ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-11-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
VEGASGSA OP
Need more Summer

Oddometer: 6,652
So, where to live?

Hey folks..my wife is looking at a transfer to the PNW..She would have stores along the 5 from Eugene, OR. to Everett Washington..

We could live where we want..mostly..Her new boss is suggesting Tacoma..I think tax wise we're better off in Oregon.. (car insurance, Property tax, registrations..etc..)

I'll have to find new employment..my background is in Construction..Welding, Welding business owner..and most recently a Construction Manager for a 5 state company..

Being close to riding..both for the GSA and the 2 stroke is IMPORTANT as is an airport for her..

Before Vegas we were in a county of 10,000 in Colorado and prefer small town life..

SUN..let's not forget SUN..the more the better..yes I know, it's gonna be wet..

What say you, you wet FF's?

Thanks and CHEERS!!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 10:55 AM   #2
bbagwell
Adventurer

Oddometer: 93
Since an airport is important I would suggest somewhere near Portland. Lots of places to ride that aren't that far as well.
bbagwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 10:59 AM   #3
what broke now
Petroleum Brother

Oddometer: 1,168
Try to estimate the total tax package, Oregon has state income tax, Wa. doesn't. Washington does have a 9.4~ % sales tax on most stuff. [ If you have a house remodelled, you would pay ~9.4 on the entire contract amount, eg. Oregon has no sales tax.

Most of the things you are used to in Vegas are going to be harder or more expensive to find in Puget sound area.

Check some of the other "where to live" threads here, some of your questions are likely answered.

Good luck.
what broke now is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:01 AM   #4
flying_hun
Moral Hazard