Look here
And the whole thing here.

It's a lot of good info.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 10:19 PM   #9294
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,298
Updated to 5.3 and CNNT 2014.2

I've got a couple 1k mile plus rides in the next few days, so I decided to update the Montana to 5.3 firmware (Master Reset performed), and 2014.2 of the maps. for the first trip I have 21 'bonus' locations to hit in Eastern WA. For the second trip I have 5 all over Oregon. This should give a good work out to the 5.3 firmware. If it doesn't work, I'll go back to 4.7 which has been rock solid for me. I'll post my results sometime next week.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 10:26 PM   #9295
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmer View Post
I've got a couple 1k mile plus rides in the next few days, so I decided to update the Montana to 5.3 firmware (Master Reset performed), and 2014.2 of the maps. for the first trip I have 21 'bonus' locations to hit in Eastern WA. For the second trip I have 5 all over Oregon. This should give a good work out to the 5.3 firmware. If it doesn't work, I'll go back to 4.7 which has been rock solid for me. I'll post my results sometime next week.
Excellent! Make sure you have Map Speed = Fast for those tests!
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:59 AM   #9296
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,143
Wish for timed auto power off function. Tired of dead battery(s) from leaving it on. Many other battery operated devices have this feature and it's very useful and would be extremely easy to implement on a GPS... Oh well...
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:05 AM   #9297
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,172
There is a battery save feature.... setup /display

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:31 AM   #9298
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
Wish for timed auto power off function. Tired of dead battery(s) from leaving it on. Many other battery operated devices have this feature and it's very useful and would be extremely easy to implement on a GPS... Oh well...
So, you want a "Power Off if no movement in 2hours" feature?
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:01 PM   #9299
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
Wish for timed auto power off function. Tired of dead battery(s) from leaving it on. Many other battery operated devices have this feature and it's very useful and would be extremely easy to implement on a GPS... Oh well...
Again, use a relay.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:03 PM   #9300
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR
There is a battery save feature.... setup /display
That actually makes things worse. It turns off the display and makes it even more likely to set the unit down and forget it's powered up. I can't tell you how many times I pick up the unit and then have to plug it in because I've set it down powered up and it's drained and I'm either throwing out a set of AA's or know I'm reducing the life of the more expensive Li battery for no good reason.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
So, you want a "Power Off if no movement in 2hours" feature?
That would be good. Even simpler, power off after two hours (or one hour or half an hour, my radios do it like this and have similar "stand-by" battery draws) on battery (movement or no) would be ok with me. Send a message box up like it does when you remove external power that says it's powering down unless you tell it not to... tell it not to and it restarts the auto-power off timer...

I know it would help me a lot. no matter how many times I kill the battery I still keep setting it down powered up. Sometimes it's after using it handheld. Sometimes it's after setting it up. Sometimes it's because I go turn it on and set it down while waiting for it to complete the lengthy (too long in my book!) power up cycle and get distracted....
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014