User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-14-2011, 07:58 PM   #1
redneckdan OP
Hold my beer & watch this

Oddometer: 576
Fly Rods, Kids and a KLR

11 years ago it was July of 2000 and I was 15 years old. I applied for and was selected to attend a 1 week long youth trout fishing camp organized by the Kalamazoo Valley chapter of Trout Unlimited. At that time I had been fishing for 10 years and dabbling with fly fishing for over 5 years. The camp turned out to be not as advanced as I expected but it was a blast none the less.

Fast forward about 11 years and I am working as a member of a mountain bike trail building crew when I fall at work and injure my left knee. This happened in early May and fate being the fickle bitch that she is I didn't get a definitive diagnoses, nor pain meds til the end of June. Turns out I trashed two ligaments and the meniscus. That right, I sat on the couch for 2 months with a train wreck in my knee just gritting my teeth and not being able to sleep at night....guess you could say I kind of fell through the cracks in the medical care 'system'.

In mid-May while going through some of my old stuff I found a box containing my bug collection from that fondly spent summer of 2000. On a whim I look up KVTU's website and see that the camp is in fact still occurring and is scheduled for the second week of July this year. I shoot off a couple emails and pretty soon I am signed up as a counselor....in hopes that my knee injury is only minor and I can make it to the camp.