User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-28-2011, 05:35 PM   #1
ADVWannabee OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 212
A trip down memory lane turns into a blast through the past

I have been planning a trip back to my home town, Marietta Ohio, for a while now. I have wanted to get the bike up there since I started riding a mere 4 years ago. Last weekend I finally did it.

First some background. My family moved to Virginia from Marietta when I was just 11. My entire family on both my mom and my dads side lived from Marietta up to Zanesville and at stops in between.

You always wonder what life would be like if you had stayed here or there or done this or that. I don't wonder too much though because life has turned out pretty well so far. I married my high school prom date 22 years ago and we are still going strong. Who knows how many divorces I might have had if I stayed in Ohio.

But back to the trip. I finally picked a date and started watching the radar. Being a relative noob to traveling by bike, I wanted to avoid rain as much as possible. The forecast for the weekend looked pretty good so I packed up the bike on Thursday evening.

Roanoke Forecast

Marietta Forecast

I got a call that evening from a friend of mine who I will be riding back to Ohio with in late July to the go to the mid-Ohio vintage bike races. He told me he had gotten his tent and mattress pad. So I asked him if he wanted to pack up on last minute notice and go with me. Wouldn't you know it, he said yes. But he had to work for a half day, so I would start up without him and he would follow me up later. How is that for a riding buddy? I have trouble getting people to take trips with me but it seems he is game.