ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 12:48 AM   #7081
davidmnz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Auckland, NZ
Oddometer: 24
Front sprocket cover with 17T sprocket?

I thought I was being clever by choosing a 50 tooth rear sprocket and using a 15 tooth front for off road and a 17 tooth for on road. So I could just swap front sprockets as/when needed. 17/50 is pretty close to stock and 15/50 is nicely lower for slow off road stuff without having to slip the clutch a lot. 15/50 worked fine but when I put the 17T on I couldn't get the chain guard/sprocket cover back on. Looks like there isn't enough clearance between the 17T sprocket and the clutch slave cylinder. Am I correct that the cover just won't fit with a 17T front sprocket? Why do KTM list a 17 tooth sprocket if the cover won't fit?
davidmnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:19 AM   #7082
davidmnz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Auckland, NZ
Oddometer: 24
Wolfman E12 plus rack and bags?

Since the luggage thread looks pretty quiet I thought I'd ask here. Has anyone tried the E12 bags and saddle bags mounted on the Wolfman racks at the same time? I mean with the E12s in front of the rack+bags, not mounted on the rack. Looks like there might be enough room and it would keep weight low and forward compared to E12s + a duffel behind the seat or just loading up rack-mounted bags (too far back). The idea would be to put the heaviest stuff in the E12s and lighter stuff in the saddle bags.
davidmnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:32 AM   #7083
tertsu
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motomochila View Post
I know it's been done here about 8,000 times, or I thought its been done...but can anybody direct me to the thread or tell me what speedo upgrade works best. My junker..er, stocker is not working and I want to get something I can actually see at speed. Did some searching but could not find it. ..and yep I'm a bit inept on searching here.

Does the 950-990 exchange easily? Is there an aftermarket that works better and connects to the stock wiring harness?

Bike is an 09. I had a Britannia Composite Lynx fairing mounted up and I loaded the stock speedo onto the dash panel. Seems all the tabs have broken loose and the unit has stopped working due to excessive vibration. Going back to a stock number plate with a Baja Designs LED light set-up, then I want to mount a new or working speedo to the stock mounting location.

Any words of wisdom or guidance?

Thanks

Jerry
Sorry, not any words of wisdom, but almost same thing happens to me too with Lynx fairing. 2 of 3 tabs have broken from speedo due front brake cable hits it in big jumps or when wheeling. Luckily the speedo still works and I managed to fix tabs somehow, but I still need to reposition the speedo to avoid this in future.

Found this: http://www.koso.com.tw/products-deta...lang=en&id=292 could be a solution for you?
tertsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 02:38 AM   #7084
touser
canned fruit
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: NSW South Coast Aus
Oddometer: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmnz View Post
I thought I was being clever by choosing a 50 tooth rear sprocket and using a 15 tooth front for off road and a 17 tooth for on road. So I could just swap front sprockets as/when needed. 17/50 is pretty close to stock and 15/50 is nicely lower for slow off road stuff without having to slip the clutch a lot. 15/50 worked fine but when I put the 17T on I couldn't get the chain guard/sprocket cover back on. Looks like there isn't enough clearance between the 17T sprocket and the clutch slave cylinder. Am I correct that the cover just won't fit with a 17T front sprocket? Why do KTM list a 17 tooth sprocket if the cover won't fit?
Ive had a 17 with the cover on ok, Had the same idear but .to do the 15-17 tooth thing you'll have to add/remove a link
__________________
I know the voices arn't real, but they do have good ideas.
touser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:16 AM   #7085
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmnz View Post
Since the luggage thread looks pretty quiet I thought I'd ask here. Has anyone tried the E12 bags and saddle bags mounted on the Wolfman racks at the same time? I mean with the E12s in front of the rack+bags, not mounted on the rack. Looks like there might be enough room and it would keep weight low and forward compared to E12s + a duffel behind the seat or just loading up rack-mounted bags (too far back). The idea would be to put the heaviest stuff in the E12s and lighter stuff in the saddle bags.
Santa brought me a set of E12 side bags and I have them mounted just in front of the Touratech hard bag mounts.

Storage space for day trips and tools between the two side bags almost gives me the same space as the Wolftail tail bag I used on the 640A I just sold. I got the E12's because I have plans on adding the 1.75 gal Rotopax can to the SWMotech rear rack and didn't want to run the risk damaging the rear of the bike with the added weight of the fuel can and the tail bag.

You want a picture?

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:20 AM   #7086
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by touser View Post
Ive had a 17 with the cover on ok, Had the same idear but .to do the 15-17 tooth thing you'll have to add/remove a link
You can't spend 5 minutes with the case protector and a bench grinder grinding the inside of the curved part to make them fit and flip the axle block 180 degrees like you can on the 640's with the same chain length if you're running the 15 or the 17 tooth front?

Maybe if someone else knows about flipping the axle spacer block around they could chime in.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:35 AM   #7087
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sutherngintelmen View Post
Take pics - maybe I'll get inspired and install mine - thanks group buy.
Wouldn't ya know it, I let somebody borrow my Miti-vac and the sorry SOB is out of town right now.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:04 AM   #7088
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,818
Well, simple enough, didn't even need my Miti-Vac

Just remove the old slave and clean off any residue gasket material. Then unbolt the line and bleed nipple off the old slave.



The Sigutech comes with a new gasket so mount those up. The upper right bolt hole on the Sigutech slave makes it a bit of a chore to get an 8mm wrench on the bleed nipple.



[IMG][/IMG]

Since I'm still using the stock CS sprocket cover I grabbed a shorter bolt to go into the bottom hole so I could torque down the new slave. I'll let it sit like that over night before I take it out and reinstall the cover.

[IMG][/IMG]

After that it's just a matter of filling up the clutch reservoir with some mineral oil and then just bleeding the system. Took about 15-20 minutes from start to finish.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:26 AM   #7089
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 4,144
Purdy.
I wish there was another group buy going on.
__________________
Tom-2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC
My2Wheels
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:46 AM   #7090
Aaron from Texas
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Aaron from Texas's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
You can't spend 5 minutes with the case protector and a bench grinder grinding the inside of the curved part to make them fit and flip the axle block 180 degrees like you can on the 640's with the same chain length if you're running the 15 or the 17 tooth front?

Maybe if someone else knows about flipping the axle spacer block around they could chime in.

Dirty
Yeah, you can flip the axle blocks around... easy peasy. I have mine flipped for more room since I've got a shorter chain. 16/44 on my SMC with a 114 link chain.
__________________
1987 Honda XL600R
ftwtexas.blogspot.com
Aaron from Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:10 AM   #7091
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
Purdy.
I wish there was another group buy going on.
I'd be interested if someone is putting together another group buy, or if someone has one they did not use and want to sell, PM me please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirk the Jerk View Post
Yeah, you can flip the axle blocks around... easy peasy. I have mine flipped for more room since I've got a shorter chain. 16/44 on my SMC with a 114 link chain.
+1, I flip the blocks for use with my SUMO set up too. 15/45 to 15/42.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:29 PM   #7092
davidmnz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Auckland, NZ
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
Santa brought me a set of E12 side bags and I have them mounted just in front of the Touratech hard bag mounts.

Storage space for day trips and tools between the two side bags almost gives me the same space as the Wolftail tail bag I used on the 640A I just sold. I got the E12's because I have plans on adding the 1.75 gal Rotopax can to the SWMotech rear rack and didn't want to run the risk damaging the rear of the bike with the added weight of the fuel can and the tail bag.

You want a picture?

Dirty
Yes please.
davidmnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:33 PM   #7093
davidmnz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Auckland, NZ
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by touser View Post
Ive had a 17 with the cover on ok, Had the same idear but .to do the 15-17 tooth thing you'll have to add/remove a link
Did you not have to modify the cover to get it to fit?

15 and 17 works fine. Just flip the adjusters as others have said. FYI 118 links works with 15/50 and 17/50.
davidmnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:18 PM   #7094
iMoto
08 690E, 11Ninja1000
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Il.
Oddometer: 6
690 Slave cylinder

Wayne over at DualSportWarehouse has the Oberon slave cylinder for the 690 if you are interested.

http://dualsportwarehouse.com/OBERON...-OBERONLC4.htm
__________________
iMoto
iMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 01:19 AM   #7095
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,585
Flashing oil light

I have a 2012 690R with about 4,000km on the clock – Arapovic, but standard air filter (Twin Air filter kit from RR currently wending its way across the Pacific ... ).

For the last 1,500km or so I’ve had an intermittently flashing oil light – pressure test OK – happens when slowing down to stop, and at idle – continues at idle unless you give it some revs ...

I suspect that the Akrapovic map is not perfect, allowing the bike to idle lower than it should ...

I was cheered by a post on this thread from a compatriot Aussie re’ new Akrapovic map (circa 12/1/13 [English date format]) – but have just had the bike in at the shop and the map fitted (last three digits I think 423) is apparently the current one – the more recent map (last digits I think 424) is specifically for aftermarket exhaust / air filter / high-end cam – I have the standard cam, and the shop thought this map would not be appropriate ...

I noticed that the map loaded (again, last three digits 423) specified an aftermarket air filter – this should arrive from RR next week, and I have small hopes that it will resolve the problem ...

That notwithstanding, have any others had this problem?

If so, any ideas?

The bike is still under warranty ...
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015