ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
overlandr OP
Dystopist
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 5,856
New 300W KTM 640 Stator available

Having just read this post, thought it worthwhile to start a new thread as a heads up for any 640 owners who need more power. Its been on the market since at least last year. Should be a useful upgrade for those that need 300 watts or so.

Here are details of the stator this is available:

http://www.electrosport.com/stator-k...r-3-phase.html

"ElectroSport developed ESG148 specifically for the KTM LC4 models. We manufacture it using the highest grade copper wire for the windings, superior stator lamination materials, high quality lead wires that can withstand chafing, and quality rubber seals.

To improve dramatically on the output from the OEM stator we utilized a similar winding configuration as our ESG950 high power stator (for the YFZ660 Raptor ATV).

The result is a very high quality product that offers about 50% more output than the stock stator. Thanks to the lower internal resistance our stator even runs cooler which makes it extremely reliable.

All stators we manufacture come with a full one year warranty."



$114

overlandr screwed with this post 03-03-2012 at 08:10 PM Reason: Tweaking
overlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:34 PM   #2
Ol'Muley
old, not dead
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Milwaukee
Oddometer: 82
stator

Do you have to change the regulator also? Which one?Is the thin wiring up to the increased juice?
Ol'Muley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,855
Any mention if the stock voltage regulator can handle the increased juice?

A 100% plug and play juice-up would be grand for sure.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:52 PM   #4
overlandr OP
Dystopist
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 5,856
I've just emailed them re fitting, regulators etc as I couldn't find their fitting instructions listed on their site. I'd say that the rectifier would have to be capable of handling the increased current.
overlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:53 PM   #5
overlandr OP
Dystopist
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 5,856
Just received this reply to my query with the suppliers which indicates its a straight swap over with the oem stator.

Q:
Hi, Re: ESG148, Would the rectifier need to be upgraded to handle the higher current? Do you have fitting instructions? Thanks
A:
No, the stock R/R is okay with this stator. So long as the R/R is in good shape it will be just fine.

I dont have instructions for this one, but it is a direct plug in replacement. Just follow the instructions and specs in the service manual.

Kyle Wood - Sales Manager
-------------------------------------
Procom Engineering / ElectroSport
66 Maxwell, Irvine, CA 92618
PH: (949) 748-6338
www.electrosport.com
overlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #6
Kirkster
Parts Murderer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Peoples Republic of MD
Oddometer: 296
Now we need to find out if this will bolt up to the 690.... It is an LC4 after all...

K
__________________
TAT 2013 the "I'm Just Sayin" tour
BMW 2007 R1200R
2012 KTM 690 R
07 WR 450F
Kirkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:18 PM   #7
Kirkster
Parts Murderer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Peoples Republic of MD
Oddometer: 296
Sadly it won't work on the 690s. But they said that they should have one that does before the end of the year!!!
__________________
TAT 2013 the "I'm Just Sayin" tour
BMW 2007 R1200R
2012 KTM 690 R
07 WR 450F
Kirkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:26 AM   #8
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 785
How much work is it to install this? I'd love 50% more power...
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:18 AM   #9
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,855
Gen-very easy.

Remove the seat, the tank, the stator cover, and the stator from the cover.

Follow the stator wiring bundle up to the top tube of the frame and disconnect the quick connect.

Reinstall everything in the reverse order.

You're done.

Easy Peasy.

I'd say it would take you right around an hour.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:14 AM   #10
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
I'd say it would take you right around an hour.

Dirty
Thanks, D!

I'm in on this bad boy.
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:29 AM   #11
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,855
Keep us all in the loop.

From what I understand this is Electrosport's reconfigured ESG 950 stator which is the same exact size as Yamaha's Raptor 700 4 wheeler stator. I installed one of these stators on my '03 940A years back and used the KTM 950 voltage regulator. It was hardly plug and play.

None of the electrical quick connects were the same, the voltage regulator was much larger, etc., etc....but it worked like a champ.

This hopped up stator for the LC4 engines has the same quick connect as the OEM stator, AND they say the increase in power can still be handled by the OEM LC4 voltage regulator.

It'll take you longer to remove the seat, the gas tank, and fish the wiring between the starter and the case than it will take you for the actual stator bolt up.

I know alot of guys here are watching this thread, so let us know how it works out once you mount it up.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:33 PM   #12
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 785
Has anyone installed this yet?
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:07 PM   #13
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,855
Hopefully the poor sot who installed this thing isn't dead for miles from nowhere having his eyes and entrails plucked out by vultures.

I hate when those things come around!

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 04:43 PM   #14
jrozar
Studly Adventurer
 
jrozar's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Vegas Baby!
Oddometer: 618
I just pulled the trigger and ordered one, I am adding a set of Baja Desin Squadron Aux lights to the bike and needed some extra juice....I will let you guys know how it goes.

It is 260 watts according to the person I spoke to when I placed my order.
__________________
jrozar
Las Vegas NV
www.my2wheels.com
jrozar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 06:04 PM   #15
fastlane1
Catching up with my past
 
fastlane1's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: North Vancouver - ex Jo'burg, SA
Oddometer: 80
I installed one on my 640 Adventure. It works great and is plug and play easy to install - note that my regulator does get pretty hot with this. Attached photos show old damaged stator and the new one. Old stator was damaged by a broken tooth from my intermediate gear. Note that the new stator was very well packaged but on opening I noted it was damaged (see the cracks). I called supplier and they said that should still be OK and it is.

fastlane1 screwed with this post 08-22-2012 at 07:10 PM
fastlane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014