User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-25-2012, 01:43 PM   #1
jorrizza OP
newb

Oddometer: 69
8000km Northern Europe trip

Here's the plan. One guy. One month (coming July). One Transalp 700. Nine countries (The Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Germany (yay, twice!) and back to The Netherlands). It's more or less 8000km... I think.

Here's what makes it interesting. I've got no experience what so ever. This is my first motorcycle, and I've barely put 18000km on it since Feb '11. Went through two pairs of tires though . It'll be low budget, so I'll sleep in a tent most of the time.

I think I've covered all of the legal issues. There's no need for visas and/or special country-specific insurance that I know of. Just having a green card, health insurance and proper identification should suffice. Right? There's cell phone coverage in most of the places I'll visit, but I've bought a SPOT GPS thingy just to be sure. Speaking of GPS, I'll be using a Garmin GPS unit. The TomTom Rider I've got now can't store all the needed maps at once and I won't take a laptop with me just for changing map data. That would be silly.

I'll be documenting this trip using a GoPro Hero mounted on my helmet and a compact Canon camera. Since the SPOT service has a nice API, and I happen to be a software engineer, I'll integrate all of that into a nice little ride report map website thing.

These toys require power. Therefore my tank bag has a 12V connection which I'll use to charge the batteries. For all of the other junk I'll be hauling around SW-Motech Trax panniers will do the job just fine.

Here's a quick cell phone picture of the beast that will be an even closer friend during the trip.