User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-18-2012, 09:48 PM   #1
Drizzt OP
Ranger

Oddometer: 1,032
Help me find my next truck

Okay, so I'm a college student, and I've purchased my first truck already, a 1982 isuzu p'up diesel:

which has been a great rig, but I want some that's A)better offroad and B)can carry 4 people.

Now, the main goals for my next vehicle are as such:

1)can carry 4 people and camping equipment
2)can go anywhere on an established trail (no boulder climbing or anything, but if the trail involves rocky hill climbs/sand/ruts I want to be able to navigate it without getting stuck)
3)get decent fuel economy (15mpg is the lowest I'll go, I would prefer 20+)
4)cheap upfront cost (my budget is around 2k)
5)upgradable for off road use (hopefully as I save up money I can slowly put money into this vehicle to be better off road, over time)

Now, I've looked into my options, and I've found 2 vehicles that will fulfill these needs, a first or second generation Toyota 4runner with a 22r motor, or an Isuzu Trooper (pre 97). I consdiered a samurai for a short time, but the reality is, with a samurai it's either 2 people and stuff or just 4 people, which is too limiting.

Now, my question is, what's your advice? If you've had a trooper or 4runner I'd like your experiences... offroad capability, pimpability, real world fuel economy, ect. Or, have you had a different vehicle that will meet these needs? I'd love to hear about that too. Any advice is great and appreciated

And what is good, Phaedrus, and what is not good- Need we ask anyone to tell us these things? Pirsig
Drizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:51 PM   #2
chacha
CAT Herder

Oddometer: 2,680