ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2013, 10:38 PM   #1891
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
I will do what I can to make the app work on it when it arrives. I think a hardened android device is a great idea in theory. I'd like t see what garmin came up with in practice though. The screen sure does sound low res which is concerning. We shall see. Thanks for the offer!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
I volunteer to send you one when it's available. I'll get the model without topo maps if you think the built-in memory is ok. Perhaps you'll provide an appropriate microSD card according to your needs.

With worldwide basemap $649.99 USD
With TOPO US maps $699.99 USD

Built-in memory
6 GB (With Worldwide Basemap)
3 GB (With TOPO U.S. 100K Maps)

Accepts data cards microSD card (not included)

This is a genuine offer.
Game on?


craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 10:49 PM   #1892
otpipe
Adventurer
 
otpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I ordered a nexus 7 today. I'll have that Speedo problem sorted out soon.
All right looking forward to it.
What settings do I change to make the tracks pick up more points? When tracking offroad I loose some of the details on the trail.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
otpipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 06:38 AM   #1893
tommu56
Beastly Adventurer
 
tommu56's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: limerick pa / waterville pa
Oddometer: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by otpipe View Post
All right looking forward to it.
What settings do I change to make the tracks pick up more points? When tracking offroad I loose some of the details on the trail.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

Main screen
.......Settings
..........Monitoring
............Save track interval
...............select from 5 seconds to 5 min.



Tom
tommu56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:32 AM   #1894
otpipe
Adventurer
 
otpipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 15
Thanks Tom I'll try that out.

Main
.Settings
..Background service
....Positioning interval
....Wait interval

What do these settings do/effect?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
otpipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 03:45 PM   #1895
tommu56
Beastly Adventurer
 
tommu56's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: limerick pa / waterville pa
Oddometer: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by otpipe View Post
Thanks Tom I'll try that out.

Main
.Settings
..Background service
....Positioning interval
....Wait interval

What do these settings do/effect?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
The time between "track points".


Transcribed by gnomes directly from my thoughts.
tommu56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:30 PM   #1896
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I will do what I can to make the app work on it when it arrives. I think a hardened android device is a great idea in theory. I'd like t see what garmin came up with in practice though. ...
Crafty - it might be useful to let the ADV'rs who are interested in the Monterra know your plans to get DSM to run on it.

Here's a post that specifically mentions your app": http://advrider.com/forums/showpost....&postcount=297

BTW, I've just sold my Montana of the Flea Market so I'm ready to buy the Monterra when it's released any day now (hopefully, but Garmin haven't been great at meeting schedules)

Bob
EDIT 11 Nov 2013: I just cancelled my Montana sale and crossed the Monterra off my list. I didn't realize it had a smartphone-like screen and is not glove friendly. This shouldn't affect your customer base who all have smart phones and must hence accept this limitation. I can't. It makes me understand why you developed the remote control thingy .
__________________
DR350SE
DR650SE
F650GS Dakar

BobM screwed with this post 11-08-2013 at 08:46 AM
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:24 PM   #1897
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramz View Post
I volunteer to send you one when it's available. I'll get the model without topo maps if you think the built-in memory is ok. Perhaps you'll provide an appropriate microSD card according to your needs.

With worldwide basemap $649.99 USD
With TOPO US maps $699.99 USD

Built-in memory
6 GB (With Worldwide Basemap)
3 GB (With TOPO U.S. 100K Maps)

Accepts data cards microSD card (not included)

This is a genuine offer.
Game on?


Wow. Respect. :)
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:21 PM   #1898
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
I got the Nexus 7 in the mail and was able to fix the speedometer. I'm doing a little testing now to confirm the fix is backwards compatible and then I'll release it.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 03:48 PM   #1899
sandalscout
blah blah blah
 
sandalscout's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Oddometer: 2,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I got the Nexus 7 in the mail and was able to fix the speedometer. I'm doing a little testing now to confirm the fix is backwards compatible and then I'll release it.
You rock!
__________________
My KLR650 - Not quite so ugly now
Matt's Trippin' in Peru
sandalscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:29 PM   #1900
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
App Updated: 0.2.25

I've pushed the updated version of the app to Google Play. I've not seen any issues on my older phone so I think its probably fine. Please let me know if you have any issues.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:35 AM   #1901
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I've pushed the updated version of the app to Google Play. I've not seen any issues on my older phone so I think its probably fine. Please let me know if you have any issues.

The speedo works fine on 4.2.x, but the compass is lagging and generally not responsive. It works on other apps. Here, it should have been reading south:



Also, when I try "download overlay maps" it crashes:

__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:05 AM   #1902
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
You are in airplane mode which is why the overlay maps are not working. My tablet shows a friendly error message asking if you are online rather than crashing though. My compass is working perfectly on my tablet. My phone's compass is a little sluggish but I wouldn't describe it as not working. I'm not sure why it is slower than the tablet though. I only use the magnetometer when you are not moving so I think the compass will still work fine when you are actually riding. I'll put that on the list of things to look at.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:49 AM   #1903
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,165
Doh! Airplane mode!

Tried the compass again, OK this is weird. The composed works in oruxmaps and osmand, but not gpsstatus or DSM . most likely not an issue with DSM then.
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:01 PM   #1904
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,978
Waypoints

Is there a way to search for a waypoint by address, name of business or? I can't seem to figure out how to add a waypoint other than zooming in on a random spot on map and naming it. I've watched the video(s) and tried searching but can't find the answer. Probably, because the answer is no
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 08:09 PM   #1905
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by levain View Post
Is there a way to search for a waypoint by address, name of business or? I can't seem to figure out how to add a waypoint other than zooming in on a random spot on map and naming it. I've watched the video(s) and tried searching but can't find the answer. Probably, because the answer is no
Indeed, the answer is no.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014