ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2014, 08:20 PM   #1966
bluegroove
Motorcycle junkie
 
bluegroove's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 404
also "vectro maps were not loaded" is a message I get often. I downloaded the Vector OSM maps for my state (CA) and the map displays sometimes, but very often does not.... So i have no map at all.
__________________
Former Mechanic in Honda and Kawasaki Dealer (eons ago). 38 yrs. of riding and racing dirt and street.
bluegroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 02:52 AM   #1967
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
new user here,
I have a few basic Qs about the app (not the website)

1. How do I make it record a track as I ride?
2. I don't understand the file management. How do I identify the track I recorded?

I thought I recorded last weekend's ride ,but I can't find a file that has it.
I moved the dated gpx files to my pc, but they did not include the ride I did that day.

Website question:
1. Is it possible to upload a gpx track and use it to download USGS topo tiles to look at when I follow the track later?

Thanks!
I'm going to tell you this, and it will work (fantastically!) but the first few times aren't easily done:

install mobac on your computer.
upload your gpx track , to your computer.
make mobac only download tiles of whatever map source you prefer, for that track.

you can select the radius around that track to download. 5ft or 5 miles, its up to you.

this makes very high detail maps possible , for very long routes, with minimal final map file sizes.

give it a shot.
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 08:43 AM   #1968
craftycoder OP
Android GPS Software
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
new user here,
I have a few basic Qs about the app (not the website)
New user? The app has not been available for months...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
1. How do I make it record a track as I ride?
If you have dated files in your tracks folder you are already recording them. The date on the gpx file is the date the file was saved not the date the track was created, so unless you explicitly save the track data it will dated the date of the first day AFTER you rode that you open the app.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
2. I don't understand the file management. How do I identify the track I recorded?

I thought I recorded last weekend's ride ,but I can't find a file that has it.
I moved the dated gpx files to my pc, but they did not include the ride I did that day.
No good idea there. My app has never lost a track for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
Website question:
1. Is it possible to upload a gpx track and use it to download USGS topo tiles to look at when I follow the track later?
It is. The main function the website lost is the ability to edit tracks. You can still upload tracks, sync them to your phone through the app, and cache tiles based on those tracks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
Thanks!
No worries.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 07:01 PM   #1969
bluegroove
Motorcycle junkie
 
bluegroove's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 404
thanks guys. yes I'm a new user. I downloaded the app months ago and have just now found time to try to use it
__________________
Former Mechanic in Honda and Kawasaki Dealer (eons ago). 38 yrs. of riding and racing dirt and street.
bluegroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 09:20 PM   #1970
bluegroove
Motorcycle junkie
 
bluegroove's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 404
couple more Q's

1. Can i make it so the name of a waypoint displays on the map?
2. Can i make it so the track that is recording while I ride will display on the map? (show me where I just came from)

thanks!
__________________
Former Mechanic in Honda and Kawasaki Dealer (eons ago). 38 yrs. of riding and racing dirt and street.
bluegroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:33 AM   #1971
craftycoder OP
Android GPS Software
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
couple more Q's

1. Can i make it so the name of a waypoint displays on the map?
2. Can i make it so the track that is recording while I ride will display on the map? (show me where I just came from)

thanks!
1. You can click the waypoint and its details show. Also, if you make the map in basecamp and give the waypoint a special icon type before you upload it to DSM.com it will show with a similar icon.

2. It is the "active log" layer. Turn it on on the layer menu.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:04 PM   #1972
bluegroove
Motorcycle junkie
 
bluegroove's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 404
no gpx = no map?

hey what if I'm going to a place I don't have a gpx for. And there aint one on the DSM site. How can I download tiles of that area? I have vector map of all of CA (I think), but it doesn't have any useful detail off road.

I spose I could draw a fake track and download using that, but I think when I'm out on the ride I'd likely have lots of gaps of missing tiles due to exploring places off of the fake track.

thoughts anyone?
__________________
Former Mechanic in Honda and Kawasaki Dealer (eons ago). 38 yrs. of riding and racing dirt and street.
bluegroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 12:45 AM   #1973
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegroove View Post
hey what if I'm going to a place I don't have a gpx for. And there aint one on the DSM site. How can I download tiles of that area? I have vector map of all of CA (I think), but it doesn't have any useful detail off road.

I spose I could draw a fake track and download using that, but I think when I'm out on the ride I'd likely have lots of gaps of missing tiles due to exploring places off of the fake track.

thoughts anyone?
download more tiles? not being a smartass at all. really.

I usually download zomm levels 10-16, but only do this for a real off road place I'm planning to be. its not like I ride 600 square miles of single track, more like 30-40 of an area in a weekend, possibly 100 TRACK miles in a weekend. if its more than that, its not single track, and doesn't need a high level zoom. for streets, vector maps work awesome, around 30-59mb per entire state.

check out mobac for doing high level zoom downloading on your computer beforehand also. I keep 10-16 of whatever forest I'm visiting, around 500mb, and for areas I'm really not sure of, smaller snippets of 10-18 , maybe 5 square miles at a time.
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 08:37 AM   #1974
bluegroove
Motorcycle junkie
 
bluegroove's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 404
I guess my lack of experience with this is showing. I was under the impression that only tiles which the track actually touches will be downloaded, thus creating gaps if you go off exploring. but I havent done this yet. Mobac sounds good, but I'd rather get DSM mastererd before I add the confusion of another program as well
__________________
Former Mechanic in Honda and Kawasaki Dealer (eons ago). 38 yrs. of riding and racing dirt and street.
bluegroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 03:16 AM   #1975
capcrazy
what, me worry?
 
capcrazy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 152
Crafty, I would like to make my own map tiles for overlays, since that feature no longer works on the website. I know how to make overlays in google earth and save them as kml files, but I have had no luck at all figuring out how to convert the kml files to something that DSM (or osmand) can use. you obviously at least used to have a way of doing this. could you give me a some tips or point me in the right direction?
__________________
1981 Suzuki DS125 (still sitting in barn)
1981 Suzuki TS250 (sold)
1982 Suzuki RM250 (cannibalized for parts)
1985 Suzuki RM250 (ridden until frame broke in 2001)
1985 Kawasaki KDX 200 (still works)
2005 KTM MXC 450 (titled as a street bike with plates)
2009 KLR 650
capcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:39 AM   #1976
craftycoder OP
Android GPS Software
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by capcrazy View Post
Crafty, I would like to make my own map tiles for overlays, since that feature no longer works on the website. I know how to make overlays in google earth and save them as kml files, but I have had no luck at all figuring out how to convert the kml files to something that DSM (or osmand) can use. you obviously at least used to have a way of doing this. could you give me a some tips or point me in the right direction?
Email me the KMZ with the overlay in it and I will try to get it online for you. It won't show on the website but it should show up in the app.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:35 AM   #1977
capcrazy
what, me worry?
 
capcrazy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 152
DSM down?

Crafty, I can't get to the DSM server via the app, and the webpage doesn't load.
__________________
1981 Suzuki DS125 (still sitting in barn)
1981 Suzuki TS250 (sold)
1982 Suzuki RM250 (cannibalized for parts)
1985 Suzuki RM250 (ridden until frame broke in 2001)
1985 Kawasaki KDX 200 (still works)
2005 KTM MXC 450 (titled as a street bike with plates)
2009 KLR 650
capcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 01:18 PM   #1978
craftycoder OP
Android GPS Software
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by capcrazy View Post
Crafty, I can't get to the DSM server via the app, and the webpage doesn't load.
It is back up. I think I crashed the server bringing up an older version so I could upload the KMZ you didn't send me.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 03:19 PM   #1979
NHBill
Loosely Wrapped
 
NHBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: SW NH
Oddometer: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
It is back up. I think I crashed the server bringing up an older version so I could upload the KMZ you didn't send me.
Ouch!

:eek: ghead:
:-)

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
__________________
Cancer Sucks!
I bought it to ride it, not wax it.
Soak it all in, It's a game you can't win, Enjoy the ride
"There's a very fine line dividing bravery from stupidity..."
2009 F650GS
NHBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:40 PM   #1980
capcrazy
what, me worry?
 
capcrazy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 152
I'm a workin' on them. I want to get them done right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
It is back up. I think I crashed the server bringing up an older version so I could upload the KMZ you didn't send me.
__________________
1981 Suzuki DS125 (still sitting in barn)
1981 Suzuki TS250 (sold)
1982 Suzuki RM250 (cannibalized for parts)
1985 Suzuki RM250 (ridden until frame broke in 2001)
1985 Kawasaki KDX 200 (still works)
2005 KTM MXC 450 (titled as a street bike with plates)
2009 KLR 650
capcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014