ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2014, 12:35 PM   #1
floridarandy OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Oddometer: 24
Updating Maps on Streetpilot 2720

Found a like new unit on ebay and it works great. Only issue is the 2008 maps. Unit came with CN North America v8 and all i'd like to be able to do is update the maps.

Bought a 2009 update but for some reason Garmin Tech can't figure out it won't update. Shows in Mapsource but Locked and code on DVD says invalid.

If I could update to even 2012 I'd be thrilled as long as it works in Mapsource. Like to create and download routes to unit.

Thanks

Floridarandy
floridarandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 06:54 AM   #2
floridarandy OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Oddometer: 24
I was able to load 2014 maps on the 2720, but unable to delete the 2008 maps. I did use the Disable Detailed Maps function on the 2720 but I think there's still a lot of space being used by them on the device.

I've got the likely range I'll ride for 90% of the time loaded from 2014 but would still enjoy knowing how to totally update to 2014...get all 2014 maps on and overwrite the 2008.

Thanks
floridarandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 06:58 AM   #3
ProZac235
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 57
I'm not familiar with that model but if it has a memory slot can you just add the updated maps directly on the card? I have a few different Garmin GPS here and that's how I keep my maps updated. I don't bother doing anything with the internal memory
ProZac235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:15 AM   #4
riverflow
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Danville/Louisville, KY
Oddometer: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProZac235 View Post
I'm not familiar with that model but if it has a memory slot can you just add the updated maps directly on the card? I have a few different Garmin GPS here and that's how I keep my maps updated. I don't bother doing anything with the internal memory
It doesn't have an SD card.


OP, it might be tied to a previous Garmin account. I don't know for sure if that would have any effect, but it would be my guess.
__________________
-Tyler
'05 BMW F650 GS Dakar

"There is no such thing as bad weather, only the wrong clothes" ~ Billy Connolly.
riverflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:42 AM   #5
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
Put it into mass storage mode (http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/O...s_Storage_Mode) then use a Windows explorer to find the 2 big map files (will probably be named something like GMAPSUPP.IMG, but should have a .img extension) and delete the older one is how I would do it. I had to do this on my Montana. The map file for each map set is huge, like 2 or 3 GB, way bigger than anything else on the unit, so will be easy to find.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 12:13 PM   #6
floridarandy OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverflow View Post
It doesn't have an SD card.


OP, it might be tied to a previous Garmin account. I don't know for sure if that would have any effect, but it would be my guess.
I'm betting this is the issue. I was finally able to get the unit transferred to my name so we'll see tonight.
floridarandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 12:14 PM   #7
floridarandy OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Put it into mass storage mode (http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/O...s_Storage_Mode) then use a Windows explorer to find the 2 big map files (will probably be named something like GMAPSUPP.IMG, but should have a .img extension) and delete the older one is how I would do it. I had to do this on my Montana. The map file for each map set is huge, like 2 or 3 GB, way bigger than anything else on the unit, so will be easy to find.
No, actually this antique unit has no accessible memory. There's apparently a 2gig mass storage flash drive which is non-accessible and cant' be addressed as a separate drive.
floridarandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 04:17 PM   #8
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by floridarandy View Post
If I could update to even 2012 I'd be thrilled as long as it works in Mapsource. Like to create and download routes to unit.
Here is a link to a procedure: http://www.gpspower.net/garmin-discussions/181750-how-update-maps-street-pilot-2720-a.html

That is a link to a forum, like this one and there are several posts in that link. The second procedure that is posted by "ultrasheer" is the one I have used a couple of times with success. The trick is to find your map ID number. Google will probably help you and there are PC / Windows utilities that will display a map ID for you.

Biggest issue is that it is really slow. The 27xx and 28xx StreetPilots have very slow USB ports so a full North America or Europe map will take quite a while, like a couple of hours.

Good luck.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
pckopp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:12 PM   #9
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by floridarandy View Post
No, actually this antique unit has no accessible memory. There's apparently a 2gig mass storage flash drive which is non-accessible and cant' be addressed as a separate drive.
Um... I own one, and although it has been a little while, I believe I did what I suggested with mine.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 01:34 PM   #10
FLY
Adventurer
 
FLY's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: sLOVEnia
Oddometer: 66
I think it could be the same story
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=761204
__________________
-It was an era when racing was still dangerous, and sex was safe.
-In brakes we trust!
FLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:48 PM   #11
FLY
Adventurer
 
FLY's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: sLOVEnia
Oddometer: 66
another source (at the bottom stand it works for 2720 also):
http://www.gpspower.net/garmin-tutor...eetpilots.html
__________________
-It was an era when racing was still dangerous, and sex was safe.
-In brakes we trust!
FLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014