ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2014, 08:29 PM   #1
Girthy Knobkers OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Girthy Knobkers's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 371
? Regarding ABS Removal R1100GS

I bought the non ABS lines from Galfer and removed my ABS system. My question is with the rear line. It seems the line and the master cyl both have female connections. Am I missing something or did I misplace a part? The master cyl for ABS and Non ABS are the same part #...

I realize I can get a double ended male connector and make it work, but I don't see why this is necessary when the ABS and Non ABS models have the same master cyl.

Baffled I am....
Girthy Knobkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 07:14 AM   #2
Steptoe
steptoe
 
Steptoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: london, England
Oddometer: 2,455
Get a rear 1150 line, it has the fittings you need.

Doesn't matter if it's abs or non abs, the 1150 are both the same.
__________________
www.gsshop.co.uk
Steptoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:44 AM   #3
sonnyb
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Charlotte NC
Oddometer: 83
according to MAX BMW fiche ABS and non ABS rear mast. cylinders are different.
ABS one has a metal line to ABS pressure modulator,non-ABS banjo bolt.could it be a different thread?

sonnyb screwed with this post 07-16-2014 at 09:06 AM
sonnyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 08:50 AM   #4
Girthy Knobkers OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Girthy Knobkers's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 371
Hmm I was on realoem and didn't see dif part #'s. I'll look in to that.

And the thing is, I already bought a set of lines, I don't want to go buying another line... I think I'll get an adapter from an auto parts store.

Thanks.
Girthy Knobkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 07:44 PM   #5
def
I've little to say
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 8,656
Why did you remove the ABS unit? Will you restore it eventually? If not, does it work? Do you want to sell it?
__________________
The woods is closing in on me...I need a D6.
def is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 09:30 PM   #6
Girthy Knobkers OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Girthy Knobkers's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
Why did you remove the ABS unit? Will you restore it eventually? If not, does it work? Do you want to sell it?
It is in perfect working order, I even removed the hardlines without damage.

I removed it because I don't use it, except maybe once in the rain the rear kicked in when it should. Other than that, the rear kicks in way too often (bumpy conditions) and in general, I want less crap on the bike.

Unit has ~50k miles and has been bled regularly. If I do sell (after trying out the new setup and hopefully enjoying amazing braking response, I know who to PM
Girthy Knobkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 02:23 AM   #7
Steptoe
steptoe
 
Steptoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: london, England
Oddometer: 2,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnyb View Post
ABS one has a metal line to ABS pressure modulator,non-ABS banjo bolt.could it be a different thread?
Same thread.
__________________
www.gsshop.co.uk
Steptoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 04:20 AM   #8
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,445
The brake light is run through the modulator's computer. If you disconnect the computer from the valve body, you can simply remove the relay and warning bulbs from the telltale on the dash.

Or you can rewire the system. IMO, its a lot easier to remove parts than to add them.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 09:05 AM   #9
Girthy Knobkers OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Girthy Knobkers's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
The brake light is run through the modulator's computer. If you disconnect the computer from the valve body, you can simply remove the relay and warning bulbs from the telltale on the dash.

Or you can rewire the system. IMO, its a lot easier to remove parts than to add them.
Thanks Twighlight, got all that figured out. Just a line issue, fixed with a coupler. Wishing the rear line came with banjo fittings on both ends
Girthy Knobkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014