ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2013, 09:44 AM   #1
smitty141 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
smitty141's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Hooterville Mo.
Oddometer: 608
Error code 2nd Throttle Control system malfunction help!!

After a new open air filter, sas removal, caniter removal I get this FI light and code.


Error code 2nd Throttle Control system malfunction

I have loaded a new map with Tune Ecu. Bike seam to run okay, but I have cleared this code twice, and it comes back.

Anyone have had this trouble please chime in..

Also, has anyone removed the secondary butterflies and turned the off??


Thanks, Smitty
__________________
America.. only place in the world you can get a free cell phone, draw a check for doing nothing, and still be 75 lbs. over weight.
--------------------------------------------------
2013 Yamaha FJR1300...2010 BMW F800GS..
2009 Yamaha WR250R...1999 YZ250
smitty141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
Defaultgateway
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Shortpump, Va.
Oddometer: 87
Error, second throttle

What map did you load?

Look at your map you loaded, Tune-ECU, "Map Edit" tab, Parameters, Devices

Assuming you have removed the SAI valve but still are using the 2nd throttles (butterflies):

SAI No check mark

O2 Check

2nd Throttle Check

Idle Speed Control Check

EPC No Check

Is this what you have?

Do not un-check the Idle Speed Control or the Second Throttle. The only time you can un-check the 2nd throttle is if you have removed the secondary throttles from the throttle bodies.

(I'm in the camp of using the O2 sensors and 2nd throttles.)
Defaultgateway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:30 PM   #3
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,003
You can also run the 2nd throttle test in tuneECU.
I'd bet the box is unchecked as above.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,418
If the box is checked, I'd take a good look at the actual linkage. With the new intake it's not impossible that wiring or the breather hose may be interfering w the actual linkage.

Sa
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 05:49 PM   #5
smitty141 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
smitty141's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Hooterville Mo.
Oddometer: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defaultgateway View Post
What map did you load?

Look at your map you loaded, Tune-ECU, "Map Edit" tab, Parameters, Devices

Assuming you have removed the SAI valve but still are using the 2nd throttles (butterflies):

SAI No check mark

O2 Check

2nd Throttle Check

Idle Speed Control Check

EPC No Check

Is this what you have?

Do not un-check the Idle Speed Control or the Second Throttle. The only time you can un-check the 2nd throttle is if you have removed the secondary throttles from the throttle bodies.

(I'm in the camp of using the O2 sensors and 2nd throttles.)
This is exactly how it is set. I'm running the CPR map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
You can also run the 2nd throttle test in tuneECU.
I'd bet the box is unchecked as above.

Max
Max, how can I run that check?? I did remove the filter assm. to check wiring, linkage, ect. All looked good.

After doing a code reset, put the bike back together.. Didn't make it out of my driveway and the light was on. I did a rolling restart two blocks up the street. After the bike restarted the light never came back on. Road about 120 miles, withe several stops with the motor off.

Thanks for any help, Smitty
__________________
America.. only place in the world you can get a free cell phone, draw a check for doing nothing, and still be 75 lbs. over weight.
--------------------------------------------------
2013 Yamaha FJR1300...2010 BMW F800GS..
2009 Yamaha WR250R...1999 YZ250
smitty141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 05:20 PM   #6
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 634
P0638 Error

Interesting, I just got this error for the first time today. I'm hoping this does not recur, but if it does, did anything come of your issue?

It happened to me upon intial start-up. I rode for a few miles and then went down a side road, pulled in the clutch and switched the bike off and back on. The light has not come back on yet (40miles+ later). I checked the code with tuneecu and got two: P0638 - Throttle control system malfunction and P1650 - Immobilizer Malfunction.

I've gotten the P1650 before, and it seems to keep coming back. I'm going to have to get that looked at.

The P0638 is a new one. I installed a foam filter, and re-mapped the bike two weeks ago. I also removed the SAS and canister at the same time. I never received an FI error until today (I've put about 360 miles on it since the filter/emissions stuff). TuneEcu screenshots are below.

EDIT: I also did a "reset adaptation" after clearing the codes, and the light did not come back on. I'll find out tomorrow morning if it will come back on or not.




srad600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:41 AM   #7
dgjackson40
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Central Missouri USA
Oddometer: 239
Same Error

I have same set up with stock exhaust and am now getting this P0638 error but it will not go away after reset. Did this issue ever get resolved?
__________________
The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail. Travel too fast and you miss all you are traveling for. Louis l'Amour
2007 KTM 990 Adv; 2005 VStar 1100 Sold!; 2002 GL1800
dgjackson40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 11:36 AM   #8
Pistolero
W. F. O.
 
Pistolero's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Oddometer: 708
2nd TB linking arm is contacting the plate I bet

Very likely if it's a knock-off plate and not a CPR.
Pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 12:02 PM   #9
dgjackson40
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Central Missouri USA
Oddometer: 239
Yep

Yep and yep!
__________________
The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail. Travel too fast and you miss all you are traveling for. Louis l'Amour
2007 KTM 990 Adv; 2005 VStar 1100 Sold!; 2002 GL1800
dgjackson40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 02:06 PM   #10
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,182
I am running the SW7 plate and have no problems with codes on my 2007.

Someone asked about the 2nd throttle removal. I tried it both ways with butterflies removed and with them installed. I could not notice any difference. As mentioned, they must be checked/turned on in Tune ECU, if butterflies are installed.

FWIW
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014