ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 10:58 AM   #8851
bayarearider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 138
Toggle switches to mount on RR roadbook plate

I just upgraded to the rally kit from RR. My roadbook plate has four 1/2 " mounting holes for auxiliary toggle switches. The 1/2" mount is a common size for automotive toggle switches. But the problem with the switches I found so far is the base is too wide and I cannot fit all 4 at the same time. The 4 mounting holes on the plate are too close to each other I cannot fit more than 2 at the same time. Can anyone here with a rally kit from RR suggest some ideas ?
bayarearider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:02 AM   #8852
rickypanecatyl
SE Asia adventure tours
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Oddometer: 1,113
Whose the big guy in bronze standing on the rock?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Swap View Post

rickypanecatyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:30 AM   #8853
Maxacceleration
Awol
 
Maxacceleration's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Oddometer: 2,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor View Post
I switched. The Evo2 tanks are much narrower and easier to remove. Also the gas is carried lower so once you fill up all tanks you can turn on the taps on the Evo2 tanks.
Thank you Velociraptor. I will order a set up.
Maxacceleration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:31 AM   #8854
kiffernathan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kiffernathan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: S'toon, Canada
Oddometer: 125
Are you looking to sell your old ones? I might be interested for the right price...
__________________
Chris
2009 KTM 690 Enduro R
2007 Versys
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=260555
kiffernathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:35 AM   #8855
kiffernathan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kiffernathan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: S'toon, Canada
Oddometer: 125
I had a closer look, and seeing as mine is an '09 I'm not sure your tanks would fit anyway. Sorry.
__________________
Chris
2009 KTM 690 Enduro R
2007 Versys
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=260555
kiffernathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:54 AM   #8856
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,545
I have a set of the EVO 1 tanks on my 08 that I might sell that would work on your 09.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:10 PM   #8857
poondangle
Slow
 
poondangle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Suffolk, VA
Oddometer: 1,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
Interesting, thanks for posting your results. I put a 43 on this weekend and am running about 13lbs, nice to know it will last that long. I used a trials on my 530 last year in Baja and worked great but didn't last, though was a cheap shinko.
Question for the group, I've always been reluctant to drop pressures below 18 pounds or so since the bike didn't come with rim locks. I see a bunch of posts here where people are running these really low pressures. Are the people that are running these low pressures adding rim locks, or am I just misinformed and needlessly paranoid about running pressure that low.
poondangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:31 PM   #8858
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 4,063
I have always run rim locks on my wheels. We run about 25psi on pavement and then drop to about 15-18 when we get to dirt. I adjust to feel. I wouldn't feel comfortable running low pressures without rim locks.

I also use the stem nut as a jam nut for the cap NOT to lock the stem on the wheel. This way if the tires slips the stem just goes to the side. I don't waste the time putting it back straight. By the time it gets really really over to the side it's time for a new tire.
I'm unable to run rim locks on my 950 due to the huge rim size. No rim locks available. Pavement queen anyway.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:42 PM   #8859
SKINNY
Studly Adventurer
 
SKINNY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by poondangle View Post
Question for the group, I've always been reluctant to drop pressures below 18 pounds or so since the bike didn't come with rim locks. I see a bunch of posts here where people are running these really low pressures. Are the people that are running these low pressures adding rim locks, or am I just misinformed and needlessly paranoid about running pressure that low.
I've run 15 PSI in the rear & 18 in the front for years with no rim locks...
haven't pulled a valve stem out yet...
I've had tubes that glued themselves to the inside of the tire from doing long pavement rides with 15 PSI in 100 + deg. weather

SKINNY screwed with this post 05-23-2013 at 12:48 PM
SKINNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:14 PM   #8860
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
Interesting, thanks for posting your results. I put a 43 on this weekend and am running about 13lbs, nice to know it will last that long. I used a trials on my 530 last year in Baja and worked great but didn't last, though was a cheap shinko.
I'd take some air out of it ...

Took a leap of faith to run it at low pressure, but in my case the difference in wear was immediate and enormous ...

Not what we're used to doing, but I think it needs to be run at around 10psi - ie whole profile flat on the ground, without pressure on the central knobs which will otherwise flake and peel off ...
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:16 PM   #8861
goosecreek
a desk prop
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: caught between the cold and spring fever
Oddometer: 2,441
I just got a clean speed brake and needed the new bolt . I ordered the bolt and a windscreen from KTM World Highland Park in Georgia. That is the best service I have ever recieved from a KTM dealer. Just wanted to give them an at-a-boy.
Shipped it very quick and the price was more than fare.
goosecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:21 PM   #8862
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by poondangle View Post
Question for the group, I've always been reluctant to drop pressures below 18 pounds or so since the bike didn't come with rim locks. I see a bunch of posts here where people are running these really low pressures. Are the people that are running these low pressures adding rim locks, or am I just misinformed and needlessly paranoid about running pressure that low.
At least one other here has said differently, but I wouldn't run sub-15psi without a rim lock - I also run ultra-heavy-duty tubes front and back - low pressures increase risk of a pinch flat ...

Torpedo 7 make a nice light aluminium rim lock in 2.5".

Costs very little, and only downside is the additional need for good balancing - but you'd be doing this on a 69 anyway ...
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:01 PM   #8863
blakrj
Need to ride
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Cloggland via Borneo, TX, UK, Oz and S.Africa
Oddometer: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayarearider View Post
I just upgraded to the rally kit from RR. My roadbook plate has four 1/2 " mounting holes for auxiliary toggle switches. The 1/2" mount is a common size for automotive toggle switches. But the problem with the switches I found so far is the base is too wide and I cannot fit all 4 at the same time. The 4 mounting holes on the plate are too close to each other I cannot fit more than 2 at the same time. Can anyone here with a rally kit from RR suggest some ideas ?
Guess it depends on which plate you got. I fitted some TE (Tyco) switches and I've got all 4 installed. Was these if I remember correctly. Originally was trying to source some from APEM, but couldn't get my hands on any at the time.
__________________
2011 KTM 690 Enduro R, 2010 KTM 690 Enduro R (stolen)
2008 Yamaha YZ450, 2002 Yamaha YZ426
www.bruneibikers.com
www.airborneriders.com

blakrj screwed with this post 05-23-2013 at 03:08 PM
blakrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:21 PM   #8864
bayarearider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakrj View Post
Guess it depends on which plate you got. I fitted some TE (Tyco) switches and I've got all 4 installed. Was these if I remember correctly. Originally was trying to source some from APEM, but couldn't get my hands on any at the time.

Well mine is a RB730 roadbook plate with 2 ICOs. But all of their roadbook plates have mounting holes for toggle switches. Thanks for the suggestion though.
bayarearider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:01 PM   #8865
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
Anyone know what the triple clamp offset is on the stock 690e.
What are the R's offsets.

Who's tried aftermarket triples and what offsets have you tried.

While I like the great braking of the stock front system, it's a little much
in the dirt and I'm considering using the rotor and caliper from a 450sx.

This will reduce the unsprung weight by quite a bit.

Max
Max, look at this post. My 2008 690e top triple clamp has the numbers 22 24 (presumably mm). Also, this post may help.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015