ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2014, 03:49 PM   #1
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
Extra connector on top of battery bracket?

Hi all,
Relative newbie here. Recently bought a 2014 800, sales guy told me there was a spare switched live under the 'tank' which could be used to connect satnav dock etc. Took the cover off the other day to fit charge lead direct to the battery, and while there had a look for this switched live, as could do with hard wiring a usb. Not a massive fan of the hella 12v, so may also fit a standard 12v opposite it.
Only thing I found was a connector with 3 fairly light gauge wires clipped to the battery bracket but not connected to anything.
What's this, and is there any other connection points i can use?
Thanks all!

oldenduronoob screwed with this post 11-14-2014 at 04:03 PM
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 04:00 PM   #2
Captain Excellent
+ll+
 
Captain Excellent's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 181
That's the BMW GPS connector. It's switched off the ignition with a delay.
Best to put in a fuse block for accessories and switch its operation off the high beam wire. I have a PDM 60
__________________
!
Captain Excellent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 04:06 PM   #3
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
Hi,
Cheers for that, will look into it. Just don't want to be chopping into any wires while the bike's still under warranty, as if owt goes wrong then it's something for them to point the finger at.
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 05:12 PM   #4
Captain Excellent
+ll+
 
Captain Excellent's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 181
There's a BMW power connector cable you can buy to connect to this outlet
Check this link http://f800depot.com/bmw-switched-power-cable.html
I bought mine at a dealership.
Not sure that this circuit has enough power to run a socket though. The Canbus might trip it. Thats why its best to use a power terminal like i noted above. It will provide circuit protection, but not trip with the Canbus. You'll also find that the socket on the top panel is way sucky. It will run a vest but doesnt have enough capacity to start up a tire compressor. Search the forums for more info
__________________
!
Captain Excellent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 10:58 PM   #5
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
That's brilliant, thank you. Will do some searching now i know what i'm looking for.
Many thanks for your time.
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 07:09 AM   #6
Captain Excellent
+ll+
 
Captain Excellent's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 181
Here's a link to the trigger connection I've used for my fuse block. Using this means you don't have to break through the sheath on any wiring.
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/elect...ph-motorcycles
__________________
!
Captain Excellent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 07:48 AM   #7
gnurob
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
Oddometer: 87
You could connect a relay to the GPS wire and attach that switched load to the battery.
gnurob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 09:34 AM   #8
Canada Mike
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Canada Mike's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Langley BC
Oddometer: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnurob View Post
You could connect a relay to the GPS wire and attach that switched load to the battery.
+1 don't mess with the canbus...I used this plug only as a trigger from the key being turned on ( ACC) and it then fires a relay for the Denali power Hub II.
The Denali power hub II fits perfectly slid on its side between the air box and the battery. Had the Centec AP1 but it does not fit nearly as well.
__________________
2013 F800GS
Canada Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 10:34 AM   #9
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Excellent View Post
Here's a link to the trigger connection I've used for my fuse block. Using this means you don't have to break through the sheath on any wiring.
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/elect...ph-motorcycles
That's spot on, and surprisingly available on ebay in the uk! So I'll definitely be getting one of those for simplicities sake.
Just need to choose a fuse panel that fits well now.
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 10:36 AM   #10
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canada Mike View Post
+1 don't mess with the canbus...I used this plug only as a trigger from the key being turned on ( ACC) and it then fires a relay for the Denali power Hub II.
The Denali power hub II fits perfectly slid on its side between the air box and the battery. Had the Centec AP1 but it does not fit nearly as well.
I like the look of the power hub 2, bit expensive though, have various relays lying around so might end up making one lol.
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:04 AM   #11
GeeK_InsiDe
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldenduronoob View Post
That's spot on, and surprisingly available on ebay in the uk! So I'll definitely be getting one of those for simplicities sake.
Just need to choose a fuse panel that fits well now.
Do you have a link on Ebay? I can't find it...
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:23 AM   #12
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3611111347...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

There ya go!
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:29 AM   #13
GeeK_InsiDe
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 349
Thank's ;)
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:45 AM   #14
Captain Excellent
+ll+
 
Captain Excellent's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldenduronoob View Post
Just need to choose a fuse panel that fits well now.

I'd strongly suggest the PDM 60. They are a bit more dollars, but being solid state it is so much easier to reset rather than having to strip panels and reinsert a 19th century technology fuse into a 21st century technology bike.
Here's a UK link for you.
http://www.nippynormans.com/products...able-row-pdm60
__________________
!
Captain Excellent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 12:10 PM   #15
oldenduronoob OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Colne, skipton, keighley or silsden, england, uk
Oddometer: 38
It does sound like the most sensible option, just seem to be spending money left right and centre on the most expensive bike I've ever bought, and still need some TKC's! Suppose I should get used to it lol Something for the christmas list for a change I suppose!
__________________
2014 BMW F800GS, KTM 200 EXC
oldenduronoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015