User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-13-2012, 08:46 PM   #1
fireguard OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 59
RT to GSA

I love my 95 GS and have enjoyed 174k mi on her. Added an 07 RT to the stable about 6 mo ago and love this bike as well. However, too often I seem to take the GS and many times on the RT, I'm wishing for the GS due to wanting to go exploring.
I've been admiring the new GSA for several years and think the time to get one is fast approaching.
I'm looking at a new 2011 with everything except for ESA, which I don't want. Price is $20,190 and their giving $1000 worth of accessories. I also get $400 rebate for public service employee. They will give $9500 approx for the RT. not too bad as I paid $10,700 plus I can sell my Remus full exhaust system as they want it stock.
I don't think I can have them take $1k off the price rather than the accessories. The 3 hard bags are around $1800, but I could get Givi mounts for around $300 and I already have several bags.
What are your opinions on the adv bags? How far do they stick out and is it easy to split lanes?
The top seems like it could be wider. I can put 2 helmets in my RT top case, are any of the adv bags able to hold a helmet?
I do prefer top loading as its awkward to use the side opening.
I think I'll offer my bike for $9500 and have them include all 3 bags and mounts. So I'm paying$19,800 for a loaded GSA (w/o ESA) with all three bags. He said would work with me on price as it is a year old model.
How much discount should one assume for a year older model? They have a few 2012s
I don't want a 2013 liquid cooled GS.
Thanks.
Anyone traded RT for GSA and regretted it?
fireguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
GB
Mod Squad

Oddometer: 55,300
Have a look here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40203

and a lot more reading here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255886
Old 03-14-2012, 12:15 PM   #3