ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 184 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 08-27-2014, 11:13 AM   #11206
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 6,908
To remove maps using OS X is easy. They are stored in the folder

"~/Library/Application Support/Garmin/Maps"

where the ~ stands for your home directory. Close BaseCamp, remove the undesired maps, then re-launch Basecamp. I only touch the files with a .gmap extension. As is always the case, I make sure I have a backup, first.
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 03:30 PM   #11207
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchyman View Post
To remove maps using OS X is easy. They are stored in the folder

"~/Library/Application Support/Garmin/Maps"

where the ~ stands for your home directory. Close BaseCamp, remove the undesired maps, then re-launch Basecamp. I only touch the files with a .gmap extension. As is always the case, I make sure I have a backup, first.
Map Manager allows you to safely remove maps on the Mac.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 04:06 PM   #11208
FiveG
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Connecticut, USA
Oddometer: 150
Stopping Montana from re-doing my routes

I have a Garmin Montana. When I plan routes on my laptop and download them to the device, the stupid thing on its own recalculates the routes. When it does so, it takes 95 mile well-planned routes and turns them into idiotic 238 mile routes with all sorts of loops back.

Why is it doing this? Is there a way in the settings of the device or the program to stop this? This never used to happen with my old Oregon. At this point, the thing is useless.

FYI, the routes include both asphalt and unpaved roads. I tried turning off the "avoid dirt roads" piece.

Thanks.
__________________
--------------
I hope you succeed, but no matter what happens, Godzilla will win.

"Steve Martin," Godzilla (1985)
FiveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 04:16 PM   #11209
FiveG
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Connecticut, USA
Oddometer: 150
Sorry if this has been covered

My Montana keeps rerouting routes that I download. It's new routes are horrible. Can this be stopped? Thanks.
__________________
--------------
I hope you succeed, but no matter what happens, Godzilla will win.

"Steve Martin," Godzilla (1985)
FiveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 06:54 AM   #11210
OceanMtnSea
Pretty Dogged
 
OceanMtnSea's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: left middle Saskatchewan & entering middle BC
Oddometer: 544
I believe this is caused by using 2 different maps - one on Basecamp where you create your route and a different one on the Montana where you are trying to use the route.

Montana logic will re-calculate a route if you are trying to use it with a map base that it was not created on.

You can try to shut off the auto-recalculate on the Montana, but I do not think it will make a difference as I believe the only solution is to use the same map base on BOTH BaseCamp and Montana to avoid the automatic recalculation.

The reason for this is that not all maps have the same roads and road characteristics.

One sure-fire way to get past the route recalc with different maps is to create the route on BC and convert it to a TRACK then send the TRACK to the Montana and just follow the TRACK - your Montana will NOT recalculate a TRACK.

J
__________________
2007 BMW Dakar & 2009 Ducati Multistrada leaving the middle of the in-land sea called Saskatchewan for the Mountain Valleys of BC, Canada
http://s737.photobucket.com/user/Oce...?sort=3&page=0
OceanMtnSea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 07:53 AM   #11211
Sliverpicker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sliverpicker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Willamette Valley, OR
Oddometer: 143
Montana

Yep----My Montana does the same thing. I learned the hard way and almost had a mutiny on a long ride with 4 others.

Anyway---- like Ocean said convert to tracks before you load it to your device. Thats what I do now and all is good.
Sliverpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 10:03 AM   #11212
Rydah
Remember the Night Rydah!
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Clear Lake, TX
Oddometer: 212
Via Points vs Points?

Still confused about number of points that Montana will let you use when building routes. When I build a route on Basecamp, the Properties box Summary lists "Points" and "Via Points". Via points are the ones I put in while building my route, and they are always less than Points, so I'm assuming these Points are other markers that Basecamp inserts along my route. So finally I come to my question: which one is the Montana 650 point limit set for, Via Points, or Points?
Thanks.
__________________
----------------------------
"The Night Rydah.. remember him, when you look at the night sky" - Toecutter
Rob
2006 Honda XR650R - Plated
2012 Suzuki 650 Vstrom

Rydah screwed with this post 09-01-2014 at 06:35 AM
Rydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 04:42 AM   #11213
Garry
Old and In The Way
 
Garry's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Murrysville, PA
Oddometer: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanMtnSea View Post
One sure-fire way to get past the route recalc with different maps is to create the route on BC and convert it to a TRACK then send the TRACK to the Montana and just follow the TRACK - your Montana will NOT recalculate a TRACK.
J
BUT when you follow a track you lose the "miles to next turn" and ability to show the directions for the rest of the route, both of which I find to be valuable on street rides. IMO you have to pay a lot more attention to the GPS when following a track.

If you have your avoidances set up the same, the Montana recalc should not change the route if the maps are similar between the PC and the GPS (different versions of CNNA for example). There is always a chance it will, but careful placement of Via points when creating the route can keep you on the desired path.

I always select/load my routes on the Montana before leaving home and make sure the total mileage is exactly the same as BC. If not, then I have a problem.
__________________
2007 KTM 950 SM-R
2009 KTM 530 EXC
http://www.MotoRoads.net
Garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 06:37 AM   #11214
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 879
Elevation errors

My Montana is WAAAAAYYYYY off in calculating elevation.

ON a recent bicycle ride with @ 1500 of climbing the Montana showed more than 35000 feet of climbing.

Any idea what's going on here and how to fix it?
johnpitts01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 07:23 AM   #11215
zoomdude57
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA.
Oddometer: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanMtnSea View Post
I believe this is caused by using 2 different maps - one on Basecamp where you create your route and a different one on the Montana where you are trying to use the route.

Montana logic will re-calculate a route if you are trying to use it with a map base that it was not created on.

You can try to shut off the auto-recalculate on the Montana, but I do not think it will make a difference as I believe the only solution is to use the same map base on BOTH BaseCamp and Montana to avoid the automatic recalculation.

The reason for this is that not all maps have the same roads and road characteristics.

One sure-fire way to get past the route recalc with different maps is to create the route on BC and convert it to a TRACK then send the TRACK to the Montana and just follow the TRACK - your Montana will NOT recalculate a TRACK.

J
Having the same map enabled on the Montana as the map I used on Basecamp and then disabling auto-recalculate did the trick for me. No change in my route when I download. Get prompted for route recalculation if I get off track.
__________________
Paul
2009 Husky TE610
2012 BMW R1200GS
2011 KTM RC8R
2006 KTM 200 XC-W
zoomdude57 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 06:56 AM   #11216
richrd
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Oddometer: 20
I had the same re-routing and looping problem, it was set on "motorcycle". changing it to "automobile" solved my problem.
richrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 09:00 PM   #11217
mvonkaenel
Roost Hog or Die
 
mvonkaenel's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 104
Noob

Guys.
Just ordered a Montana 650T for my Adv. motorcycle. I am as green as can be with these things. Any suggestions on getting started? Thinking I need to get City Nav. Can I get that with lifetime updates? Can you get the 24k topo maps with lifetime updates? Are they worth it?
I have a steep learning curve on using maps, creating/transferring routs & tracks and the whole deal.
Help is greatly appreciated and my searches stink. Thanks!!!
__________________
'98 ATK605
'99 Buell Cyclone (sold)
'07 Yam WR450F
'07 Yam XT225
'14 KTM 1190 Std.
mvonkaenel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 04:03 AM   #11218
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvonkaenel View Post
Guys.
Just ordered a Montana 650T for my Adv. motorcycle. I am as green as can be with these things. Any suggestions on getting started? Read my Wisdom and FAQ thread and the Wiki to help you get started. Thinking I need to get City Nav. Can I get that with lifetime updates? City Nav and the Lifetime Updates are two different products. You buy CNNA, and it comes with one free map update. After another three months, you can buy LMU. Not much point in getting it before that. Can you get the 24k topo maps with lifetime updates? Nope. There are no updates for Topo. Just new versions, many years apart, usually. Are they worth it?
I have a steep learning curve on using maps, creating/transferring routs & tracks and the whole deal.
Help is greatly appreciated and my searches stink. Thanks!!!
Answers in red.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 05:18 AM   #11219
mvonkaenel
Roost Hog or Die
 
mvonkaenel's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 104
GPS help

Thanks Emmbeedee.
__________________
'98 ATK605
'99 Buell Cyclone (sold)
'07 Yam WR450F
'07 Yam XT225
'14 KTM 1190 Std.
mvonkaenel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 04:50 PM   #11220
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,325
While we are asking GPS noob questions...

I bought city navigator on DVD a few years ago when I got my 60csx.

Can I use that same DVD to upload maps to my Montana, or must I purchase it again.

Thank you for any help.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014