ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 10:40 AM   #9871
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
I re-measured the clearances and was able to get a .008 feeler in both exhausts. There is a bit of movement on the exhaust roller shaft but I couldn't push it out yet with finger pressure. Obviously near the catastrophic stage. The intakes are .005 and .004 so these are not as far gone. The bearings have just a hint of roughness when rolled. The cam surfaces seem ok.

Any one have both rockers sitting the bench. If so PM me. I will pay shipping and replace with my new rockers when they come in. Hope to be able to use the 690 in CO starting Aug 9.
I can send you the rockers. I sent you a PM this morning.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:23 AM   #9872
CoolHands
travelling
 
CoolHands's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Oddometer: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeinMotorrad View Post

A heads-up about the hose clips. I ordered my filters from Rally Raid. These are oem and come with a couple of 8.7 oetiker hose clips. They didn't fit my bike. The ones I took off were 10.9 so you need to source these before starting work on your bike. This issue maybe related to the model year though - I'm on a 2012 (2013 might be the same as mine?).

I feel like I've got a brand new bike. I'm off for a beer
are they this sort

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OETIKER-10...item4ab021f8c7



(which is the closest I can get in inches: 7/16")

or this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OETIKER-16...item4842935a3c



whcih is:
9.6 - 11.3 mm
CoolHands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:33 AM   #9873
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
Thanks. Odd, in their "STORE" nothing works, can't click on anything to buy in two different browsers, hmmm.

so maybe don't need it for the OEM pump but do need it for the CACW pump if I got one?

UPDATE: Missed this on the Profill website...

"Store closed
We are on our winter holiday for 3 weeks. "
It was closed yesterday but, appears to be open today.

I don't know about the 2012+. Maybe someone with a newer bike can post a pic of the new prefilter assembly.....

Looking at the 2012 microfiche though and it still appears to be a mesh basket. Maybe the hole in the pump is fixed but the prefilters ability to take out finer material is still suspect IMO.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:18 PM   #9874
Michelangelo
2 wheel rider...anytime..
 
Michelangelo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Rocky Mountain West
Oddometer: 1,736
Does anyone make longer throttle cables for the 690? We are working on a project 690 that will use higher flexer bars and risers and I am worried about length of stock cables.
__________________
Dirt and offroad motorcycle tours...
ALL MOTO ADVENTURE,LLC.
www.AllMotoAdventure.com
Michelangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:41 PM   #9875
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 4,128
I think Motion Pro will do custom lengths.
__________________
Tom-2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC
My2Wheels
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:46 PM   #9876
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: UK for now.
Oddometer: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolHands View Post
are they this sort

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OETIKER-10...item4ab021f8c7



(which is the closest I can get in inches: 7/16")

or this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OETIKER-16...item4842935a3c



whcih is:
9.6 - 11.3 mm
It's this sort thats fitted on the bike as it comes but other types would probably do . 7/16" would be just right -



When I realised the ones that came with the filter weren't going to fit I walked around to the local garages (Fiat, Rover, Mercedes, Nissan/Renault and Volkswagen) non of them had ever seen these things before! I ended up using a clip from the Mercedes dealership which was as close to the right size as I could get. Came with a Mercedes price tag too
MeinMotorrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:51 PM   #9877
Okieboy2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Oddometer: 35
[Does anyone make longer throttle cables for the 690? We are working on a project 690 that will use higher flexer bars and risers and I am worried about length of stock cables.]

I got one from Venhill USA. www.venhillusa.com
__________________
12 500 XC-W
10 690 Enduro R
07 525 EXC
Okieboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:02 PM   #9878
Michelangelo
2 wheel rider...anytime..
 
Michelangelo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Rocky Mountain West
Oddometer: 1,736
Need +3" longer throttle cables. KTM Twins has 4" longer that is on back order.

I've seen this one for the Rally Replica (08-09) but am not sure if it'll fit a FI 08 690E/R? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Motion-Pro-T...9b9c8d&vxp=mtr

I called Motion Pro and the guy who was checking parts didn't think it was the same cable. I don't know much about the RR but am thinking they must've been carbed and that's why they won't work?
__________________
Dirt and offroad motorcycle tours...
ALL MOTO ADVENTURE,LLC.
www.AllMotoAdventure.com
Michelangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:03 PM   #9879
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolHands View Post
it allows me to click on buy now on the paypal button and goes through to paypal to allow me to purchase. So it appears to work. I agree it is a crap website though!!
Yes, they emailed me that they are open again. Thanks.
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:11 PM   #9880
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
It was closed yesterday but, appears to be open today.

I don't know about the 2012+. Maybe someone with a newer bike can post a pic of the new prefilter assembly.....

Looking at the 2012 microfiche though and it still appears to be a mesh basket. Maybe the hole in the pump is fixed but the prefilters ability to take out finer material is still suspect IMO.
I have the same pump setup on my '11 Berg FE390 and the screen looks small enough to keep out anything that would bother the pump. The smaller stuff is trapped by the multiple fuel filters downstream (main in-tank filter & injector pre-screen on the Berg) not sure exactly what the fuel filters are on the 690 yet.

Scott at Profill did say they stopped making pump pre-filters for the 690's, and only have the ones for the Husaberg FE's, so maybe they aren't exactly the same but I know they can both use the same CA Cycleworks replacement pump.
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:11 PM   #9881
Michelangelo
2 wheel rider...anytime..
 
Michelangelo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Rocky Mountain West
Oddometer: 1,736
Oops, got a duplicate post going. Anyway, I called KTM twins and they sell various lengths.
Motion Pro KTM 690 Factory Throttle Cables
http://www.ktmtwins.com/motion-pro-k...hrottle-cables


Hey Okieboy2: I can't find anything for KTM on that link.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michelangelo View Post
Need +3" longer throttle cables. KTM Twins has 4" longer that is on back order.

I've seen this one for the Rally Replica (08-09) but am not sure if it'll fit a FI 08 690E/R? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Motion-Pro-T...9b9c8d&vxp=mtr

I called Motion Pro and the guy who was checking parts didn't think it was the same cable. I don't know much about the RR but am thinking they must've been carbed and that's why they won't work?
__________________
Dirt and offroad motorcycle tours...
ALL MOTO ADVENTURE,LLC.
www.AllMotoAdventure.com
Michelangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:14 PM   #9882
AccelRus MaxiMus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michelangelo View Post
Does anyone make longer throttle cables for the 690?
Not sure which year you have - but for the 12 & 13
Motion Pro will make up a custom set - about 10-11
working days from time of order

Just talked to them the other day. About $70 for the
standard black housing - P/N: 10-0147 - in the length
(longer than stock) that you specify

Call them at (650) 594-9600 to get the custom stuff rolling


AccelRus MaxiMus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:36 PM   #9883
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
I have the same pump setup on my '11 Berg FE390 and the screen looks small enough to keep out anything that would bother the pump. The smaller stuff is trapped by the multiple fuel filters downstream (main in-tank filter & injector pre-screen on the Berg) not sure exactly what the fuel filters are on the 690 yet.

Scott at Profill did say they stopped making pump pre-filters for the 690's, and only have the ones for the Husaberg FE's, so maybe they aren't exactly the same but I know they can both use the same CA Cycleworks replacement pump.
Part of what I have done is because of the past unreliability of the fuel pump itself, and now, to prolong the life of the CA Cycleworks pump that is in there now.

There were a lot of failures with the early 690 fuel pumps (not any CA Cycleworks pumps from what I recall though) and the prefilter in the tank opening plus the prefilter at the pump are to help extend the life of the pump mainly. Every time I have gone back into my fuel system, the prefilter is rather dirty and it is stuff I don't think the screen would have caught.

Also, back in the day (~2009 maybe) Bobzilla reported that his screen basket had fallen off inside the fuel pump cup and he was running without a prefilter entirely. The Profill Prefilter is a much better fit. Then the lid to the fuel pump cup came off too and his fuel pump was shaking around. That is why I wire tie my lid on now.

The stock system is the mesh screen and in-tank main filter only. Looking at the microfiche there doesn't appear to be the small injector filter on the newer bikes. I do believe the filter comes with a new injector though if you purchase a replacement. There were reports that the small 10 micron injector filter was limiting the fuel flow too much and starving the injector on the 690 so, I think if you use this you need the newer 20 micron version.

I have decided not to use it though as I feel that the two prefilters (cleanable) and my external 10 micron $4 NAPA filter are working pretty good.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:04 PM   #9884
fluff34567
Beastly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harty View Post
Been out on the 690 today and it usually starts on the button, but it started taking a few turns to fire up, rode home and got on driveway, stalled the bloody thing, now it just won't fire up! (Yes I have a full tank of fuel), so start with new spark plug??? Bike has been in the shade for 30 mins, it started straight up!

HARTY, Try a new plug cap - i had the same fault
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:28 PM   #9885
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: UK for now.
Oddometer: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
Looking at the microfiche there doesn't appear to be the small injector filter on the newer bikes. I do believe the filter comes with a new injector though if you purchase a replacement. There were reports that the small 10 micron injector filter was limiting the fuel flow too much and starving the injector on the 690 so, I think if you use this you need the newer 20 micron version.

I have decided not to use it though as I feel that the two prefilters (cleanable) and my external 10 micron $4 NAPA filter are working pretty good.
When I got my new injector it came with a filter (the one I took out didn't). I have read somewhere that the filters that come with replacement injectors are 20 micron - you can distinguish them from the 10 micron by colour: 20 = grey, 10 = white. I'll try to find out where I read this, I can't swear it's true either.

I didn't install it as I didn't know where to put it. I phoned Rally Raid and they said they don't use them as it restricts the engine.
MeinMotorrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015