User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-30-2011, 08:01 AM   #1
Damiano OP
damianomigani

Oddometer: 87
Alaska solo ride early spring - ride report

I have been fantasizing about this trip for almost 2 years.. main issue was to find the time to do it, and when in November they told us at work they would send us home for a site closure, suddenly it was clear, and I started planning for real.
The best time for me to go would have been end April, even though I knew Alaska was going to be cold and very few people had done it that time of the year and I didn’t have many references on weather. The alternative would have been riding all the South US through Texas Louisiana Florida to end up reaching Yucatan and up through Mexico.. The Idea to go to such a desolated place tickled my mind much more and I knew I hardly would have been able to do it in the future.
To turn this idea into reality it took me about four months. I had to study maps, select worthy touristic attractions, organize overnight stays and most importantly, understand if my body was up to take 12 hours of riding everyday for a straight up month.
I read a lot on how to behave in the wilderness, especially night camping, on what do do in case of a close encounter with* bears or wolves, how to make sure wild animals know where you are, but at the same time how to blend with nature.*
The truth is that in trips of this length unfortunately (or fortunately) it's impossible to plan every detail, and the adventure factor will have to be part of the equation. Overall I rode 7800 miles or 12500km in 27 days (21 of solo riding). To give you an idea of the magnitude, London to New Delhi is 'only' 6000 miles (9800km)

Below are my unedited notes from the trip, along with maps and photos.* I wrote every single night before going to sleep after many hours of riding, so forgive the few errors.. It was a great way to keep the memory of this experience alive.*