ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 04:09 PM   #7966
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
I took the jam nuts out and bottomed the stop bolts to go in as far as I could. Only thing that touches is my turn signal on the Safari tank.

Thanks to both you and Ramjet for the responses-will get that done tomorrow.
sdd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 11:16 PM   #7967
fluff34567
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightfighter View Post
Just buy the "other racks" Velcro/D rings and your in business...

thanks
fluff34567 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 02:16 AM   #7968
GezwindeSpoed
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GezwindeSpoed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The land of the Dutchmen
Oddometer: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth S View Post
All the clutch safety switch does is to prevent you from starting the bike in gear if the clutch is out. It shouldn't cause the bike to stop running and as long as the clutch lever is pulled in it will start in gear.

The side stand switch will keep the bike from starting and it is worth installing the eliminator.

Otherwise your friend might be having issues with the leads on the coil or is having fuel pump issues.
It also lets the ECU switch to a different fuel map.
__________________
FE570; CB500X; KLE500
GezwindeSpoed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:14 AM   #7969
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by GezwindeSpoed View Post
It also lets the ECU switch to a different fuel map.

Well yes it does that too...I think I might have written the book on that one

But from a no start condition it wont cause the bike not to start. If you suspect the switch to be bad...shift the bike to neutral and see if it starts.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:25 AM   #7970
sprouty115
Studly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth S View Post
Well yes it does that too...I think I might have written the book on that one

But from a no start condition it wont cause the bike not to start. If you suspect the switch to be bad...shift the bike to neutral and see if it starts.

Sorry, new owner here - but the clutch switch controls whether the ECU can switch to a new map? Is there a reason these are interconnected?
sprouty115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #7971
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
Sorry, new owner here - but the clutch switch controls whether the ECU can switch to a new map? Is there a reason these are interconnected?
The clutch switch does not switch to a different map but it does affect how the bike runs. The only way to switch to an entirely new map is to shut off the bike, change the setting under the seat, and restart the bike. The clutch switch does something to affect throttle movement or ignition..not sure what but I do know the bike likes to stall and run poorly if you splice the switch.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:52 AM   #7972
sprouty115
Studly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 967
Interesting. Thanks.
sprouty115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:21 AM   #7973
fluff34567
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 941
Is it possible to fit a 17T front sprocket instead of the standard 15T ? Got a loooong road run to do.

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:22 AM   #7974
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluff34567 View Post
Is it possible to fit a 17T front sprocket instead of the standard 15T ? Got a loooong road run to do.

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
It is, but with the stock chain, a 16T front won't even go on.

I'll toggle to and fro with the 15 and the 17 on this bike and just flip the axle sliders 180 degrees to deal with the chain slack just like I did on the 640A....but I'll have to get a new freakin' chain in order to do so.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 06:41 AM   #7975
MeinMotorrad
Studly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: In between Velez Rubio and Huercal Overa, Spain.
Oddometer: 835
Vibes.

Just did an oil and filter change and now I've got pretty nasty vibes through the foot pegs
Bike was smooth as silk before this - anybody had this? 3500miles on the clock but it feels like it's not even run in yet.
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:27 AM   #7976
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,598
Oil leak

So I've been chasing around an annoying little oil leak for the last month and finally found it. Damn thing is leaking around the gear position sensor. O-ring must be bad.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:44 AM   #7977
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
So I've been chasing around an annoying little oil leak for the last month and finally found it. Damn thing is leaking around the gear position sensor. O-ring must be bad.
I just had the same issue on my 950A. On the advice of another I used an o-ring from my Harbor Freight metric o-ring kit. Stretched out to the perfect size. Nice and snug good seal.

Edit- The one I used was 25mm x 3.0mm. Works perfect. The stock size is non-standard 27.5mm x 2.5mm and would have to be ordered in.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI

dad2bike screwed with this post 03-29-2013 at 07:55 AM
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:21 AM   #7978
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
I just had the same issue on my 950A. On the advice of another I used an o-ring from my Harbor Freight metric o-ring kit. Stretched out to the perfect size. Nice and snug good seal.

Edit- The one I used was 25mm x 3.0mm. Works perfect. The stock size is non-standard 27.5mm x 2.5mm and would have to be ordered in.
Oh cool, I've got one of those HF kits. Thanks, I'll give that a try.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:42 AM   #7979
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
It is, but with the stock chain, a 16T front won't even go on.

I'll toggle to and fro with the 15 and the 17 on this bike and just flip the axle sliders 180 degrees to deal with the chain slack just like I did on the 640A....but I'll have to get a new freakin' chain in order to do so.

Dirty
a 16T front sprocket fits just fine with a stock chain on my 2008E.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:22 AM   #7980
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 1,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth S View Post
a 16T front sprocket fits just fine with a stock chain on my 2008E.
Worked on my 2010 also.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 111,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014