Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 313 votes, 4.98 average. Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 01:39 AM   #1
tok-tokkie OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 590
The Croc's Guide to Stationary Steam Engines

Why Crocs?

In South Africa a crock = a beat up old car but the word is extended to apply to anything well past its prime & that is the category I fall into. The alternative spelling refers to the footwear I appear in on this trip. It is also a play on the Dummies Guide or Rough Guides that are published. So this will be a Crocs guide to some of the stationary steam engines in England.

I am a retired Mechanical Engineer with a long standing interest in steam power – industrial more than locomotive. My wife, Antonia, and I went on a 10 day campervan trip in England visiting some of the stationary engine sites. I will describe them informally pretty much as a comic book – a picture with some comments below.

Why write on ADV?

We have some motorcycling credentials. Here is a picture of me on my bike of preference (I have two)

Antonia trespassing in a titanium mine

Links to some ride reports:
Trip with above picture of Antonia http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/index.php?topic=22091.0
2000 km Solo trip right across the Karoo http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/index.php?topic=39398.0
5000km solo trip where I retraced a pioneer travellers route. Report written as an external link for the Wikipedia entry on William Burchell http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/index.php?topic=51075.0

We both have F650s. A trip on them, picture below http://www.wilddog.za.net/forum/inde...3675#msg193675

This trip.
Antonia is English & we were here for her sisters 70th & a brothers 60th birthday. This trip was done in a hired campervan, Antonia did the finding and booking. Her shopping criterion is price so we ended up with the most basic, small and cheap she could find. I will show it later in the thread.