ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 08:22 PM   #646
smithdt
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Gladstone, QLD, Australia
Oddometer: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryscustomcycles View Post
For any Australians wondering if you can just but a Nav V from Bill and load up local maps yes you can. Bill sent me mine and I got an ebay mapset being city Nav & the topographical maps all loaded on one micro SD. They cost $23.
Plugged them in & turned off the US maps and it all works like it should...at less than half what our local dealers charge.
Thanks...good to know.

Have you been able to get a quote from a local dealer?
My guy is not able to quote me yet :(
smithdt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:20 AM   #647
chosek
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Oddometer: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryscustomcycles View Post
For any Australians wondering if you can just but a Nav V from Bill and load up local maps yes you can. Bill sent me mine and I got an ebay mapset being city Nav & the topographical maps all loaded on one micro SD. They cost $23.
Plugged them in & turned off the US maps and it all works like it should...at less than half what our local dealers charge.
I have done exactly that, although I never got a final response from Bill, so i bought elsewhere and purchased the maps on ebay for $20 and all works perfectly.
chosek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 05:42 AM   #648
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryscustomcycles View Post
For any Australians wondering if you can just but a Nav V from Bill and load up local maps yes you can. Bill sent me mine and I got an ebay mapset being city Nav & the topographical maps all loaded on one micro SD. They cost $23.
Plugged them in & turned off the US maps and it all works like it should...at less than half what our local dealers charge.

I don't think that there was much doubt this would work. except for another poster a few pages back claiming it wouldn't for some cockeyed reason.
But it is good (for the riders down under) to know beyond a doubt that their expensive purchase will work for them when it arrives.
__________________
2013 R1200GSW

Breakfast first, lunch second and safety third.
I'm a staunch believer in MTGMTT, don't take unnecessary chances too often.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 08:24 PM   #649
Surfer
Barley Adventurer
 
Surfer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Oddometer: 993
Okay, my new 1200GS showed up, and I sprung for the Nav V.

What mount do I need to use this thing in my truck?

Thanks
Surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 08:34 PM   #650
Surfer
Barley Adventurer
 
Surfer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Oddometer: 993
Oh, and has anyone found a quick way to raise it up and inch or so? It does cover the top of the tach.
Surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 08:42 PM   #651
rusty1945
Adventurer
 
rusty1945's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Oddometer: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfer View Post
Oh, and has anyone found a quick way to raise it up and inch or so? It does cover the top of the tach.
By loosening the for bolts that hold the mount to the bar, you can rotate the mount up to bring more of the tach into view.

Rusty
2014 GSW
2006 R1200RT (gone)
__________________
Rusty
2014 R1200GSW (Red)
2006 R1200RT (gone )
rusty1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:13 AM   #652
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 395
I just order the nav from CROSS COUNTRY BMW . Am hoping it turns up in the next week or so. Ordered the maps so should have everything right to go. Still have my 660 which can go to my wife's car. Really hope it pairs well with the SMH10.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:06 AM   #653
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty1945 View Post
By loosening the for bolts that hold the mount to the bar, you can rotate the mount up to bring more of the tach into view.

Rusty
2014 GSW
2006 R1200RT (gone)
You can slide it to the left which also helps.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:54 AM   #654
mefly2
Beastly Adventurer
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Big Sky Country
Oddometer: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfer View Post
Okay, my new 1200GS showed up, and I sprung for the Nav V.

What mount do I need to use this thing in my truck?

Thanks
I bought the Nav IV mount (dealer said Nav V mount not yet available separately) and will attach it to a cell-phone suction mount to the windshield in our car. GREAT GPS ... much better than GM put in our Vette. I wonder if - when it sends us to the BMW M/C dealers - they will work on a Chevy ? LOL
__________________
----------------> jer-
30+ years with RTs...then to F/GS; now *Finally*
the BMW: R1200GSW, factory low seat & lower crash bars;
Touratech: Upper Crash Bars, big foot, pannier rack, ZegaPro panniers;
Fuzeblock, Rigid Dually D2 + yellow covers; Wunderlich bar risers w/ Q-adjust
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:42 AM   #655
paulhdick
Wannabe Adventurer
 
paulhdick's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 323
Not sure it will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by mefly2 View Post
I bought the Nav IV mount (dealer said Nav V mount not yet available separately) and will attach it to a cell-phone suction mount to the windshield in our car. GREAT GPS ... much better than GM put in our Vette. I wonder if - when it sends us to the BMW M/C dealers - they will work on a Chevy ? LOL
The Nav 5 does not have a speaker built into it, so for car/truck use the Nav 5 vehicle mount includes a speaker. The Nav 4 vehicle mount does not have a speaker, so, although it will hold and power up the Nav 5, you wont get voice prompts (or phone calls) unless you use a bluetooth headset. AFAIK IKFS ... just tested it on mine ... I have the Nav IV vehicle mount and a Nav V ... no sound (i.e. no voice prompts) and the phone won't work (although it connects) unless the Nav V is paired with a Bluetooth headset ....
__________________
Paul

09 R1200GS

Been riding pretty much all my life. Raced SoCal desert in the 60's early 70's.

paulhdick screwed with this post 11-09-2013 at 12:51 PM Reason: tested on mine
paulhdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:59 PM   #656
MarcParnes
Tinkerer
 
MarcParnes's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails View Post
I just order the nav from CROSS COUNTRY BMW . Am hoping it turns up in the next week or so. Ordered the maps so should have everything right to go. Still have my 660 which can go to my wife's car. Really hope it pairs well with the SMH10.
It will work fine with the Sena as long as you use firmware 4.2.1 and NOT 4.3. 4.3 will not work with the phone from my experience with my Android.

Marc
__________________
Marc Parnes
'14 R1200GS
'13 Victory Vision
BMW Wheel Balancer and Tools
A life of bikes
MarcParnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 09:52 PM   #657
Bails
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bails's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Wollongong Australia
Oddometer: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcParnes View Post
It will work fine with the Sena as long as you use firmware 4.2.1 and NOT 4.3. 4.3 will not work with the phone from my experience with my Android.

Marc
Thanks MArc I don't use the phone only nav and music player. I don't want to be more distracted and for me riding is my meditation so to speak.
__________________
If it has to Be then it's up to Me!
Bikes Multi Strada 1200 BMW GSA
Bails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 08:35 AM   #658
Glock owner
Bad Example
 
Glock owner's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timber2wolf View Post
If it is based on the 665, why not get the real deal? Also, why pay more for the BMW name? In my experience, if something is based on another item it is usually not as good. What is it about the previous BMW Navigators that made them so good?

Just my .02
Had the same decision to make with the Nav4 vs Zumo660. It was a new bike purchase, so if the GPS is on the BOS atuomatic 3 year warranty. That makes up the price difference. Plus the Nav interacts with the bike's thumb wheel. Screen zoom +/-, change screens, fuel warning etc.
Glock owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:00 AM   #659
jayrock
Adventurer
 
jayrock's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 46
I planned on keeping my completely refurbished zumo 550 with TT locking mount. I've been completely satisfied with it, but wife twisted my arm into getting the nav v to go with the already prepped r1200gs 2014. Wow love it. No waiting on it either, they had two or three in stock.
I haven't paired to it yet. I pair Sena strait to my iPhone.
jayrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:40 PM   #660
atg
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Oddometer: 183
Volume control

I am very happy with my "V". I find it to be a great improvement over the "IV" and the 660.

I listen to music through its MP3 player and have my headphones connected through a JABRA bluetooth receiver.

The GSW wheel works great but it does not control teh output level !

To control the voluem through the "V", one has to go through 9 steps:

1 Go into the player's screen, (from the MAP screen through a shortcut or from other screens scroll the BMW “wheel” into the player’s screen)

2 Touch the speaker symbol

3 On the new page, touch the tools symbol

4 On the new page, touch the audio mixer

5 On the new page, move the midia slider to adjust the volume

6 press return to the previous screen ( Audio settings )

7 press return again to the previous screen ( where the tools symbol is )

8 press return again to the previous screen ( media player )

9 press return again to the previous screen ( applications or MAP)


I have written GARMIN about this "forgotten" feature requesting a software update, but their answer has been vague... I guess I fell into the "wrong" guy !

I suppose everyone woud really like to have the volume control available at just turning the GSW wheel and I thougt that if many of us write GARMIN complaining about this they will get their sh**t together and implement it making it available to us through a simple, downlodable software update.

So please, let's get together on this and write them a message to the address:

'Product.Support@garmin.com'

Thanks,

Andre
atg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014