ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 09:56 PM   #46
ADVMax
Sporting Foole
 
ADVMax's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Sometimes I'm here, sometimes I'm there.
Oddometer: 30,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
Hate that it happened, happy you got away relatively clean and painless. Makes me want to tear apart my bike and at least check....

Satan's nine-fitty is back together and workin well according to Stewy.





Drif might get to ride this thing tomorrow afternoon.


Check yer freewheel rotor bolts.

just do it
__________________
There is absolutely NO EXCUSE for what I'm about to do!

The Second Amendment - it ain't about duck hunting.

You heatherns needs some churchin up - http://www.landoverbaptist.org/
ADVMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #47
ADVMax
Sporting Foole
 
ADVMax's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Sometimes I'm here, sometimes I'm there.
Oddometer: 30,810
verstehst du?


__________________
There is absolutely NO EXCUSE for what I'm about to do!

The Second Amendment - it ain't about duck hunting.

You heatherns needs some churchin up - http://www.landoverbaptist.org/
ADVMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:56 PM   #48
avocadofarmer
Fruit Coot
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 235
uuuh....I'm about to replace my starter torque plate...

What does the conventional forum wisdom say about this...to just check the torque values (and possibly break the locktite seal) or to pull the bolts, clean and retorque with 648?
avocadofarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:22 PM   #49
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by avocadofarmer View Post
uuuh....I'm about to replace my starter torque plate...

What does the conventional forum wisdom say about this...to just check the torque values (and possibly break the locktite seal) or to pull the bolts, clean and retorque with 648?
remove bolts, clean both thread surfaces throughly, reapply 648 liberally to bolts, install and torque to spec.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 05:03 PM   #50
avocadofarmer
Fruit Coot
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 235
Thanks for the info...is the problem that these bolts were not 648'd at the factory or that the locktite starts to lose it's effectiveness after a certain amount of time?
avocadofarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:13 PM   #51
avocadofarmer
Fruit Coot
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 235
OOH...also, it seems difficult to find 648 locally, is there a permatex equivalent?
avocadofarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:24 PM   #52
sstewart OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,051
648

Can get it easily on the web. This is some serious shit
sstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:56 PM   #53
v8toilet
Nothing to see here.
 
v8toilet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Northwest U.S.
Oddometer: 1,702
Not having mine apart ever I was wondering if the gasket is one of those that must be replaced or if it will survive r&r. I realize having one I on hand is a good idea.
v8toilet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #54
Lil' Irv
Adventurer
 
Lil' Irv's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Lost
Oddometer: 287
Safety Wire?

Can these bolts be safety wired? Haven't opened mine up yet and a quick search didn't find any pictures that would tell me. If there is room enough that the safety wire wouldn't interfere with anything I'd buy a set of bolts and have them drilled for wire and replace the existing bolts. With locktite 648 and safety wire there'd be no worries. Has anybody done this?
__________________
i__i__i
-----@--@--(_)--@--@-----
Lil' Irv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:56 AM   #55
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8toilet View Post
Not having mine apart ever I was wondering if the gasket is one of those that must be replaced or if it will survive r&r. I realize having one I on hand is a good idea.
Usually the gasket will survive, but replacing is the best option to ensure no leaks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil' Irv View Post
Can these bolts be safety wired? Haven't opened mine up yet and a quick search didn't find any pictures that would tell me. If there is room enough that the safety wire wouldn't interfere with anything I'd buy a set of bolts and have them drilled for wire and replace the existing bolts. With locktite 648 and safety wire there'd be no worries. Has anybody done this?
I have not seen it done, however does not mean it cannot be done.... its a very tight fit, so the safety wire would have be very neat and tight to the flywheel, possibly bonded to the flywheel with adhesive of some-sort... otherwise the same thing would happen as if the bolts came out; contact with alternator windings=distruction
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:02 AM   #56
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,464
Web source for 648 10ml bottle ~$17

http://www.amazon.com/Loctite-Retain.../dp/B000O01EU6
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:14 AM   #57
avocadofarmer
Fruit Coot
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 235
Thanks for the tips, H2W!

I did a search and found that Permatex sleeve retainer is a similar product and possibly easier to find locally.
avocadofarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:41 AM   #58
Yascher
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Yascher's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Moscow, Russia
Oddometer: 388
Hole Punch the bolts

These stator bolts is a cell known issue on V-twin aprilias and we use locktite together with hole punching the side of these bolts, to prevent any movement
Yascher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 12:03 PM   #59
ADVMax
Sporting Foole
 
ADVMax's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Sometimes I'm here, sometimes I'm there.
Oddometer: 30,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Head2Wind View Post
Web source for 648 10ml bottle ~$17

http://www.amazon.com/Loctite-Retain.../dp/B000O01EU6

McMaster Carr's got it. I ordered a bottle for SStewart and I one day, had it the next.

Not sure why everyone is convinced it's so hard to get?
__________________
There is absolutely NO EXCUSE for what I'm about to do!

The Second Amendment - it ain't about duck hunting.

You heatherns needs some churchin up - http://www.landoverbaptist.org/
ADVMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:22 PM   #60
avocadofarmer
Fruit Coot
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Oddometer: 235
FWIW...I just did this tonight on my 2006. I took one bolt out and it was definitely 648'd. I decided to not bother the rest of the bolts and re-648 the one I took out and torque down to 15 nm.
avocadofarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014