ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2015, 09:47 PM   #1
Shov3BR OP
Tinkerer
 
Shov3BR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Oddometer: 296
X~PWR External Power Case for Hero 3 & Hero 4 Cameras

X~PWR is here at last!
Al-weather external power case for Hero 3 & Hero 4 cameras let you record as long as you have memory space.
We have recorded over 11 hours on a 128Gb SanDisk Ultra at 1080P/60FPS.
Our patented B-CAPP cable mates with a tower on the case to provide all-weather (NOT waterproof) capability.
Plug into an external battery pack or an all-weather USB power port on your bike - we would like you to use our TAPP or TAPP Lite of course

The first kit to ship (PN 160-0030-18) comes with the X~PWR case and an 18" B-CAPPed Cable $59.95.

at www.3brpowersports.com









Connect to an external battery pack and tuck it into a pocket for a self-contained setup.



Or choose one of our longer B-CAPP Cables and connect to the bike's USB power (TAPP All-weather USB power port shown)



Or mount on the bike and connect direct

__________________
WWW.3BRPOWERSPORTS.COM Putting the POWER in powersports

'11 KTM 990 ADV Dakar, '08 KTM 690 Enduro, '09 H-D Road King, '82 H-D FXRS (Shovelhead)
Shov3BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:44 PM   #2
rtwpaul
out riding...
 
rtwpaul's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: round the world
Oddometer: 2,114
sending you a PM
__________________
RTW ride report
www.ridingrtw.com
rtwpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:40 AM   #3
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,190
that's sweet!!
a complete package with your 12v USB plug to complete the casing...

do you have distributors in Europe?
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:50 AM   #4
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,190
which Tapp or Tapp lite powers the GoPro3/4?
I have one of your tapps on my bike already, do I need to upgrade?
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 10:00 AM   #5
Shov3BR OP
Tinkerer
 
Shov3BR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Oddometer: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
that's sweet!!
a complete package with your 12v USB plug to complete the casing...

do you have distributors in Europe?
No distributor in Europe but would like to set something up if we could find the right person/organization.
Do you have any thoughts or someone who would be a good fit?
__________________
WWW.3BRPOWERSPORTS.COM Putting the POWER in powersports

'11 KTM 990 ADV Dakar, '08 KTM 690 Enduro, '09 H-D Road King, '82 H-D FXRS (Shovelhead)
Shov3BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 10:04 AM   #6
Shov3BR OP
Tinkerer
 
Shov3BR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Oddometer: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
which Tapp or Tapp lite powers the GoPro3/4?
I have one of your TAPPs on my bike already, do I need to upgrade?
TAPP Lite will do the trick. We have done lots of testing on Hero 3, Hero 3+ and Hero 4 Black and they all draw around 600mA when recording.
We did find that they draw close to 1.0A when charging the battery with the camera off. This makes sense as it allows the battery to charge as quickly as possible when the camera electronics are off.
That said, it is still within the 1.2A max output of the TAPP Lite so no upgrade necessary.
__________________
WWW.3BRPOWERSPORTS.COM Putting the POWER in powersports

'11 KTM 990 ADV Dakar, '08 KTM 690 Enduro, '09 H-D Road King, '82 H-D FXRS (Shovelhead)
Shov3BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 10:19 AM   #7
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shov3BR View Post
No distributor in Europe but would like to set something up if we could find the right person/organization.
Do you have any thoughts or someone who would be a good fit?
I might know someone... but .... need more details

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shov3BR View Post
TAPP Lite will do the trick. We have done lots of testing on Hero 3, Hero 3+ and Hero 4 Black and they all draw around 600mA when recording.
We did find that they draw close to 1.0A when charging the battery with the camera off. This makes sense as it allows the battery to charge as quickly as possible when the camera electronics are off.
That said, it is still within the 1.2A max output of the TAPP Lite so no upgrade necessary.
sweet!! thank you!!
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 02:42 PM   #8
thehelios
Taco Inspector
 
thehelios's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Location: South Florida
Oddometer: 124
Any discounts for inmates?
__________________
'12 Yamaha Super Tenere (Current)
'12 Kawasaki Ninja 650 (Released into the wild to play with other stray 650s)

"Nice crotch rocket!"
"Dude, it's a f**king Super Tenere. It's a glorified mountain bike."
thehelios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 02:46 PM   #9
autonhome
Adventurer
 
autonhome's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Oddometer: 22
Do you have the same things for go pro 2 ?
__________________
jmi - http://www.autonhome.org
Trips in old Renault 4L : Morocco 2008, Corsica 2009, Island 2010
Trips in LR Defender : Balkans 2011, Mongolia 2012, Silk Road 2014
Reports, photos and videos http://www.autonhome.org
autonhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:33 AM   #10
sarathmenon
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: SFO Bay Area
Oddometer: 998
Will you develop something similar for the Sony Action Cam lineup? I am invested into that, and this is something I have been missing for a while.
sarathmenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:44 AM   #11
squiffynimrod
maximum shrinkage
 
squiffynimrod's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Flatskatchewan
Oddometer: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by autonhome View Post
Do you have the same things for go pro 2 ?
Yes, poor old Hero 2. Mine works great, no need to update to a 3 or 4.
But a power solution would be the feline's rectum!
__________________
Posting all the bikes you have or have owned in this spot is stupid.
squiffynimrod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 11:56 AM   #12
Shov3BR OP
Tinkerer
 
Shov3BR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Oddometer: 296
X~PWR Replies

Wow, am I embarrassed. My "subscription" to this thread was broken and I've missed the posts.

Here's replies -

Yes, we provide a 10% discount for inmates. This is the most we can do given that we have a Minimum Advertised Price (MAP) agreement with our dealers.
We use PayPal on our website. Just put "ADVRider" in the "Instructions to Merchant" and we'll fix you up.

No, we don't have a case for Hero 2. We did the original development on Hero 2 but the Hero 3 came out so we had to make the switch.

Same for Sony. We had a look at it but the power port is on the bottom of the camera so there's no way to access it from the outside. Bummer, 'cause it's a really cool camera.

We are at Daytona Bike Week and we're happy to report that X~PWR has been a real hit.

-Shov
__________________
WWW.3BRPOWERSPORTS.COM Putting the POWER in powersports

'11 KTM 990 ADV Dakar, '08 KTM 690 Enduro, '09 H-D Road King, '82 H-D FXRS (Shovelhead)
Shov3BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:18 PM   #13
sarathmenon
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: SFO Bay Area
Oddometer: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shov3BR View Post
Same for Sony. We had a look at it but the power port is on the bottom of the camera so there's no way to access it from the outside. Bummer, 'cause it's a really cool camera.
Shov, since we have your attention, the sony door can actually be removed by using a screw driver and a few tools. And if the charging door is out, it should be possible to permanently hook it on a power source. I have the previous model of the camera as well, and Sony has moved around the location of the power inlet, so I don't know how feasible it would be to create one. Also, since this involves voiding the warranty, you might not have too many users willing to do it.
sarathmenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:28 PM   #14
Shov3BR OP
Tinkerer
 
Shov3BR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Edmond, OK
Oddometer: 296
Sony External Power

It's worth a look. Could you post a couple of pics of your Sony cameras.

I ran a Drift for while with the silicone boot that allowed a mic and power cable to be plugged in when in use. It worked great until the weight of the cable whipping in the wind broke the connector off of the camera circuit board
__________________
WWW.3BRPOWERSPORTS.COM Putting the POWER in powersports

'11 KTM 990 ADV Dakar, '08 KTM 690 Enduro, '09 H-D Road King, '82 H-D FXRS (Shovelhead)
Shov3BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 11:40 PM   #15
rtwpaul
out riding...
 
rtwpaul's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: round the world
Oddometer: 2,114
I got my set up today, very high quality equipment, can't wait to get out there and get using it and not have to worry about batteries dying...when i do i'll add some video /photos if you want - thanks Don
__________________
RTW ride report
www.ridingrtw.com
rtwpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015