Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Day Trippin'
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-25-2011, 06:49 PM   #1
error cooled OP
anything but asphalt

Oddometer: 1,152
Scouting the BRT - Virginia by dirt, 2 track and back roads on a WR250R and DR350

Scouting the Blue Ridge Trail - June 19 to June 22, 2011

The Plan:

Spend 4 Days scouting parts of a route through Western Virginia that I have been working on for many many months. You can read all about it here but basically it is a route that encompasses as much dirt, gravel, two track, jeep roads etc as you can with some awesome ribbons of paved forgotten roads - all within VA and a lil bit of WVA. I have been calling it The Blue Ridge Trail.

Likely Suspects:
Me / David - Error Cooled - Red Jacket on a 2008 WR250R.
Luke - lurker - Grey Jacket on a 1994 DR350SE.

Day 1: Hinton, VA to Covington, VA

I hate riding through the DC megalopolis to get to the prime riding areas in VA so I set out to find someone generous enough to let us park for a few days near Harrisonburg. Luckily h14xl / Kevin sent me a PM and invited us to park at his property in Hinton - which is only 15 minutes from the start of our planned route. Perfect. So we arrive around noon and Kevin gives us an awesome send off:

From here we are on 33 West headed to Skidmore Fork / Dunkle Hollow FDR227. The sky is ominous but well behaved. Dunkle Hollow is a fun not very technical road that winds up to Flagpole and Reddish Knob. Helmet cam view of Dunkle Hollow:

After you wind your way 11 miles up Dunkle Hollow you are rewarded with some great views off of Flagpole Knob at 4300ft: