ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 05:23 PM   #7561
fluff34567
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 917
The guy making them used to sell direct on ukgser


sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:15 PM   #7562
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet View Post
Says right there: " ...richens fuel circuit..." $160-hmmm. Think I'll keep jerkin'

Yea, maybe they changed the description in the year and a half since I questioned it ...

Now that you brought it back up though, I'm curious (with zero need/ desire to purchase one) as to how exactly it "richens fuel circuit"? Mine has been running fine for the last 6k miles (12k on bike) with the EVO1 map. A set of cables to use tuneecu would certainly be cheaper and likely produce better results at all rpm ranges vs the "accelerator module."


aaaaaannnnnnnddddddd..... discuss
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:38 AM   #7563
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
Yea, maybe they changed the description in the year and a half since I questioned it ...

Now that you brought it back up though, I'm curious (with zero need/ desire to purchase one) as to how exactly it "richens fuel circuit"? Mine has been running fine for the last 6k miles (12k on bike) with the EVO1 map. A set of cables to use tuneecu would certainly be cheaper and likely produce better results at all rpm ranges vs the "accelerator module."


aaaaaannnnnnnddddddd..... discuss
Agreed, much rather spend a lot less money and get REAL adjustability via TuneECU.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:51 AM   #7564
JustBob
Uh...who me?
 
JustBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Young Harris, GA
Oddometer: 669
Vortex anyone?
__________________
Bob Hancock
'14 R1200GSW
'10 690 EnduroR
'11 WR250R
JustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:00 AM   #7565
giuspepp
n00b
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
This is my tool kit. But i'm on an RTW.. not on a day trip. Its basically everything I need to take apart most of the bike. Including most of the motor. (calipers and multimeter cus i'm a nerd)

Does the shock tool in the photo work on 690?(i'm refering to this one: http://www.ktm4u.co.uk/new-products/...load-wrench-11)
giuspepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:23 AM   #7566
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,217
Not for on the trail. It works out on the bench. I use a tire iron against the frame tube to lever the rings around. Then I lock with a screwdriver smack with crescent wrench. Doesn't need a lot to lock.

Sent from outer space with my Thunderbolt with Tapatalk.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:31 AM   #7567
lightfighter
where does this go?
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Sierra Vista AZ.
Oddometer: 2,153
over in the Gspot, they are generally called booster plugs, and they mask the temperature signal with a manipulated lower reading, to which the ECU responds by throwing a richer mixture. really actually pretty noticeable on an R1200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
Yea, maybe they changed the description in the year and a half since I questioned it ...

Now that you brought it back up though, I'm curious (with zero need/ desire to purchase one) as to how exactly it "richens fuel circuit"? Mine has been running fine for the last 6k miles (12k on bike) with the EVO1 map. A set of cables to use tuneecu would certainly be cheaper and likely produce better results at all rpm ranges vs the "accelerator module."


aaaaaannnnnnnddddddd..... discuss
lightfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:50 AM   #7568
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustBob View Post
Vortex anyone?
The Vortex makes my 690r run a lot stronger but support can be spotty and random. I ordered mine from KTM Twins as I remember. I love them and use them all the time for stuff, but I got a Vortex unit with maps for an open airbox supermoto and I run the stock airbox with a foam filter. I e-mailed Richard in Australia and he said just take some fuel out using the adjustments. Bike ran well but was always tough to start compared to stock ECU. After a year I sent the Vortex to Cali for latest maps and to get maps for my setup and also get the handlebar mounted map switch. For $100 they reflashed the ECU and latest setup has 5 open airbox maps and 5 closed airbox maps. First 5 maps are open airbox. The switch can choose between the first map and any other map. The first map is for open air box! So the switch is useless for me at the moment. I emailed Richard about 3-4 weeks ago and he said he would get right on it and make a map set with any map I would want as first map. I sent him what I wanted,but have heard nothing since then. Going on a month. And then I will have to send the ECU back to California for the reflash. So yeah the bike runs better, but getting the perfect map setup is very frustrating. With TuneECU the bike did not run quite as strong, but started normally and got better gas mileage. For the week in Baja I put the stock ECU back in for the gas mileage. I asked Richard to add an economy map to the Vortex so I could switch between power and economy with the handlebar switch, but still waiting on that, and the bike is still tough to get started even with the latest maps. So I am getting close to just adding the stock ECU back. I don't want to totally trash the support because I am sure these guys are busy and it is prime riding season in Australia. Support has been overall OK both in Australia and California, but I still do not have the map setup I want and do not know when or if I will have that.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:03 AM   #7569
JustBob
Uh...who me?
 
JustBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Young Harris, GA
Oddometer: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor View Post
The Vortex makes my 690r run a lot stronger but support can be spotty and random.

BIG OLE SNIP

Support has been overall OK both in Australia and California, but I still do not have the map setup I want and do not know when or if I will have that.
Thanks for that summary. My new to me 690ER has the Vortex but I've only ridden it 1 mile. It started easily, and has good power although I need to tame the first third throttle some. (It has a G2 set at the middle setting.) The Vortex is currently set at 3-3-3-1. It was set at that at 600 feet elevation, but I live at 2200 feet. Not sure if that matters or not as the ECU should adjust to elevation changes....no?
__________________
Bob Hancock
'14 R1200GSW
'10 690 EnduroR
'11 WR250R
JustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:34 AM   #7570
Louisdut
Studly Adventurer
 
Louisdut's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Worcestershire UK
Oddometer: 633
Hi All

I'm having a poor running problem (has no stored fault codes) feels like fueling to me have swapped out fuel pump but no difference

Question for you all if the fuel injector is playing up is this something that will run poor or is it a non-runner with injector problems

Cheers

Louis
Louisdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:49 AM   #7571
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustBob View Post
Thanks for that summary. My new to me 690ER has the Vortex but I've only ridden it 1 mile. It started easily, and has good power although I need to tame the first third throttle some. (It has a G2 set at the middle setting.) The Vortex is currently set at 3-3-3-1. It was set at that at 600 feet elevation, but I live at 2200 feet. Not sure if that matters or not as the ECU should adjust to elevation changes....no?
You should see Lo Mid Hi and X10 Markings. X10 denotes the specific map. 5 on the Lo Mid Hi denotes standard fuel trim settings, 3 would be lean. Each trim position equals + or - 2.5 % changes. 3 is the lowest you should go. I would go to 5 on all the trim settings and work from there. You need not compensate for elevation changes.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 12:00 PM   #7572
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 789
[QUOTE=Velociraptor;20854166] VORTEX.....and the bike is still tough to get started even with the latest maps. QUOTE]

What is your idle speed? If my idle speed is below 1500RPM, mine is difficult to start. At 1550RPM its OK. I fitted a Trail Tech TTO to my 2011 to monitor this. I also swapped out the adjustment screw to an allen bolt to make external idle speed adjustment easier.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:06 AM   #7573
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by giuspepp View Post
Does the shock tool in the photo work on 690?(i'm refering to this one: http://www.ktm4u.co.uk/new-products/...load-wrench-11)
Sorry man, I have never used that one.

The KTM wrench I have works on the 690 but you have to flip it and do 1/2 tooth per turn. The KTM wrench actually does not fit very well on the WP preload nut. If you put the RR nut on your shot it both teeth fit perfect.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 111,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:25 AM   #7574
giuspepp
n00b
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Sorry man, I have never used that one.

The KTM wrench I have works on the 690 but you have to flip it and do 1/2 tooth per turn. The KTM wrench actually does not fit very well on the WP preload nut. If you put the RR nut on your shot it both teeth fit perfect.
ok,thanks
giuspepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:29 AM   #7575
JustBob
Uh...who me?
 
JustBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Young Harris, GA
Oddometer: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill the Bong View Post
You should see Lo Mid Hi and X10 Markings. X10 denotes the specific map. 5 on the Lo Mid Hi denotes standard fuel trim settings, 3 would be lean. Each trim position equals + or - 2.5 % changes. 3 is the lowest you should go. I would go to 5 on all the trim settings and work from there. You need not compensate for elevation changes.
Do you still use the stock Map-Select switch?
__________________
Bob Hancock
'14 R1200GSW
'10 690 EnduroR
'11 WR250R
JustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014