User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-28-2011, 07:59 AM   #1
Bronco638 OP
Nobody Home

Oddometer: 3,550
Exhaust Pulses and Mufflers - 4 Stroke vs. 2 Stroke

I'm not an engineer but I have some idea how mufflers work to break up exhaust gas 'pulses' which reduces noise. That said, is there any internal difference between mufflers made for 4 stroke engines versus mufflers made for 2 stroke engines?

A friend gave me an FMF Power Core 2 muffler. A little research reveals that it's for a KTM 250SX. Would this muffler work on a 250cc Honda (provided the pipes match)?

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
VonHelm
soggy doggy

Oddometer: 3,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco638 View Post
I'm not an engineer but I have some idea how mufflers work to break up exhaust gas 'pulses' which reduces noise. That said, is there any internal difference between mufflers made for 4 stroke engines versus mufflers made for 2 stroke engines?

A friend gave me an FMF Power Core 2 muffler. A little research reveals that it's for a KTM 250SX. Would this muffler work on a 250cc Honda (provided the pipes match)?
Functionally, all perforated core silencers are about the same. That being said, once the packing material of a two-stroke can gets oil-soaked, it will become louder.
Spread your arms and hold you breath
And always trust your cape (Guy Clark)
VonHelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:11 PM   #3
Truckin_Thumper
low profile

Oddometer: 28,538
A motorcycle muffler works exactly like a supressor works on a fire arm.

Figure out how to design them fused, you can make a small fortune.

Angled internals maybe multiplyed X3? figure out a way to stuff packing in each slot, or not.