ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2014, 06:52 AM   #1
Pappy541 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Pappy541's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 836
PDM 60 or something else

I have a 2015 GSA on order and it will be hear in about 3 weeks.
On my current GSA I have a fuse block ( cannot remember the name) and realize that I will need something to power my heated gear and heated seat as well other items on the new bike. I saw the PDM 60 and it looks impressive but at $199 it is a lot more that other fuse blocks.

So, What is the best option
Pappy541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 09:39 AM   #2
Chup
Namaste...Bitches
 
Chup's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Location: Frozen Tundra or Mosquito Heaven - MN
Oddometer: 3
Pdm

Hey, the PDM 60 is not just a fuse block. It's a programmable power module and doesn't require fuse/relays. It's solid state and provides status lights for each circuit (fault/no fault).

I have it on my Husky TE610 for gps, aux lights, and VIRB. I plan on getting another for my wifes DRZ400.

I think Amazon had it for $169

Chris
Chup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 10:17 AM   #3
BruceWA
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Oddometer: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pappy541 View Post
I have a 2015 GSA on order and it will be hear in about 3 weeks.
On my current GSA I have a fuse block ( cannot remember the name) and realize that I will need something to power my heated gear and heated seat as well other items on the new bike. I saw the PDM 60 and it looks impressive but at $199 it is a lot more that other fuse blocks.

So, What is the best option
Installed a PDM 60 on my then new FJR1300, worked like a charm and was very happy with the PDM 60 and the manner in which I installed it. Sold the bike after 10 months as I was disappointed the FJR, left the PDM 60 installed. Bought a BMW R1200GSW and have so far not found a need for any additional power managment devices, but if I do it will be another PDM 60. You might watch the pricing as the discounted ones could be the older versions sans the changes made since there release. YMMV.
__________________
Figures don't lie, but liars can figure
BruceWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 10:21 AM   #4
GSAer
Carpe Diem!
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: CA Bay Area
Oddometer: 26
Go with the PDM60. Just installed on my 2014 GSA and it works great. Mounted it in the opening under the rear seat to have access to status lights and reprogramming if necessary. Send me Pm if you want to see pix. Have F/R heated Sargent seats, 15A accessory Powerlet outlet (heated gear or air pump), and USB outlet on it right now. 2 open channels still.
__________________
2014 R1200GSA -- When riding becomes boring, you have the wrong bike!
GSAer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 04:41 AM   #5
Pappy541 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Pappy541's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 836
PDM 60 will be ordered

Thanks !!!!!!!!!!
Pappy541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015