ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 169 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 12-28-2013, 01:37 PM   #10156
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,183
^^^^ + 1000
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 02:06 PM   #10157
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
An observation with regard to: "Route Does Not Match Maps"

When we were heading out today my wife kept getting the dreaded "Route does not match maps" error when she tried to navigate to something she had listed in her "Recent Finds". She asked me to sort it out while she went into the Post Office. I kept getting the same message until I stopped going to the "Recent Finds", and went instead to the "Cities" and found the city she wanted there.

No more error message.

FYI.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:36 AM   #10158
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,140
Happens to me if the recent find is from a different map than the one it's routing with at the time...
SteveAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:40 AM   #10159
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,140
I posted this in another thread but it's appropriate to this discussion....

GPS is just a tool. A very powerful navigation tool. It does what you want with it. It's never taken the "adventure" out of my backcountry exploits. It allows me to navigate more quickly so I get more "adventuring" in a given amount of time.

I am in the camp of if you understand navigating, e.g. map and compass, then understanding the GPS just comes along for the ride. Sure, someone ignorant in navigational skills can use a GPS but they'll never really "get it" until they learn how to navigate. The GPS is just a tool. The knowledge isn't so much in how to use a hammer when you're trying to build a house.
SteveAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:46 AM   #10160
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by advNZer? View Post
maps and or dead reckoning,and with a lot less angst than seems to prevail in these pages?
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:12 PM   #10161
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveAZ View Post
....... The GPS is just a tool......
And sometimes the tool will fool you! Kinda like if you had a hammer and sometimes without warning the face and the claw swapped ends, but you wouldn't realize it until you had already hit the nail.

Actually, since it's inception the GPS System has been almost perfect. It's the firmware, the software, and most likely the Navteq data that gives us fits on our Montanas.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:07 PM   #10162
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,140
Some tools that do the same or similar things can be built quite different.


The biggest problem with floptana is garmin....
SteveAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:45 PM   #10163
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,898
Am I correct in thinking that there is no way to mute the turn by turn directions voice other than by tapping the power button and using the volume slider that shows up when you have it in a mount or with headphones?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 09:05 PM   #10164
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Am I correct in thinking that there is no way to mute the turn by turn directions voice other than by tapping the power button and using the volume slider that shows up when you have it in a mount or with headphones?
Not the only way. You could create a Mute Toggle Shortcut and place it on your Home Screen or in the Favorites Dashboard.

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 12-30-2013 at 09:10 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:08 AM   #10165
种.
Ajaa kuin mummo
 
种.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Not the only way. You could create a Mute Toggle Shortcut and place it on your Home Screen or in the Favorites Dashboard.
Are those shortcuts "search nearest poi" type of shortcuts? If so how did you made them?

Edit: found it. It was under Setup - Main menu. Not on the shortcuts menu.
__________________
Pics and vids

种. screwed with this post 12-31-2013 at 08:39 AM
种. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:47 AM   #10166
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by 种. View Post
Are those shortcuts "search nearest poi" type of shortcuts? If so how did you made them?

Edit: found it. It was under Setup - Main menu. Not on the shortcuts menu.
This is a Shortcut...



This is a WhereTo? Application (a canned search) you can add to your Home screens by simply adding an Application -> WhereTo? ->. . .

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:42 PM   #10167
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Not the only way. You could create a Mute Toggle Shortcut .....
For those of us who forget stuff like this after two years, can you show or relate the steps in sequence? I don't think this is quite like other shortcuts because it requires you to push the off button and swipe the volume slider all the way down.....or am I forgetting something on some page?

This could be quite handy along with its twin, the mute off shortcut, since we often don't want to listen to Kate until it's really critical. I wonder if you can create this on the Navigator V as well.

Oh, wait, you called it a toggle, does that mean you only need one?
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:52 PM   #10168
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
. . .
This could be quite handy along with its twin, the mute off shortcut, since we often don't want to listen to Kate until it's really critical. I wonder if you can create this on the Navigator V as well.

Oh, wait, you called it a toggle, does that mean you only need one?
Step by step:
  1. Go to Setup
  2. Select Shortcuts
  3. Select + Create Shortcut
  4. Press the Setup Tab

  5. Scroll down to Audio and select Volume Mute

  6. Select Toggle Setting

  7. Then press the Return Arrow
  8. Now give the shortcut a Name
  9. Now give the shortcut an ICON
  10. If you want to run a particular Profile choose one....
  11. If you want to include a WhereTo? search, choose one.
  12. If you want to run an Application, choose one.
  13. Otherwise press the Return Arrow
  14. You just created your Volume Toggle Shortcut.
  15. To add the new shortcut to a Main Menu page....Oh, you know how to do that.

As for the Nav-V, it doesn't need a custom shortcut. You can place the Volume button on the Map page or if you're listening to your Tunes the volume button will be there by default. But, we can discuss that in the Nav-V thread.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 09:55 AM   #10169
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Step by step:....etc. ....
....As for the Nav-V, it doesn't need a custom shortcut. .....But, we can discuss that in the Nav-V thread.
Well, I guess I just never looked through all the options in Setup In Shortcuts.....the last one I made was two years ago. Thanks! Pretty handy! I usually only listen to Katie in the truck when in a strange city, but there have been plenty of times when I just wanted to say: "SHUT UP!", but was too busy in traffic to push the power button, etc.

And you can bet I check the Nav V thread daily! But at 16 pages we have a LONNNGGG way to go to match what is arguably the biggest thread in ADVRider history!!
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 10:10 AM   #10170
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
. . .

And you can bet I check the Nav V thread daily! But at 16 pages we have a LONNNGGG way to go to match what is arguably the biggest thread in ADVRider history!!
As more folks discover that the Nav-V is by far a better Adventure Riding GPS than any current Garmin unit that may change -- BMW ownership is not mandatory.

The Montana is a very good and highly customizable unit and except for the ABC's there is nothing much I'll miss with the Nav-V's 5" display in portrait mode. The Montana is now my backup.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014