ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 249 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 12-22-2013, 05:03 PM   #10126
woodsatyr
Kitty Boy
 
woodsatyr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: NE FL
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
One inmate damaged his screen by doing many factory resets, holding his finger on the screen, perhaps a little too hard, while rebooting the device.

Travellingstrom, I think it was.

Sent from my Nexus 7
Happened to me too.
woodsatyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 06:45 PM   #10127
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsatyr View Post
Happened to me too.
I remember that now.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:13 AM   #10128
rpet
Awesometown
 
rpet's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, California
Oddometer: 809
GPX / track won't show on Montana

Hi guys - Kinda pissed right now as I was supposed to leave on my ride an hour ago... but instead I'm fighting with my Montana.

I've created a very simple Track from Google Maps. Exported via KML and imported into Basecamp. It was originally 377 trackpoints, but I've filtered it down to 250 and saved that version as well.

This GPX will not show on my Montana no matter what I do. I've done Send to Device to both the sd card and the Montana itself. I've done that Send to Device on both the GPX file (which consists of a track file plus 2 waypoints) and the track file within the GPX.
I've also copied that master GPX AND the track GPX manually via my Mac's Finder... ie dragged the gpx onto the SD card's Garmin/GPX folder as well as the GPS' Garmin/GPX folder.

The 2 waypoints that are part of the master GPX show up on the Montana (actually a few copies of them show up because of the multiple copies I've saved to the Montana storage).

The track will not show up.

I've restarted the unit about 10 times and made sure to do a clean eject multiple times as well... Close Basecamp, simultaneously eject both the Montana and SD card at the same time, and yank the USB cable right after those disappear from the desktop. (I've been screwed before out on a ride after not ejecting properly and having my data not show).

What am I missing? My Track Manager shows dozens of other nearby tracks but not the one I need. I've gone through a bunch of nearby tracks to make sure they aren't set to Show On Map, to make sure that I haven't maxed the Montana's visible trackpoints.

Would a Master Reset possibly help? I've never done one... what data will I lose?

Thanks!
__________________
'76 Xl250 '04 XR250R '09 DR650 '10 TR450
Ride The West - OBDR, CDR & western TAT - July 2013
Instagram with plenty of bike pics.
Read my homie's underway Africa trip RR - Round Africa with a Surboard
WTB: Clarke tank for DR650 for cheap - any color but blue.
rpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:38 AM   #10129
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 759
If it's a simple track, I'd write it down, put it on my tank bag and go. Then just use the Montana as a map. Nothing worse than wanting to leave and messing with gear.
Here are some ideas to try quickly.

Use Javawa RTWtool to export the route....or,
Use Javawa Device Manager first to see if you have any problems with data.

Use GPX2kml.com to convert the route from Google maps kml into gpx before importing into Basecamp and Montana. After importing, create a route from the track and transfer both the route and track into the Montana. I mount it and then drag and drop in Basecamp, not the finder.

Rename the routes to something simple. Google routes have long convoluted names so maybe that's the issue.

Create the route in Basecamp and try that.

Go ride. work it out later.
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 12:33 PM   #10130
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,007
maybe cut it to 199 points and try it?

but than you might have the GPS announcing all 199 points as you pass them.

Best bet is to just make the track on Basecamp and be done with it.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 05:10 PM   #10131
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by guavadude View Post
If it's a simple track, I'd write it down, put it on my tank bag and go. .
How do you write down a track? It is defined by Lon/Lat for each track point. How in the world could you follow them?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 05:15 PM   #10132
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 759
L-Hwy 121
R-FM 407 to Ponder

etc...
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 07:45 AM   #10133
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpet View Post
....
I've created a very simple Track from Google Maps. Exported via KML and imported into Basecamp. It was originally 377 trackpoints, but I've filtered it down to 250 and saved that version as well.

This GPX will not show on my Montana no matter what I do.....
Would a Master Reset possibly help? I've never done one... what data will I lose?
I've done this same thing with no problems....hmmmm. What I would do to troubleshoot is first save all tracks from the device EXCEPT the one which does not show, if you can figure out which file it is. Then manually delete all track files from the Montana.

Now find the original imported file in BC before filtering, have a look at it just in case it seems weird, then send it alone to the Montana. Does it show up in Track Manager? This is just to eliminate some possible steps that may have caused the problem. If it shows up re-send all the other tracks.

If it does not, start again from scratch with a new kml file. Still the same result? Check the file with JaVaWa Device Manager. If IT does not flag the file as bad, then a Master Reset is the last resort. It will not delete any of your data, but it WILL overwrite your Recreation Profile. So save that if you have ever modified it, switch to it before resetting because the reset will overwrite whichever profile is current with the original Rec. Profile.

I have found that occasional problems like this can be resolved by simply manually deleting ALL the routes, tracks, etc. and re-sending them.....maybe two or three times a year. The more data you keep permanently in the Montana the more likely to have problems eventually, in my experience. So I add and remove data according to what trip I'm on...this also helps keep the stuff in Route Manager and Track Manager and Waypoints down to a more manageable number....easier to find stuff.

Oh, and the preferred eject procedure is to eject FROM Basecamp (right click internal storage) then pull the USB cord from the unit.

Let us know what happens.

Edit: You may have also complicated things by sending the same stuff to both internal storage and the SD card. Eliminate ALL dual data. What has worked for me since the beginning is to put ALL maps on the card and ALL other data in internal memory.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC

Rocky TFS screwed with this post 12-27-2013 at 05:54 PM
Rocky TFS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:53 PM   #10134
BogeyMan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BogeyMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Sac-o'-tomatoes, CA
Oddometer: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by gots_a_sol View Post
It is $50 for the digitizer alone or $100 for a used lcd/digitizer combo (both are from china) vs $160 to send it to garmin.
My screen has some nasty scratches on the screen (caused by dust/dirt and me forgetting to put on a screen protector). Can you give any pointers as to where I might get a replacement screen? Or will I need a screen/digitizer combo?
__________________
'06 BMW R1200GS (Street),
'11 Husaberg FE570S (Dirt),
'14 Yamaha R6 (Track)
http://photos.boggis.com
BogeyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 11:57 AM   #10135
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
How do you write down a track? It is defined by Lon/Lat for each track point. How in the world could you follow them?
How did people navigate before GPS?
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 12:51 PM   #10136
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
How did people navigate before GPS?
Poorly....
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #10137
theGrinch
SNF Dream Riders
 
theGrinch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: On the move
Oddometer: 1,975
Cool2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
How did people navigate before GPS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Poorly....
TOPO

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcvance View Post
Who's the clueless noob?
theGrinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:54 PM   #10138
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,796
maps and or dead reckoning,and with a lot less angst than seems to prevail in these pages?
__________________
aka BMWST?
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 02:37 PM   #10139
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,288
^^^^ + 1000
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 03:06 PM   #10140
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,352
An observation with regard to: "Route Does Not Match Maps"

When we were heading out today my wife kept getting the dreaded "Route does not match maps" error when she tried to navigate to something she had listed in her "Recent Finds". She asked me to sort it out while she went into the Post Office. I kept getting the same message until I stopped going to the "Recent Finds", and went instead to the "Cities" and found the city she wanted there.

No more error message.

FYI.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014