ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 08:55 PM   #76
poonbean
gottago
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Orinda, CA
Oddometer: 44
Following the suggestion of toowheels, I went ahead with option 1 and enlarged the existing hole and drilled a new hole. The rotopax is no about an inch further back, which helps a lot, another inch would even better (as always!). Below are pictures.

The question now is whether or not the new hole is too close to the logo M cutout...creating a weak point subject to fatigue failure ??? . There are fender washers underneath to spread the load a bit.






poonbean screwed with this post 06-19-2012 at 12:12 PM
poonbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:37 PM   #77
toowheels
on a mission...
 
toowheels's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by poonbean View Post
Following the suggestion of toowheels, I went ahead with option 1 and enlarged the existing hole and drilled a new hole. The rotopax is no about an inch further back, which helps a lot, another inch would even better (as always!). Below are pictures.

The question now is whether or not the new hole is too close to the logo M cutout...creating a weak point subject to fatigue failure ??? . There are fender washers underneath to spread the load a bit.







Well, I can't figure out how to insert pics yet, lame. Here are the URLs

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8013632...in/photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8013632...in/photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8013632...in/photostream

I don't see the closeness to the M being a problem. Have at it!

If there ever is a problem...let me know!!

Dave
__________________
Moto Overland [MOD] -Skid Plates, Top racks, Tool Boxes etc for Adventure bikes
& Giant Loop for Canada

www.motooverland.com
toowheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:53 PM   #78
stickysidedown
Studly Adventurer
 
stickysidedown's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Oddometer: 636
In a similar vein to the OP I've just done a 16,000 mile return trip to Mongolia with a plastic mounting plate (I bought some 18mm HDPE)

Held in place with just 4 P clips and not a sign of cracking.

These tanks were always full over that mileage as when I started out they held 10 litres of 10-50 motorex, once I reached Mongolia they became fuel cans

I'm too tight to buy rotopax cans and their mounts, I bought some excellent Cam straps from Kriega for 12.50 a pair and some cheap plastic cans meant for a boat



Not only did they not budge, they mostly held the weight of another pair of tyres on the top of them and I saved some coin, result!

Rear Rack was a prototype from Zen Overland in 6mm Alloy, that thing was bombproof!
stickysidedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:37 AM   #79
jm65
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jm65's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Alpes-France
Oddometer: 158
hi guys

do you know if the mount bracket "rotopax tank"is compatible with the "kolpin tank"(1.5Gal) ?

Kolpin



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Rotopax



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks in advance
jm65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 06:24 AM   #80
mechanical
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Saratoga, WY
Oddometer: 91
I cut the side plates out of 3/16" 5052-H36 aluminum to mount the Rotopax cans to the racks. I bobbed the corners of the plates so I can still mount wolfman soft bags over the gas cans.

Cut out on laser



The plates just cover the center line of the tubing for the pannier racks. They are held in place with the top halves of 1/2" hydraulic hose retainers. The clamps are built out of polyethylene with a stainless steel backing plate. These are much stronger than conduit clamps, and if I ever break one I can just turn the clamp 180 deg and use the other side. I'm not sure where we get these things, but I would guess your local John Deere / Case dealer may have some. I also cut out a few spacers to ensure the clamps would be properly aligned.

Clamp Assembly





Plates fit pretty well



Bolted on the Rotopax mounts








I still need to find some rubber feet to protect the cans from rubbing the bolt heads/plates. But other than that, this should work pretty well.

mechanical screwed with this post 03-29-2013 at 02:10 PM
mechanical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:43 AM   #81
John_L
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bainbridge Island, Washington
Oddometer: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechanical View Post
I cut the side plates out of 3/16" 5052-H36 aluminum to mount the Rotopax cans to the racks. I bobbed the corners of the plates so I can still mount wolfman soft bags over the gas cans.
Nice work. Any chance of a pic from the rear with the bags on?

Also, did you make that clamp setup or buy it somewhere?

cheers
John_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:02 AM   #82
mechanical
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Saratoga, WY
Oddometer: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_L View Post
Nice work. Any chance of a pic from the rear with the bags on?

Also, did you make that clamp setup or buy it somewhere?

cheers
"They are held in place with the top halves of 1/2" hydraulic hose retainers. The clamps are built out of polyethylene with a stainless steel backing plate. These are much stronger than conduit clamps, and if I ever break one I can just turn the clamp 180 deg and use the other side. I'm not sure where we get these things, but I would guess your local John Deere / Case dealer may have some."
mechanical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:52 AM   #83
John_L
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Bainbridge Island, Washington
Oddometer: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechanical View Post
"They are held in place with the top halves of 1/2" hydraulic hose retainers. The clamps are built out of polyethylene with a stainless steel backing plate. These are much stronger than conduit clamps, and if I ever break one I can just turn the clamp 180 deg and use the other side. I'm not sure where we get these things, but I would guess your local John Deere / Case dealer may have some."
cool, thanks for the info.
John_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:57 AM   #84
pdxmotorhead
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 476
Any industrial plumbing supplier has the pipe clams in many sizes and configurations they are quite common just not at Lowes or Home Depot..

They are required for hydraulics and steam piping.. The come in single double triple etc..

Cheers
Dave
__________________
Guns are like parachutes
If you need one and don't have it
You will never need one again
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:46 PM   #85
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 435
Can you help a guy out that can't find those clamps?

I searched but found no clamps like that. And those clamps look good too.
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008
KTM 990 Adventure 2008
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:05 PM   #86
ABuck99
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 462
Great ideas!. Agree that the gobies are too wide for back country expedition. Slim & trim is the way to go.

Mechanical- very -nice- work. I would buy a set of those from you if you had the inclination to make some up. Or send a drawing.....

Wondering how the giant loop coyote or great basin or similar would work along with that set up.
__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC

ABuck99 screwed with this post 03-29-2013 at 01:13 PM
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:19 PM   #87
Supahflid
Wheelieless
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Brandon, MS
Oddometer: 3,523
Rotopax on Wolfman racks:



With saddlebags not completely installed:

Supahflid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:40 PM   #88
ABuck99
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 462
Supah- We can tell which bike gets all the attention, that LC8 looks cleaner than the hog. Show that harley some love- its even asking to be cleaned...




Quote:
Originally Posted by Supahflid View Post
Rotopax on Wolfman racks:



With saddlebags not completely installed:

__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:49 PM   #89
Supahflid
Wheelieless
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Brandon, MS
Oddometer: 3,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABuck99 View Post
Supah- We can tell which bike gets all the attention, that LC8 looks cleaner than the hog. Show that harley some love- its even asking to be cleaned...
:grin. I know. I just bought a battery for that pig. It's been sitting there leaking oil for a year.
Supahflid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:54 PM   #90
beergut
Thumper
 
beergut's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 413
Lots of inmates have asked and the product is being delivered.




Rotopax mounts for the KTM 950/990
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=883775
__________________
My KLR

DIY rear top rack
beergut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014