ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 01:22 PM   #16
jetcity
jetcity
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: portland, or
Oddometer: 10
2008 KTM 690E - complete shutdown

Accelerating through a left turn in town, bike completely shuts down.... no power at all.; did not accidentally hit kill switch; battery wiring did not look disconnected. would not respond at all to turning of the key
I waited for about 10 minutes --> fired up with a "FI - bat" error (I believe it said) with tachometer showing redline and clock reset. Made it home (1/2 mile) and parked it.
Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for the input.
jetcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:34 PM   #17
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 239
Interesting, looks like a confused ECU, possibly regulator/rectifier related due to over voltage on the system. Or your battery completely disconected and reconnected without you knowing.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 02:45 PM   #18
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,004
Battery failure? Rectifier problem? Short somewhere in the wiring?
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 09:50 AM   #19
RB450
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RB450's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Kintnersville, PA
Oddometer: 281
I bought an 09 a few months ago. When I'm riding snottier and tighter trails, I tend to clutch a lot. Several times, I have lost my clutch completely, look in reservoir, no fluid. Where does it go? Is this the bad clutch slave issue, and will replacing the clutch slave solve my problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RB450 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:40 PM   #20
live2ridetahoe
RN
 
live2ridetahoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Oddometer: 1,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RB450 View Post
I bought an 09 a few months ago. When I'm riding snottier and tighter trails, I tend to clutch a lot. Several times, I have lost my clutch completely, look in reservoir, no fluid. Where does it go? Is this the bad clutch slave issue, and will replacing the clutch slave solve my problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You could always try this...
live2ridetahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:22 AM   #21
RB450
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RB450's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Kintnersville, PA
Oddometer: 281
Thanks. Everything points to the slave cylinder. I guess it's Time for a sigutech and another oil change.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RB450 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014