ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > 2 smokers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 12:23 AM   #1
Hunsta OP
Have guns will hunt
 
Hunsta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Gympie Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 5,457
2 stroke electrics

OK this may sound like a stupid question, but for someone who`s as auto electrically retarded as me, its one I have to ask.
Ive got a DT250 project going and Im trying to thin out the wiring down to a bare minimum. Seeing that the bike has no battery or lights to run, do I need have the voltage regulator hooked up?
Basicly all I can see is that theres wiring from the CDI to the coil and into the motor. Ive disconnected everything else that just ran to the head of the wiring loom that would have powered the lights and such. I turned the bike over an there was still spark to the plug.
So......am I right to proceed?
Cheers
Craig
__________________
I REALLY AM A NICE GUY. JUST ASK ANYONE WHO HASN`T MET ME.
Hunsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:38 AM   #2
Shocktower
Beastly Adventurer
 
Shocktower's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Oregon City Orygun
Oddometer: 9,326
You don't need a battery if your not running lights the rectifier I think IIRC is battery charging/lights
__________________
Alexa Drew Nov 9 1995- Oct 28th 2004 Miss you baby


'08 KTM 530 EXC
79 RD 400 Daytona
Shocktower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:05 AM   #3
Hunsta OP
Have guns will hunt
 
Hunsta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Gympie Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 5,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunsta View Post
Seeing that the bike has no battery or lights to run, do I need have the voltage regulator hooked up?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocktower View Post
You don't need a battery if your not running lights the rectifier I think IIRC is battery charging/lights
I assume thats a no to my question.
__________________
I REALLY AM A NICE GUY. JUST ASK ANYONE WHO HASN`T MET ME.
Hunsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:10 AM   #4
Euromad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Lower Slobbovia
Oddometer: 165
I second the no need for a voltage regulator.
Euromad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:30 AM   #5
stainlesscycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
stainlesscycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: morgantown, wv
Oddometer: 2,101
stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.
__________________
current bikes
07 gasgas xc300-94 duc 900ss-86 morini camel (2)-84 IT200-83 IT175-78 guzzi lm1-77 pursang 250-76 morini 3 1/2 strada-76 frankentaco pursang 200-74 frankentaco pursang 200-74 morini 3 1/2 sport-74 mz ts250/0-74 puch 175 (3)-73 can-am 175tnt-71 guzzi frankeneldo-71 ossa Stiletto-70 frankentaco sherpa s(2)-66 morini corsarino(2)-63 morini corsaro + many more
stainlesscycle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:16 PM   #6
Duck_Pilot
Retired Roadracer
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Denver 'Burbs, Colorado, USA.
Oddometer: 5,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlesscycle View Post
stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.
Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace..........
__________________
" A man that can have patience, can have what he will." - Benjamin Franklin

"Man cannot imagine how life could be more difficult or complex. But Congress can." - Cullen Hightower

Honestly, I *do* like Socialists. They just need a little tartar sauce.
Duck_Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:17 PM   #7
stainlesscycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
stainlesscycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: morgantown, wv
Oddometer: 2,101
hah, yeah. maybe..
__________________
current bikes
07 gasgas xc300-94 duc 900ss-86 morini camel (2)-84 IT200-83 IT175-78 guzzi lm1-77 pursang 250-76 morini 3 1/2 strada-76 frankentaco pursang 200-74 frankentaco pursang 200-74 morini 3 1/2 sport-74 mz ts250/0-74 puch 175 (3)-73 can-am 175tnt-71 guzzi frankeneldo-71 ossa Stiletto-70 frankentaco sherpa s(2)-66 morini corsarino(2)-63 morini corsaro + many more
stainlesscycle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:32 PM   #8
tHEtREV
Captain Awesome
 
tHEtREV's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Middle Park, Brisbane, Australia
Oddometer: 7,054
Well if it is going to stuff something, it would have stuffed it by now because I ran it with only the bare essentials the whole time I had it.

I only started putting the full wiring harness in just after the last time I rode it.
__________________
tEAM iDIOT.

KDX Super Fan!

My Spot HERE (active and on a trip).
tHEtREV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:40 PM   #9
PSchrauber
Studly Adventurer
 
PSchrauber's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Summer: Kemiö, Finland; Winter: North Germany
Oddometer: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck_Pilot View Post
Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace..........
You can mount a decompression valve, works too as a kill switch.
Pull lever for decompression then the engine should stall after two three spins.

If not actuate decompression lever, while holding rear brake and slip clutch.

(just for purists I know, ... )
PSchrauber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:05 PM   #10
340hp
Gnarly Adventurer
 
340hp's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Desert Beach SoCal
Oddometer: 156
It's all OK.

Ground the black with white stripe wire from the CDI for a kill switch.
340hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:20 PM   #11
P 0 P E Y E
Bald rider
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: southern Connecticut U S A
Oddometer: 113
Magneto ignition on your bike. No regulator or rectifier needed for engine to run.

But...if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
P 0 P E Y E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:43 PM   #12
Stromius
Adventurer
 
Stromius's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle, WA area
Oddometer: 58
Just run the black wire from the engine/stator to either a kill switch, then coil or straight to the coil.
Stromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:37 AM   #13
Hunsta OP
Have guns will hunt
 
Hunsta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Gympie Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 5,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by tHEtREV View Post
Well if it is going to stuff something, it would have stuffed it by now because I ran it with only the bare essentials the whole time I had it.
Yeah all good. Just wanted to thin it out a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlesscycle View Post
stator to cdi to coil. nothing else is needed.
Great thats the info I needed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duck_Pilot View Post
Well..........ya MIGHT wanna have a kill-switch in there someplace..........
I thought the way I ride would take care of that...........................Oh you mean a switch to turn the motor off.

Thanks for the help guys.
Cheers
Craig
__________________
I REALLY AM A NICE GUY. JUST ASK ANYONE WHO HASN`T MET ME.
Hunsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014