User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-24-2012, 09:27 AM   #1
Phattyre-Phready2 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 248
Big Bend NP- the Now'r Nev'r trip

I'm a self employed carpenter who does the interior woodwork in new homes. Between houses, I try to sneak in a camping trip from my WeeStrom. 2011 was the slowest year I've ever experienced in 40 years of carpentry and 2012 started the same way. I've gone into survival mode with no frivolous spending... which puts a damper on motorcycle touring. My son has been urging me to move to Arkansas and has even found several woodworking jobs for me there. He bought some land and we'll start me a live in shop or 'barndominium' this summer.

Last spring, I was looking for a place to camp from my motorcycle within 300 miles of home. The whole state of Texas was under a fire ban, so I decided to check out Guadalupe Mountain NP. I'd never stayed there, mainly because they don't allow campfires ever. I was intrigued by the beauty of the desert mountains and not having a campfire literally opened my eyes to a star filled sky I'd almost forgotten existed to that extent. I began to wonder about Big Bend NP, another remote place I'd never visited. I live 380 miles from Big Bend NP, but I plan to move to Arkansas this summer, so if I'm going to do it...

My immediate concern was all the border unrest you hear about on the news. I was pleasantly surprised to find out Presidio (nearest border crossing to the BBNP) hasn't had any murders since 1999! The Big Bend area has only 2 roads out with a strong presence of Border Patrol agents, so it's not a good choice for the Mexican Drug Czars. They're what's causing all the havoc in Mexico.