ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2014, 12:21 PM   #1
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Question Aux LED's trigger Brake Failure Light

I installed a set of auxiliary LED lights on the crash bars of the bike.
They are connected directly to the battery on their own harness that is triggered via a relay to only be powered when the bike is ON.

If the bike is running and I turn them on the brake failure warning light comes on as well, if I turn the lights off and restart the bike then all is well until I turn them on again.

Anyone have or hear of something similar?

Bike has a new battery and it is fully charged, the one thing I did not do was check to see if the ABS was still enabled despite the warning light being on.

It only happens when I turn on the lights, and no other time.



__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:23 PM   #2
Jnich77
Studly Adventurer
 
Jnich77's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Orlando Fl
Oddometer: 570
Perhaps it is related to the wire you used as a signal wire?
Jnich77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:31 PM   #3
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnich77 View Post
Perhaps it is related to the wire you used as a signal wire?
I used the one most people utilize off the diagnostic plug, the blue and yellow one.
That was the first thing I made sure of using was the correct signal wire.
I also thought the ground might be at issue so they are grounded directly to the battery as well.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:58 PM   #4
Draadwerk
New guy
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 6
Maybe take the power for the trigger from the dim light. Mine is like that, and had it like that on all previous bikes with no problems.

Even have it like that on my WC. No problems whatsoever
Draadwerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 01:50 PM   #5
LaurelPerryOnLand
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 2,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM8 View Post
I used the one most people utilize off the diagnostic plug, the blue and yellow one.
That was the first thing I made sure of using was the correct signal wire.
I also thought the ground might be at issue so they are grounded directly to the battery as well.
What bike are we talking about?

On my 06 R1200GS the trigger wire on the diagnostic plug is GREEN/Blue Strip.

http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/u...1/DSC01572.jpg

Two 'triggers' shown...1. PINK connector and 2. PosiTap (on YELLOW wire)

LaurelPerryOnLand screwed with this post Yesterday at 09:09 AM
LaurelPerryOnLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:03 PM   #6
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurelPerryOnLand View Post
What bike are we talking about?

On my 06 R1200GS the trigger wire on the diagnostic plug is GREEN/Blue Strip.

http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/u...1/DSC01572.jpg

Two 'triggers' shown...1. PINK connector and 2. PosiTap
You are correct about that little fact.
This is a 2007 GS1200.
I used the trigger wire off the diagnostic that was recommended by JinVonBaden BMW guru dude who's name I totally just butchered.
I most likely have the colors wrong but i KNOW it is only powered when the bike is keyed on, I tested that to make certain.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:06 PM   #7
JM
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Oddometer: 671
I'm guessing here but I bet you tapped into a brake circuit for your relay trigger wire. When you turn on the lights it changes the resistance in that circuit and that change is causing the bike to throw a warning. Cycle the ignition and the circuit reads normal till you turn on the lights again.
__________________
John

Postponing retirement one farkle at a time!
JM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:09 PM   #8
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM View Post
I'm guessing here but I bet you tapped into a brake circuit for your relay trigger wire. When you turn on the lights it changes the resistance in that circuit and that change is causing the bike to throw a warning. Cycle the ignition and the circuit reads normal till you turn on the lights again.
No I am certain that is not the case, the power is through a fuse-block, completely independent of the bikes CANBUS wiring harness.
The only connection to the bikes stock harness is the signal wire on the diagnostic plug that opens the relay to the fuse block.

I am wondering if the proximity of the front ABS signal wire to the powerlines for the LED's is being affected by the RF cause when the lights turn on.

I need to try it with the lights already on when the bike starts and see if that affects the warning light or not.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 09:51 PM   #9
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Thumb Solved

Well it appears the issue was a bad ground, moved it from the bolt on the side of the head stock to the common ground at the battery.

Very odd but problem solved
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:53 AM   #10
JM
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Oddometer: 671
Thanks for posting the solution. Just out of curiosity which LED lights did you go with?
__________________
John

Postponing retirement one farkle at a time!
JM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:03 AM   #11
DSM8 OP
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM View Post
Thanks for posting the solution. Just out of curiosity which LED lights did you go with?
I am running the cyclopse long range LED's.
This is the second bike they have been on and for two 10w LED's they actually our perform the HID low beam I have on the bike.

http://www.cyclopsadventuresports.co...uare_p_11.html

I have over 15K miles on these lights in all conditions and they never failed to impress or perform.

I thought it was the ground causing a surge of sorts through the chassis which was causing the weird behavior, glad that was all it turned out to be.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014