ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 04:01 PM   #8881
blakrj
Need to ride
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Cloggland via Borneo, TX, UK, Oz and S.Africa
Oddometer: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayarearider View Post
I just upgraded to the rally kit from RR. My roadbook plate has four 1/2 " mounting holes for auxiliary toggle switches. The 1/2" mount is a common size for automotive toggle switches. But the problem with the switches I found so far is the base is too wide and I cannot fit all 4 at the same time. The 4 mounting holes on the plate are too close to each other I cannot fit more than 2 at the same time. Can anyone here with a rally kit from RR suggest some ideas ?
Guess it depends on which plate you got. I fitted some TE (Tyco) switches and I've got all 4 installed. Was these if I remember correctly. Originally was trying to source some from APEM, but couldn't get my hands on any at the time.
__________________
2011 KTM 690 Enduro R, 2010 KTM 690 Enduro R (stolen)
2008 Yamaha YZ450, 2002 Yamaha YZ426
www.bruneibikers.com
www.airborneriders.com

blakrj screwed with this post 05-23-2013 at 04:08 PM
blakrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:21 PM   #8882
bayarearider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakrj View Post
Guess it depends on which plate you got. I fitted some TE (Tyco) switches and I've got all 4 installed. Was these if I remember correctly. Originally was trying to source some from APEM, but couldn't get my hands on any at the time.

Well mine is a RB730 roadbook plate with 2 ICOs. But all of their roadbook plates have mounting holes for toggle switches. Thanks for the suggestion though.
bayarearider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:01 PM   #8883
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
Anyone know what the triple clamp offset is on the stock 690e.
What are the R's offsets.

Who's tried aftermarket triples and what offsets have you tried.

While I like the great braking of the stock front system, it's a little much
in the dirt and I'm considering using the rotor and caliper from a 450sx.

This will reduce the unsprung weight by quite a bit.

Max
Max, look at this post. My 2008 690e top triple clamp has the numbers 22 24 (presumably mm). Also, this post may help.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:04 PM   #8884
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmmitch View Post
It depends what year 690 they are,as the later ones(2012 0n) have different clamps.
If you need to reduce braking force,just file lots of slots in the pads for less contact area.
Correct, 2012 on do not have adjustable offset (I think; haven't seen one apart).
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:38 PM   #8885
SKINNY
Studly Adventurer
 
SKINNY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 642
I can confirm that there is nothing in the 2012 owners manual about changing the offset on the steering stem.

Haven't had mine apart yet...
SKINNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:02 PM   #8886
Maxacceleration
What now
 
Maxacceleration's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Oddometer: 2,038
Three to six months on Rally Raid Evo2 tanks and upper/lower bolts sets from KTMtwins.
Its a RR thing - small production outfit. I was recommended to order in the dead of winter to get RR stuff by riding season.
Merry Christmas
__________________
Horsepower is a distant second to useable torque, unless cafe cruising is the reason for the purchase...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireWolf
Sounds dangerous.
Maxacceleration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:21 PM   #8887
Oz-Strom
Still trying
 
Oz-Strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane Australia
Oddometer: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxacceleration View Post
Three to six months on Rally Raid Evo2 tanks and upper/lower bolts sets from KTMtwins.
Its a RR thing - small production outfit. I was recommended to order in the dead of winter to get RR stuff by riding season.
Merry Christmas
Can't you order direct from RR in UK?
__________________
Cheers
Graham
Oz-Strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:18 PM   #8888
Canadian_Bacon
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Oddometer: 180
Yikes! I was planning ordering a ton of stuff from them (evo 2 tanks, evo 2 fairing, exhaust, and a few other bits and bobs). Ugh... So looks like I won't have them for this season...

Is it any faster to order straight from the UK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxacceleration View Post
Three to six months on Rally Raid Evo2 tanks and upper/lower bolts sets from KTMtwins.
Its a RR thing - small production outfit. I was recommended to order in the dead of winter to get RR stuff by riding season.
Merry Christmas
__________________
2010 KTM 690 Enduro r (Current)
LOADED 2008 KLR (Sold)
2000 Ducati Monster 750 (Sold)
Canadian_Bacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:20 PM   #8889
Whec716
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Spring, Texas
Oddometer: 112
Order direct from Rally Raid. After shipping you'll save a ton. I saved 60$ on the upper and lower tank bolts and the sprocket protection thing' and they ship quicker then the posted times on KTM Twins site.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
If you know anyone looking to buy, sell or rent Real Estate in the Houston area. I'd appreciate the chance to earn your business. www.har.com/chriskrafcik

Whec716 screwed with this post 05-23-2013 at 11:00 PM
Whec716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:21 PM   #8890
Maxacceleration
What now
 
Maxacceleration's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Oddometer: 2,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz-Strom View Post
Can't you order direct from RR in UK?
I have an email out to them thanks.
__________________
Horsepower is a distant second to useable torque, unless cafe cruising is the reason for the purchase...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireWolf
Sounds dangerous.
Maxacceleration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:04 PM   #8891
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxacceleration View Post
I have an email out to them thanks.
On two separate occasions, I've just ordered directly through the RR website system and received my order in a very short time. Highly recommend it.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:07 PM   #8892
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
On two separate occasions, I've just ordered directly through the RR website system and received my order in a very short time. Highly recommend it.
+1 Fantastic service.
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:15 PM   #8893
Maxacceleration
What now
 
Maxacceleration's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Oddometer: 2,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
On two separate occasions, I've just ordered directly through the RR website system and received my order in a very short time. Highly recommend it.
I guess thats my route then.
I always thought KTMtwins was a good outfit.
Whats the deal with them and crazy long lead times with RR??? I went through this with my Evo1 tanks also.
I have my card # out already so I hope a fast one doesn't get pulled by ***twins.
__________________
Horsepower is a distant second to useable torque, unless cafe cruising is the reason for the purchase...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireWolf
Sounds dangerous.
Maxacceleration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:16 PM   #8894
Canadian_Bacon
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Oddometer: 180
Thx I will go this route as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
On two separate occasions, I've just ordered directly through the RR website system and received my order in a very short time. Highly recommend it.
__________________
2010 KTM 690 Enduro r (Current)
LOADED 2008 KLR (Sold)
2000 Ducati Monster 750 (Sold)
Canadian_Bacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:30 PM   #8895
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxacceleration View Post
I always thought KTMtwins was a good outfit.
KTM Twins accidentally sent me the wrong filter skins ...

I contacted them by phone, and the same day they sent the correct ones over to the other side of the world (i.e. to me) express post without charge ...

I have no complaints at all about that sort of service ...

Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014