ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 06:22 AM   #1
twray OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Oddometer: 60
2011GS..GPS recommendations?

I have a new 1200GS and need a GPS, need some recommendations on GPS units, mounting, and wiring.

Thanks in advance.
twray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:22 AM   #2
Semper Fi
Runs with Scissors
 
Semper Fi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Kingston, NH
Oddometer: 872
I got a 550 mounted to the lower bar of the windshield support

Power routed to Centech Fuse Panel

Easy reach and readable

I'll try to add a picture later
__________________
2011 R1200 GS Adventure Smoke Grey Metallic Matt
2009 G450X White
IBA #35651
Semper Fi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:42 AM   #3
mrt10x
Dumba$s Jarhead
 
mrt10x's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Oddometer: 3,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by twray View Post
I have a new 1200GS and need a GPS, need some recommendations on GPS units, mounting, and wiring.

Thanks in advance.
Do you want bluetooth capability? MP3? satellite radio? Go with the garmin 550 or 650 depending on your budget.. the 550 can only be found used these days.. well there maby be som NOS stuff around.

If you want just a GPS go with the Garmin Montana. It will still speak to your headset with a bluetooth dongle but wont play MP3s or radio.

you can wire it directly to your battery or through a fuse block of some sort.. centech etc.

You really need to give more information on what you want it to do, where you plan on using it, how you plan on using it, and you would be beter off asking in the "laying down tracks" forum.
__________________
We are enmeshed in the cancerous discipline of "security." And in the worship of security we fling our lives beneath the wheels of routine - and before we know it our lives are gone.
mrt10x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
wonderings
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 927
I had a Zumo 550 on my old '06 GS mounted to the left handlebar, but when I picked up my '10 GSA I got a Zumo 66 and mounted it like so:


I really like the position and it could all be done with the mounts and wiring that came with the Zumo, so nothing else was needed.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:25 AM   #5
tallguy-09
Smile 4 Miles
 
tallguy-09's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 1,436
"Best Mount" for GPS :-)

I tried many different mounts, this is the best (4me):
RAM-Mount with original Garmin Nuvi 550 cradle (not the one sold by RAM). No vibration.
The Garmin cradle allows you to insert the power plug (mini USB) in the GPS before inserting the GPS in the cradle. With the
RAM cradle you have to plug in the cable in the back of the GPS after inserting the GPS in the cradle: Painful!
Used a rubber cable insulation (removed wire) and pushed the metal clamp through it:


Also painted the nuts black matte so there are no reflections when looking at the instrument cluster:




No vibration and GPS can be adjusted so it won't cover anything. I like it.



iPhone 4 picture

tallguy-09 screwed with this post 01-05-2012 at 10:30 AM
tallguy-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:38 AM   #6
rritterson
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA USA
Oddometer: 207
Depends on how much off road riding you'll be doing. The Zumos and Nuvis do not handle tracks very well, which is an essential feature off road.

I bought a garmin montana and the AMPS mount for it, then the RAM amps mounting kit. The AMPS mount comes with power cables, and I bought the 'repair' plug from BMW, spliced the wires together, and connected it to the GPS plug under the steering head. (That page is slightly out of date - on 2011/12 GSes the plug is right under the beak and easy to get to without taking any body work off) The mount is quite nice- it snaps right in and uses open contacts for power and data instead of a cable, so you don't have to plug/unplug anything to remove it. I suck at wiring things and had to cut a few crimps back off because I forgot to put the heat shrink on first , but it still only took me 2 hours to wire it all up.

The Montana is nice because it handles tracks and routes easily, and you can add your own maps to it (as you can on most Garmin devices). I have two profiles set up- on road and off road. On road uses city navigator maps and a 3D view, where off-road uses USGS 24K Topo maps from a top-down perspective and shows me my current track on the map. But, it doesn't have bluetooth or store MP3s, so it's a GPS and only a GPS.

Also, we have a specific forum for your question, so you might want to try there: http://advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=75
Attached Images
 
rritterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 12:23 PM   #7
twray OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Oddometer: 60
Tallguy09...where did you get your ram mount if it is not made by Ram?
twray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 01:22 PM   #8
BEEMERPECKER
Just Lookin'
 
BEEMERPECKER's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: The Flemish Cap
Oddometer: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by rritterson View Post
The Montana is nice because it handles tracks and routes easily, and you can add your own maps to it (as you can on most Garmin devices). I have two profiles set up- on road and off road. On road uses city navigator maps and a 3D view, where off-road uses USGS 24K Topo maps from a top-down perspective and shows me my current track on the map. But, it doesn't have bluetooth or store MP3s, so it's a GPS and only a GPS.
+1 on the Garmin Montana

http://sites.garmin.com/montana/
__________________
'00 BMW R1150GS -- '07 TRIUMPH SPEED TRIPLE
BEEMERPECKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #9
tallguy-09
Smile 4 Miles
 
tallguy-09's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by twray View Post
Tallguy09...where did you get your ram mount if it is not made by Ram?
Ram mount is made by Ram but the much better cradle is made (sold) by Garmin. You still need the Ram-mount with the U-Bolt and the short arm.
If you need tracks then get a different GPS.

Garmin GPS: http://www.gpscity.ca/garmin-nuvi-550-automoto-kit.html

Shows Garmin cradle with +12V charger. $33 at Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-010-111...5801702&sr=1-3
or here:
http://www.gpscity.ca/garmin-nuvi-5x...and-power.html
tallguy-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:11 PM   #10
oalvarez
Resident Raggamuffin
 
oalvarez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: CA HWY 2
Oddometer: 2,411
I have the same exact setup as Tallguy but mine I mounted on the handlebar. The Nuvi isn't very sophisticated but it seems to offers enough for most on-road travels, and it comes at a very attractive price.
__________________
2012 Vespa 300 Super
past: Ducatis, Aprilias, Moto Guzzis, a Husky, KTM 1290 SDR, and some BMWs as well.
oalvarez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:49 AM   #11
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 586
Had a Zumo, what a POS. sure you could listen to music and chat on your phone, which will be needed btw to ask for directions when the Zumo ultimately gets you lost.

Seriously though, the Zumo is more of an entertainment center than a navigational device. The resolution is terrible, it simply paints a magenta line on a beige background unless you are zoomed all the way in, no customization of features and all in all, a very expensive and frustrating experience.

Garmin seems to be the best of the worst unfortunately and I currently ride with a Montana. Although it is still a Garmin with their usual frustrations, in terms of actual navigation, customization, resolution and overall features, I would not even compare it to the Zumo.

Btw, I have mine mounted above the instrument cluster dead center just a few inches below my line of sight. The eyes do not come off the road to see it.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 06:04 AM   #12
twray OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Oddometer: 60
Sounds like the Montana is the best, does it come with a cradle style mount?
twray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:09 AM   #13
Okie Preacher
Studly Adventurer
 
Okie Preacher's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: In the middle...
Oddometer: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete O Static View Post
Had a Zumo, what a POS.

Hmmm... Hasn't been my experience. I have been pleased with my 665 and have used it to get me through anything from large cities to Colorado fire roads. Maybe I am just unaware of other possibilities out there, but the Zumo has got me there and back without issue.
Okie Preacher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:37 AM   #14
tallguy-09
Smile 4 Miles
 
tallguy-09's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 1,436
nuvi 550

To me the nuvi 550 does it all, can be usesd in the car and on the motorcycle (Scooter setting).
It's a great GPS considering the little money you're spending but as soon as your focus is off-road then
it's a different story > Montana
tallguy-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:47 AM   #15
rritterson
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA USA
Oddometer: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by twray View Post
Sounds like the Montana is the best, does it come with a cradle style mount?
You will need to buy a mount for it. I recommend the AMPS cradle garmin makes for it, because it has power wires you can wire directly into the battery or GPS plug on the bike. https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=89575

That only holds the GPS and provides 4 AMPS-compatible screw holes, though. You'll need an AMPS compatible handlebar mount. I went with a kit from GPScity.com (http://www.gpscity.com/ram-mount-gar...unt-steel.html) as it had all the pieces and I didn't have to search the whole RAM catalog and then forget one piece.
rritterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014