User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-26-2005, 06:35 PM   #1
markjenn OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 10,355
LC4 Roller Bearing Upgrade: How To

Having just completed the main shaft bearing upgrade on my 2000 640 Adv R, I thought I'd summarize my experiences and give an overview of the job in hopes of helping out others who might be considering the mod. All the usual disclaimers (use at your own risk, I'm just one guy who did the job on one bike, I'm not a professional mechanic, you paid nothing for this, etc.) apply.

In writing this, I'm drawing on my experiences, but also the experiences of tens of others who have been down this road before me and have been generous enough to document their experiences both on this forum and others, particularly KTMTalk.com. So this is in most ways a summary of what I've learned from others. If you want more details, be sure to read the following threads:

http://ktmtalk.com/index.php?showtopic=44168
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71577
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69145

Overview of the Upgrade

The problematic bearing is on the left side of pre-2003 LC4 KTMs, underneath the clutch case cover. It lies directly under the clutch so it is at the center of the large circular housing on the left side of the engine. The bearing supports the left side of the transmission main shaft onto which the clutch basket is splined. (There is another parallel shaft in the transmission called the counter shaft that emerges on the opposite/right side of the bike onto which the countershaft sprocket is bolted. As you'd expect, different-sized gears engaged in various combinations between the two shafts provide for the five different gear ratios in the transmission.)