ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 251 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 09-10-2014, 05:55 PM   #11206
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK.RD.RNR View Post
While we are asking GPS noob questions...

I bought city navigator on DVD a few years ago when I got my 60csx.

Can I use that same DVD to upload maps to my Montana, or must I purchase it again.

Thank you for any help.
If you applied the licence to the 60CSx then you'll need to purchase another for the Montana.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:02 PM   #11207
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
If you applied the licence to the 60CSx then you'll need to purchase another for the Montana.
I did use the code for 60csx.

Is there a product available, for a reasonable price, that would be re-usable?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:05 PM   #11208
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK.RD.RNR View Post
I did use the code for 60csx.

Is there a product available, for a reasonable price, that would be re-usable?
Not from Garmin, though some people like the OSM maps. I prefer Garmin City Navigator to OSM. At roughly $75 to buy CNNA outright, I think it's a bargain.

Garmin used to give two licences when you bought CNNA but when they did, it cost about twice as much.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:23 PM   #11209
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Not from Garmin, though some people like the OSM maps. I prefer Garmin City Navigator to OSM. At roughly $75 to buy CNNA outright, I think it's a bargain.

Garmin used to give two licences when you bought CNNA but when they did, it cost about twice as much.
Thanks Embeedee.
I'll probably just get a new copy of CN, but its kind of frustrating that they want ~$600 for a GPS unit, but it's useless until I spend an additional $75.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:30 PM   #11210
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,356
$600? Is yours gold plated?

I see GPSCity.com has the 600 for $300 until this friday.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:35 PM   #11211
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
$600? Is yours gold plated?

I see GPSCity.com has the 600 for $300 until this friday.
and check out the life time update maps. I think if you buy the map, plus lifetime the first time it cost less than buying lifetime later.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:02 PM   #11212
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post

I see GPSCity.com has the 600 for $300 until this friday.
Sorry, that was actually $349.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 08:40 PM   #11213
retired motoman
LifeIsShort,EnjoyTheRide!
 
retired motoman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: North Idaho, long winters
Oddometer: 486
Full price

Mine also did as yours. Garmin told me $160 for a rebuilt. No deals.
This is ridiculous for a software issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Hey guys, help desperately needed.

The screen calibration on my Montana is drastically off, to the point where it's almost unusable. I've been trying to re-calibrate for some time, but am having problems.

When running the calibration, I'll hit all the dots and when it looks as if it is ready to register and reset to the proper screen, it will pause... display another dot, display the touch here text, and start all over again.

It seems there is no way to exit this, without powering off the unit.
This results in a failed calibration.

Wondering if you guys may think this is just a software issue?
Haven't tried to do this process since updated the firmware a few times.

Or could this just be some busted hardware. The unit has definitely taken some hard crashes and jolts. May be time to replace the unit, as much as I hate to purchase a new unit right now.
retired motoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 08:56 PM   #11214
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by retired motoman View Post
Mine also did as yours. Garmin told me $160 for a rebuilt. No deals.
This is ridiculous for a software issue.
You need to remind them that it's a 'known issue'. When I did that, they had no problem giving me a refurb, even though my warranty was long finished.

Garmin stopped production to fix that issue. It's not a software problem.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 09:42 PM   #11215
WhicheverAnyWayCan
Deaf Biker
 
WhicheverAnyWayCan's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Seven Springs NC
Oddometer: 836
Got 2014 "PanAmerican" Garmin map in microSD(4gb).. think seller lied and sold me a piracy copy because eBay removed the listing after I purchased it?

Inserted MicroSD in my Montana and it worked ok.. Today, it guided me to few places with no problem and had all POI accurately. So I tested it.. got route to Boston without issue.. route to Mexico City, Mexico without issue.. but when I tried to get route to Prudhoe Bay, AK.. it calculate up to 98% before I get Route Calculation Error: Not enough memory available.

Not sure what's wrong?
WhicheverAnyWayCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 02:45 PM   #11216
mvonkaenel
Roost Hog or Die
 
mvonkaenel's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 124
battery connection

Just got my Montana.
was getting it all set up and updated the firmware.
then wouldn't power up anymore.
one of the pins for the battery looked messed up.
they are sending me a new one the same day (today).
__________________
'98 ATK605
'99 Buell Cyclone (sold)
'07 Yam WR450F
'07 Yam XT225
'14 KTM 1190 Std.
mvonkaenel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 03:06 PM   #11217
siraxanz
zoom zoom
 
siraxanz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Argos Peloponisos, Greece
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhicheverAnyWayCan View Post
Got 2014 "PanAmerican" Garmin map in microSD(4gb).. think seller lied and sold me a piracy copy because eBay removed the listing after I purchased it?

Inserted MicroSD in my Montana and it worked ok.. Today, it guided me to few places with no problem and had all POI accurately. So I tested it.. got route to Boston without issue.. route to Mexico City, Mexico without issue.. but when I tried to get route to Prudhoe Bay, AK.. it calculate up to 98% before I get Route Calculation Error: Not enough memory available.

Not sure what's wrong?
Not map problem, try shorter destination target.
There are limits how far it can take you.
Try it in reality not scenarios, to realize if map is accurate
__________________
I need to go
siraxanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 03:26 PM   #11218
WhicheverAnyWayCan
Deaf Biker
 
WhicheverAnyWayCan's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Seven Springs NC
Oddometer: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by siraxanz View Post
Not map problem, try shorter destination target.
There are limits how far it can take you.
Try it in reality not scenarios, to realize if map is accurate
Thanks.. make sense now.. Seems that map is good to go. Next step, experiment with tracks..
WhicheverAnyWayCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:45 AM   #11219
diskow
Gnarly Adventurer
 
diskow's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Ljubljana
Oddometer: 212
Vibration Affects Montana

Dear folks,
I am an owner of new Montana 650. I have updated with latest Software version 6.10.

I am experiencing a strange problem:
While I a stop with my Africa Twin motor and engine is running (ex: at traffic light) my montana Navigation arrow is turning sides all the time & position. I am almost sure this happens because of vibrations i get on my my AMPS Rugged Mount, mounted on my handlebar. Because If I hold Montana in my hands it works normally. Vibrations are tiny & not visible only you can feel them if you put finger on handlebar or mount.

This is like Internal motion sensors would have extremely too much sensitivity!
Is it possible to turn off this nonsense sensitivity?

My Montana details:
Profile: Motorcycle
Compas was calibrated in the same position as device is locked in a mount.
Map spped: Normal
Dashboard: nuvi
Orientation: Track UP
Orientation Lock: Lock Landscape
Map details: Most

ps: until now i used Garmin Quest on same bike and handlebar and never experienced something like that

diskow screwed with this post 09-14-2014 at 03:02 AM
diskow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 09:28 AM   #11220
OceanMtnSea
Pretty Dogged
 
OceanMtnSea's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: left middle Saskatchewan & entering middle BC
Oddometer: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by diskow View Post
Dear folks,
I am an owner of new Montana 650. I have updated with latest Software version 6.10.

I am experiencing a strange problem:
While I a stop with my Africa Twin motor and engine is running (ex: at traffic light) my montana Navigation arrow is turning sides all the time & position. I am almost sure this happens because of vibrations i get on my my AMPS Rugged Mount, mounted on my handlebar. Because If I hold Montana in my hands it works normally. Vibrations are tiny & not visible only you can feel them if you put finger on handlebar or mount.

This is like Internal motion sensors would have extremely too much sensitivity!
Is it possible to turn off this nonsense sensitivity?

My Montana details:
Profile: Motorcycle
Compas was calibrated in the same position as device is locked in a mount.
Map spped: Normal
Dashboard: nuvi
Orientation: Track UP
Orientation Lock: Lock Landscape
Map details: Most

ps: until now i used Garmin Quest on same bike and handlebar and never experienced something like that


I get this too, but I notice it more when I turn direction just a bit before I stop - like when you have a stop sign at intersections where the roads are not at right angles. I turn the bike at the last minute to better see the oncoming traffic.

I think it is a bit of confusion on the Montana's part - not sure of the direction of travel as opposed to any vibration issues. Quick changes in direction followed by a STOP...........combined with the accuracy limits of the GPS signals.

In your hand you cannot reproduce the quick change of direction you can with the motorbike.

My thoughts and speculation - for what they are worth anyways.
__________________
2007 BMW Dakar & 2009 Ducati Multistrada leaving the middle of the in-land sea called Saskatchewan for the Mountain Valleys of BC, Canada
http://s737.photobucket.com/user/Oce...?sort=3&page=0
OceanMtnSea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014