ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 01:05 PM   #8956
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorich View Post


So I was trying to come up with a sarcastic response to the detail of your reply, but in the end I was afraid it would come off negative! Thank you for taking the time to write. I was pretty sure about buying it before, now I think I will go ahead and give it a try.

Thanks J.

Sarcasm is my first language, followed by English

I actually just cut/pasted most of that from a conversation I had with someone else inquiring about the sub mount a while back.
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars, no handlebars, no handlebars - Jamie Laurie
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:05 PM   #8957
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,699
Airbox Leaks

On my '08 I had dust getting into my airbox too. I used grease on the filter rim and still had the issue. I found that there was a very poorly done plastic weld on one of the seams of the airbox that had a hole in it.

I used some black rtv on all the seams of my airbox and haven't had the issue in years.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:08 PM   #8958
Mudguts
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 2,137
Uller there was a service note on some of the 08 air boxes to be replaced if found to be faulty . Your out of warranty but try any way
__________________
Birth of a Rally Bike - KTM525
Mudguts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:14 PM   #8959
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Seeking the knowledge.

I just got done riding the Pamir highway and i'm in Dushanbe now. About 50 times today I am riding and the bike starts to run like shit. It gets really loud, backfires a lot and shows the FI fault. I turn the bike off, turn it back on and it runs great for the next 5 hours or 3 seconds and everywhere in between. I had this problem 1 time in Croatia about 10,000 km ago and not again till yesterday evening.

9x long. "Throttle valve position not plausible"

Its looking like I need to run through the TPS adjustment? I am really hoping I don't need new parts.
Noah-

I don't have an easy answer and would need to look at some diagrams before I could answer better but, off the top of my head the cause could be one of the followning:

- faulty throttle position sensor (or throttle valve position sensor)
- incorrectly calibrated sensor(s)
- faulty R/R that is spiking causing intermittent failure (Did Luke install another OEM unit on this bike? Do you have a voltage meter you can look at when the fault occurs?)
- grounding issues (did you grid down/fix these when you switched bikes)
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:16 PM   #8960
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudguts View Post
Uller there was a service note on some of the 08 air boxes to be replaced if found to be faulty . Your out of warranty but try any way
Well, better late than never.....

Thanks for the info! With all the time I spend on here, I don't recall reading of that before.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:04 PM   #8961
v8toilet
Nothing to see here.
 
v8toilet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Northwest U.S.
Oddometer: 1,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
Well, better late than never.....

Thanks for the info! With all the time I spend on here, I don't recall reading of that before.
Mine is an 08 and the uni seems slightly larger than the opening in my box.
v8toilet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:16 PM   #8962
goosecreek
a desk prop
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: wrenching th bike
Oddometer: 2,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8toilet View Post
I'm getting some dust getting past the UNI foam filter installed in my 690 in the same way I suspect it leaks past the paper filter. I greased the sides heavily and will give it one more go.

If after my next ride I still find the fine dust on the sides of the box I'll be looking for a new solution. Is the Rally Raid the way to go to solve this?

I ran a little butyl tape (automotive window sealant that was used years ago) around the housing and that solved my dust issues.
goosecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:30 PM   #8963
Ranies
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
On my '08 I had dust getting into my airbox too. I used grease on the filter rim and still had the issue. I found that there was a very poorly done plastic weld on one of the seams of the airbox that had a hole in it.

I used some black rtv on all the seams of my airbox and haven't had the issue in years.
What kind of grease? Examples please?

Wont the bike suck the grease into the air box ?
Ranies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:48 PM   #8964
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranies View Post
What kind of grease? Examples please?

Wont the bike suck the grease into the air box ?
I use No Toil Filter Oil and Rim Grease. The Rim Grease is very thick stuff that is way too viscous to get pulled in by air pressure. The No Toil Cleaner will help clean it (the thick, rim grease) up nicely too.

http://notoil.com/products/rim-grease-2-item.html

Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:00 PM   #8965
Kirkster
Parts Murderer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Peoples Republic of MD
Oddometer: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkster View Post
Ok, Has anyone found the part number for a generic Fuel injector for the 690 as I wanted to have one of those for a spare.

It looks like I waited a bit too long to order a spare fuel pump as they are out of stock just about everywhere and my trip starts on 17 ~ 21 June...
I was able to source a fuel pump, Now anyone have a generic part number for the Fuel injector???
__________________
TAT 2013 the "I'm Just Sayin" tour
BMW 2007 R1200R
2012 KTM 690 R
07 WR 450F
Kirkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:16 PM   #8966
StepOnIt
Assitoner
 
StepOnIt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Huntsville ON.
Oddometer: 1,038
Wink lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkster View Post
I was able to source a fuel pump, Now anyone have a generic part number for the Fuel injector???
It seems like the fuel pump bug is catching lol. Me and a friend both have (we think) fuel pump issues. Mine does not even turn on and yes checked the fuse. Make a click noise but no pump noise. It was surging for a few days and I was hoping it was the fuel filter, changed that. Nope
__________________
The road less traveled is the road I travel more.

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." Dean Martin
StepOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:56 PM   #8967
modeselector
Common as muck
 
modeselector's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Washington USA
Oddometer: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8toilet View Post
Mine is an 08 and the uni seems slightly larger than the opening in my box.
Yes it's true-the Uni seems a tad on the long side, not sure why. Ordered another Uni a year later and same fit-strange.
modeselector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:24 PM   #8968
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
Noah-

I don't have an easy answer and would need to look at some diagrams before I could answer better but, off the top of my head the cause could be one of the followning:

- faulty throttle position sensor (or throttle valve position sensor)
- incorrectly calibrated sensor(s)
- faulty R/R that is spiking causing intermittent failure (Did Luke install another OEM unit on this bike? Do you have a voltage meter you can look at when the fault occurs?)
- grounding issues (did you grid down/fix these when you switched bikes)
This one has the OEM Reg/rec. I swapped it out on my 2010 but on this one, they put a stock unit back on when luke was having the troubles. I have a multimeter with me... I will hook it up and go for a ride. I have grounds straight from the Reg/rec to the battery and frame. I will check to make sure those are still good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
Well the throttle valve position not plausible, is a bit troubling.
Without the tuneEcu loaded on your computer and the cable it will
be hard to adjust the TPS.

I'd start by doing the initial throttle adjust.
Turn the bike on slowly rotate the throttle to full open and then back to closed, wait a few seconds and start the bike.

The fi codes not with standing, I'd fully check the fuel pump. which
once it starts to fail is very hard to diagnose. Is it an after market
pump or a OEM part ?

I've had the same symptoms on my 690 and after replacing the fuel pump
which helped, cleaning the injector really did the trick.

Soak in solvent, with the Orings off and you can use a bicyckle punp
to blow air from the down stream side out through the intake side,
cleaning the small screen.

Good luck. There is a good KTM shop in Almaty I've used, if your
heading that way.

Max
I have TuneECU and the cable. My fuel pump is stock. I also have spare fuel pump, filter and injector I can swap if I need to. Do you know the name of the KTM shop in Almaty? there are some other parts I need.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:03 AM   #8969
ericGSsti
Studly Adventurer
 
ericGSsti's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Oddometer: 591
Ref the KTM dealer. There a post on horizonsunlimited about it.

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hub...n-almaty-52614
__________________
2006 KTM 640 Adventure
2004 KTM 950 Adventure S.
ericGSsti is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:08 AM   #8970
ericGSsti
Studly Adventurer
 
ericGSsti's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Oddometer: 591
A link to their web site.

http://www.eurasiamotors.org/en/about/by_producer/ktm/
__________________
2006 KTM 640 Adventure
2004 KTM 950 Adventure S.
ericGSsti is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015