Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-14-2012, 10:48 AM   #1
WE2EA&Around OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 23
First bike purchase in 10 years

Hi All,
If this is the wrong forum for this post, my apologies. I am new to ADV so, please be gentle. To say that this site has opened a new world to me is to put it mildly. I know now how Alice felt when she slid down that hole into wonderland. I have just slid down the hole and am just coming out the other end, still rubbing my eyes and what's that tingling feeling, its my ass, itching to get on a bike. Yeap, 10 years ago, I sold my CBR 250 and got busy with school, got a job, got married, had a kid. And all the while never really thinking about getting back on a bike but then I stumbled upon this site a few weeks ago, ah well, i will be getting a bike this summer and getting some rides in. Which brings me to my question, up here, in Yellowknife where I live, the window of opportunity to ride is small, after all, we are buried under snow 8-9 months of the year. I am planning a trip across Canada as my maiden trip. My dilemma is what to get for a bike? There is only a Yamaha & Harley dealership in town and very few used bikes. I have been searching for used one but no luck so far. I am mechanically challenged so I need something reliable that will not leave me stranded. The cell phone coverage up here is atrocious. Granted there is still about 8 weeks of winter to go before I can realistically get a few test runs in. So any suggestions for a born again rider? Something that can take me down South as well as further up North.
Oh yeah, if folks on his forum find their way to Yellowknife in their adventures, I would love to meet you. I have been living vicariously through all of your trip reports so it will be nice to actually meet some of you.

M
WE2EA&Around is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:08 PM   #2
acejones
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,485