ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 03-14-2014, 05:36 PM   #10561
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
4.2.5 Thanks ill try that
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:37 PM   #10562
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
No It wont let me drop the file in there either
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:40 PM   #10563
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,333
Something is wrong with your install if it won't allow you to Import or Drag/Drop a file into a List or Folder. Try disconnecting your Montana and see if it changes.

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:43 PM   #10564
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
I checked for software update and it said no update available
and when I unplugged my unit the export option was no longer there???
Thanks for trying
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:46 PM   #10565
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
closed and opened basecamp and that WORKED!! haha oh my giddy aunt

Ill try importing the KML now argghh
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:49 PM   #10566
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaneBaby View Post
closed and opened basecamp and that WORKED!! haha oh my giddy aunt

Ill try importing the KML now argghh
Just have to love Windoze...
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:51 PM   #10567
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
Sigh

If i select libraries my collection in basecamp I can file import and it seems to import ok but then I cant find it anywhere

If I select my Montana in Basecamp There is no import option? is this right
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:52 PM   #10568
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Just have to love Windoze...
Oh no are you one of those apple eaters?
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:18 PM   #10569
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Should look like this after import your KML file into BaseCamp...



Or this on Shonky Topo w/o Contour Lines...


My god that is so tantalising!!! I hate spending 600$ on a device and not being able to use it to its full potential.

When you import the kml file into Basecamp where does it go? into "my collection"? library? unlisted data?


I guess if you can import it ok the KML must be fine and its my basecamp/montana doing something strange?
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:33 PM   #10570
PBrad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: A town or 2 north of Boston
Oddometer: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaneBaby View Post
My god that is so tantalising!!! I hate spending 600$ on a device and not being able to use it to its full potential.

When you import the kml file into Basecamp where does it go? into "my collection"? library? unlisted data?


I guess if you can import it ok the KML must be fine and its my basecamp/montana doing something strange?
You have to first highlight a list, then hit file... import into (it will show the name of your list here)... then in the pop up window navigate to your kml file, select it and hit open... you must also have the all supported files selected in the drop-down menu in the button right...


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
PBrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:43 PM   #10571
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBrad View Post
You have to first highlight a list, then hit file... import into (it will show the name of your list here)... then in the pop up window navigate to your kml file, select it and hit open... you must also have the all supported files selected in the drop-down menu in the button right...


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
In library, I then select my collection as my list. Then do exactly as described and a green importing data progress bar comes up briefly and seems to be working then disappears and no new info in my collection is there at all?

sigh
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:49 PM   #10572
Wansfel
50 yrs on 2 wheels
 
Wansfel's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Bitterroot Valley
Oddometer: 1,076
gpsvisualizer.com will take a google map "link" and convert it directly to a gpx format for BaseCamp.

Even better is a newer online mapping program which directly outputs GPX tracks. furkot.com
Wansfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:58 PM   #10573
PBrad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: A town or 2 north of Boston
Oddometer: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaneBaby View Post
In library, I then select my collection as my list. Then do exactly as described and a green importing data progress bar comes up briefly and seems to be working then disappears and no new info in my collection is there at all?

sigh
Is your computer particularly old? Honestly, I would just try to just reinstall basecamp.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
PBrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:12 PM   #10574
ShaneBaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansfel View Post
gpsvisualizer.com will take a google map "link" and convert it directly to a gpx format for BaseCamp.

Even better is a newer online mapping program which directly outputs GPX tracks. furkot.com
They dont seem to work for me either. Surely I should be able to import a KML file to a list on BaseCamp withOUT using third party programs thats the whole point of me having one. to be able to make a track in googlemaps and then follow it offline on my Montana

What is wrong with my Basecamp?

ShaneBaby screwed with this post 03-14-2014 at 07:18 PM
ShaneBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:12 PM   #10575
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaneBaby View Post
In library, I then select my collection as my list. Then do exactly as described and a green importing data progress bar comes up briefly and seems to be working then disappears and no new info in my collection is there at all?

sigh
There is a new List in your My Collection named the same as the file you just imported: untitled map.kml or whatever you named the file.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014