User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-15-2011, 03:02 PM   #1
GrFa OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 20
First scoot, shakedown ride!

Hello everyone. I'm Greg. I've been a lurker here for the past few years. I have always had an interest in bikes but it was not until I graduated college and had a place of my own that I could finally act on it. Two years ago me and a couple friends did the MSF course together and got our licenses. Since that time I have been doing the all familiar internet/fact finding research and every single kind of bike trying to decide (justify?) what would make the best "first" one. A month into that I bought the first, cheapest bike I could find that was running and had it dropped off at the house. It needed some additional work and its still sitting there.

Fast forward to a few months ago. I have looked at all the different possibilities of something that I could hop on and ride (not making the mistake of buying something unridable again) including the sensible ones like a Ninja 250 to the extremes like a cheap Goldwing. I considered going more dual sport and multi purpose, but finally decided that living in an urban environment a scooter would be the best choice. A dear friend who owns two 60's Vespa's tried to talk me into one of those (no thanks, needs to be ridable). I looked at cheap mail order Chinese scoots, but thankfully determined that was not the best idea. I looked at modern Vespa's and Honda's (almost bought a Helix) but finally landed on a Genuine Buddy.