ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2012, 08:22 AM   #1
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
I have 1 terminal, but I need 3 cables attached.

Hello!

I am making the wiring harness on my GT380 caferacer. The headlight I have is a british styled unit, with a "british style" contact.

It has three positions, OFF, LOW, HIGH.

When I switch to LOW, I want the Horn, Low Beam, Rearlight and Ignition to be on.

Problem is, there is only one terminal.

So my question is, how do I avoid piggybacking it all?
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
England-Kev
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Berkshire, England. Just off the Beaten Track!
Oddometer: 3,360
you really should fit an ignition switch before that off/low/high light switch. it would make it all so much easier...

England-Kev is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
usgser
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Westside WA
Oddometer: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by LasseNC View Post
Hello!

The headlight I have is a british styled unit, with a "british style" contact.

It has three positions, OFF, LOW, HIGH.
If you're using a Brit (Lucas) 3 position light switch. It's OFF/DIM/FLICKER.
Sorry couldn't help myself.
usgser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:27 AM   #4
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
Easier than finding a suitable way to get three spades on one terminal? I doubt it Kevin.

It would been that I'd have to source an ignitionswitch and use alot more wires, plus where would I put it? :) I'm going keyless minimalistic.
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
trumpet
Group W Bench
 
trumpet's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Connecticut
Oddometer: 1,368


A terminal strip, like this. Mounted out of the way, can provide a solid way to build branch circuits.
trumpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:37 PM   #6
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
Was thinking about something like that, but can't find these around here.
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 01:05 PM   #7
Zoef zoef
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Finnøy Island, near Stavanger, Norway
Oddometer: 332
Not exactly the same, but perhaps this:
http://biltema.dk/da/Bil---MC/Bil-ti...klemmer-24394/
At Biltema
Zoef zoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:45 PM   #8
mike in idaho
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mike in idaho's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 107
Use a six pole, double throw switch. Run power to both center terminals, high and low beam to the end terminals on one side and your horn/ignition/brake light to both terminals on the opposite side. Bring the horn/ignition/brake wire out of the headlight shell back to a small 4 fuse box under the seat, you can run wires to everything from there. Not truly minimalist, it substitutes a fusebox for a multiple splice.
mike in idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:44 AM   #9
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
Hi Mike

Do you have a picture of one of those? I am not sure I understand.

Here is what I did as a temp. way, I know it is bound to fail.

LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:11 AM   #10
lrutt
SILENCE.....i kill you
 
lrutt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Deltona, FL
Oddometer: 1,097
so what do you want when it's on high beam? same thing? if so, unless you use diodes or something, you'll get feedback through and not get what you think you'll get.
__________________
2006 HD Sporty 1200C, 2006 Triumph Scrambler, 2001 Ducati M900, 2001 Honda XR650L, 1994 HD Heritage, 1978 Honda CB750K / sidecar, 1977 Moto Guzzi 850 LeMans, 1976 Honda CB750K, 1965 Honda 305 Dream, 1973 Norton 850 Commando, 1971 Triumph Trophy 650, 1970 Honda Trail 90, 1970 Triumph Tiger 650, 1973 Honda Z50, 1984 Yamaha Virago 1000, 1981 Honda Passport 70, 1970 Suzuki T250, 1971 Yamaha RT1 360
lrutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:14 AM   #11
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrutt View Post
so what do you want when it's on high beam? same thing? if so, unless you use diodes or something, you'll get feedback through and not get what you think you'll get.
How so? That doesn't make sense to me.

High beam is located in the switch itself, and not in the bridge, but when High is on, both High and Low will be on.
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:51 AM   #12
Nessman
Cluttered Minimalist
 
Nessman's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Everett, WA
Oddometer: 1,522
I don't like to run that many functions through one switch. How about the LOW position tripping a relay for all functions (or most of them). The switch is designed for a headlight only, adding more current will make it fail prematurely.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250ABS
Nessman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:31 PM   #13
LasseNC OP
XSessive!
 
LasseNC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark, Danimarka, Danmark, Dänemark
Oddometer: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nessman View Post
I don't like to run that many functions through one switch. How about the LOW position tripping a relay for all functions (or most of them). The switch is designed for a headlight only, adding more current will make it fail prematurely.
Do you know what such a relay is called? Sounds like a good idea.
LasseNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:57 PM   #14
caponerd
Kickstart Enthusiast
 
caponerd's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Halfway between Munich and Redditch.
Oddometer: 1,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by LasseNC View Post
Do you know what such a relay is called? Sounds like a good idea.
The airhead BMW's use such a relay for the headlamp and horn.

I can't think of the part number offhand, but it's a very generic item that you can get at any auto parts supplier for $5-$6 (or euro equiv.), or from any BMW motorcycle dealer for $60. (yeh, I know, there's a diode in those, which wouldn't be needed in this application)

Someone in the airhead section of this forum can fill in the blanks.


of course, if you're really looking for minimal, why not wire the ignition direct to the voltage regulator and use a battery eliminator (really big capacitor)? Then all you have to connect to the switch are your lights and horn.

Depending on how your electrical system works, you might be able to get away without adding a battery eliminator. I run my BSA 441 with no battery. I have to switch off the lights before I try to start the motor, but once it's running, the alternator (Lucas!) can handle the motor and the lights just fine.
caponerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:59 PM   #15
Nessman
Cluttered Minimalist
 
Nessman's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Everett, WA
Oddometer: 1,522
Apologies Lasse, I didn't have time to detail my relay idea, I'll try tomorrow.

You want to use the light switch as an ignition switch right?

How many wires does your switch have? I'm assuming three, power in, low out and high out.

Do you not intend to use the high beam wire? If all the functions you mentioned need to work on both high and low settings it's a bit more difficult.

Handlebar kill switch? Dash (instrument) lights? They both get involved in the wiring if you have them.
__________________
'07 Bandit 1250ABS
Nessman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014