ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2014, 09:38 AM   #1
calfroper OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2014
Oddometer: 22
GSW speedometer hard to read, does Nav V Display speed ?

I have a difficult time glancing down to check my speed because the size of numbers and contrasting colors are not well designed for quick glance IMO. Too many municipalities around DFW that nail you for 5 mph over.

My '14 has GPS Prep so I'm curious if the NAV V will display speed ? That may tip the scales to purchase one.
calfroper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:47 AM   #2
viper005
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 2
Yes the Nav 5 displays speed in the lower right hand corner. I glance at that way more often than the speedo. It also has the speed limit for some roads and indicates if you are over the speed limit.
viper005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:47 AM   #3
IndyTiger800
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Morgantown Indiana
Oddometer: 155
Yes it also gives you the speed limit for the road that you are on.
I don't look at my speedometer.
IndyTiger800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:22 AM   #4
abrasive
Gnarly Adventurer
 
abrasive's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: UT
Oddometer: 160
Like the others, I have become reliant on the speed/speed limit display on the Nav V. When I run the bike"naked" with no GPS I am usually lost for a bit, speed-wise. But at least I cam see the whole tach.
__________________
IBA 38832
abrasive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 12:21 PM   #5
cfmorrell
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Southwest Virginia
Oddometer: 56
I agree with the OP completely, the speedo is very hard to see at a quick glance. I will likely never run sans GPS, mainly for this reason. One of the things that I like best about the Nav V is the ability to customize the non-map display. You can set it to show 1, 2, 4, or 16 fields on the screen (and easily change them with the magic wheel thing). I usually have it on 4 fields with speed, range to empty, ambient temperature, and trip meter. I don't look much at the top display on the instrument panel, but keep engine temperature on the bottom one. That gives me all of the info that I care about most of the time.

I sometimes wish that I could see the tach a little better, but then I stop worrying about it and just enjoy the ride.
__________________
2015 R1200GSA
2009 KLR650 (Gone to a new home)
cfmorrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 01:33 PM   #6
hammick
Beastly Adventurer
 
hammick's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Oddometer: 1,429
NAV V displays speed and speed limit on the main screen. I don't use the speedometer. It can also display speed in the trip computer screen, the compass screen and the "my motorcyle" screen. It's pricey though. I was luck to get mine at cost ($500) when purchasing the bike.

You can use apps on your Iphone or Android phone to display speed. I like Speedbox.
__________________
2015 R1200 GSA
2014 S1000R
2013 KTM 500 XC-W
hammick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 04:14 PM   #7
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
NAV V displays speed and speed limit on the main screen. I don't use the speedometer. It can also display speed in the trip computer screen, the compass screen and the "my motorcyle" screen. It's pricey though. I was luck to get mine at cost ($500) when purchasing the bike.

You can use apps on your Iphone or Android phone to display speed. I like Speedbox.
I used to have my computer pro setup to display MPH on the info screen. Than after I added the NAV V I ended up watching the speed on it.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:15 PM   #8
hammick
Beastly Adventurer
 
hammick's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Oddometer: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
I used to have my computer pro setup to display MPH on the info screen. Than after I added the NAV V I ended up watching the speed on it.
I forgot about the digital speed display on the dash assuming you have pro option. It's 2mph fast like the analog though. I prefer GPS speed which is accurate.
__________________
2015 R1200 GSA
2014 S1000R
2013 KTM 500 XC-W
hammick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:32 AM   #9
dixonk
infernum canem
 
dixonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Oddometer: 481
GSW speedometer hard to read, does Nav V Display speed ?

How do you set it to show speed on the info screen?
dixonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:12 AM   #10
hammick
Beastly Adventurer
 
hammick's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Oddometer: 1,429
Using the pro display setup as laid out in the Manual. Display pro is an option. The base model doesn't have it.
__________________
2015 R1200 GSA
2014 S1000R
2013 KTM 500 XC-W
hammick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:27 AM   #11
Otherworld
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Otherworld's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: An election & no mention of crack cause 4 optimism
Oddometer: 457
I find the bike speedometer displays ~8kph over actual.
Otherworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:35 AM   #12
hunter306
"User"
 
hunter306's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: South Lyon, MI
Oddometer: 17
Absolutely agree with the above. The analog speedo is poorly designed on the GSW. I have mine setup to show speed in the top of the two optional informational displays (pro computer or whatever), but the GPS is better all around.

It's at eye level too, which is a plus!
__________________
2013 BMW R1200 GSW 'Premium Plus' in Thunder Grey
hunter306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:51 AM   #13
calfroper OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2014
Oddometer: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammick View Post
Using the pro display setup as laid out in the Manual. Display pro is an option. The base model doesn't have it.
I have pro display and did not know this thanks, found it on page 52 , now I'm off to find a 10 year old to walk me through the complex set up.

calfroper screwed with this post 10-20-2014 at 06:57 AM
calfroper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:58 AM   #14
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otherworld View Post
I find the bike speedometer displays ~8kph over actual.
All 4 BMW's I have owned are the same "read high". the 6 VW's I have owned also all read about 5mph high.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 07:00 PM   #15
sarhog
Ride far...
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Florida Panhandle
Oddometer: 406
Not sure how the NAV 5 displays it, but on the NAV 4, your speed is in the lower right corner, in red.
__________________
2014 BMW R1200GS
sarhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014