User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-02-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Road Trip OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 18
Three rookies ride the CDR

Well, i put this report together upon our return last summer after a great ride down the CDR. As you'll see it was written for the average folk ..friends, family etc. Not so much directed towards the hard core adventure rider. Probably more appropriate for me anyway , hell .. I wasn't sure if i should even post. Truth be told, I'm a bit intimidated about the whole thing, as i am a total newby , .... at adventure riding and writing reports. But what the hell, here goes.

I hope i can do this trip justice, it was one hell of a good time!

My older brother Don (Big-D) and I have always enjoyed spending at least a couple weeks a year together on some sort of adventure trip. Unfortunately Big-D lives in Vegas while I call home Everett WA. I guess this separation has been the catalyst for our trips together .... and that's a good thing. So, the question was "Where to this year"?

I knew I couldn't talk him into another attempt on McKinley. Maybe another great backpacking trip in the high Sierras. Or..... how about we do an "adventure ride"! Take some awesome dual sport motorcycles, gear em up for back country travel and explore the world, ... you know, like Ewan and Charlie. I knew he wanted a bike. My buddy Gary (G-man) and I had picked up a couple recently and I was constantly taunting him on how awesome the damn things were ..."dude, you gotta get one"!

"Sometimes you just have to say WTF! .... just go buy the damn thing, what do you have to lose? Worse case scenario ...you sell it". Then it happened...my brother finally pulled the trigger on a new F800GS he'd been eyeballing. This being BMW's latest and greatest addition to their famous line-up of adventure motorcycles ..bikes designed for a combination of paved road (or slab) and off road ..dirt riding!

And so it began.