User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-26-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
alvincullumyork OP
I wish I was cool

Oddometer: 857
Question Dying R100 GS

Me and my brother decided to buy a 92 R100 GS. From that point on I sort of wish we had bought a KLR or something else(the gs is so stinking cool though). On to the problems. My brother had it for a couple of weeks down in California and took if for a couple of rides and the battery light started to come on pretty consistently. A few weeks later I went down so see him off ( got deployed to A-Stan) and bring the bike home. The bike sat for a couple more weeks until I got the paper work sorted out then I started riding it and the battery problem got worse until it died a mile from home one night (pushed it back in eleven minutes flat). Being that electrical stuff is all voodoo to me I took it up to the BMW dealer and had them fix it.

I got it back and it ran pretty good but it would randomly loose a lot of power, almost like one cylinder wasn't getting gas. I could throttle way up and it would slowly gain rpm and just barely accelerate. After a while it would surge between bad and good and then clear up and ride like normal. Other times it would just die but it would start up after little playing with the choke. It is also only getting about 20mpg. I went for a 50 mile ride yesterday and no problems until it died 3 miles from home. I switched the the fuel valves to reserve and got it fired back up but just barely and limped it home. Now it just won't start at all and there is barely any gas left in the tank after a total of 111 mile since the last fill up. Right before I took it up to the BMW dealer I put a tank of premium through it, I'm not sure if this could be part of the problem or not.

Please help me before I go insane.
alvincullumyork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 05:31 PM   #2
R100LT
Chasing 11

Oddometer: 602