User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-30-2011, 09:24 PM   #1
hpa_missouri OP
Old Adventurer

Oddometer: 61
Technical Fuel Filter Question

It appears to me that physical "fuel filters" are no longer part of newer bikes. I see them on older bikes (my 2001 GS for instance) but not on the newest GS and GSA. I am not a mechanic nor do I work at a bike dealer but I can't find a fuel filter in the newer bikes drawings.

I had to change a fuel filter on my GS in 2009 after using it for less than 12,000 miles. It was so bad that the bike was on the verge of going dead.

Can someone "technical" verify that fuel filters are no longer being used on all bikes as they were in past years and if that is truly the case, explain why they are no longer needed.

I see the sock "strainers" are still in place but the actual fuel filter is no longer there and I see no maintenance requirement for replacing a fuel filter. Is there some new gizmo that negates the need for a fuel filter? Or is the fuel supposed to be so good now that a filter is no longer needed?

If I'm way off base, flame away.

We're all adventure wannabes to one degree or another.
hpa_missouri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 09:57 PM   #2
Nightrunner
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,035
Well the classic in-line filters that are transparent are also just a screen so no better than the sock inside the tank. Some of the in-line filters are housed in metal so can't say what's in there.

Some places remain unknown because no one has ever ventured forth. Others remain so because no one has ever come back.
Nightrunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 10:07 PM   #3
chadams
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 209
On the f800gs BMW hides the fuel filter in the tank and does not sell them separately. Instead you need to buy the whole fuel pump assembly, for me I just by passed the in tank filter and ran an external car efi filter, it works great.